We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in DRC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Karavia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best Hotel in DRC”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Karavia Hotel for 2 weeks During late November 2011 on a work trip.
The breakfast was of a superior nature and I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Days that I didn't work, I stayed in and it never seemed like I was in Africa(often the hotels I stay at in Africa have defective air-conditioning units), it appeared as if I was in France. All I heard were staff speaking French, and the quality of the hotel was as if it was in a first world country.
Best Hotel I've stayed at in Africa to date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoKiloSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I firstly would like to thanks you for your comment.

The GKH's team will be willing to receive you again during your next trip to Lubumbashi, in order to share more guest experience with you.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
3
6
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I came to Produce our la test eBiz Guides (www.ebizguides.com) Katanga and rayes a week in this hotel. Great locations clean and calm . Rooms better with Lake View . Wifi 20€ a say in the lobby only and internet in the room. MD Me Ortega doing a great job !

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I firstly want to thanks you for your comment, as obviously the wellness of our guests is in the heart of our priorities.

As you certainly know by now, the 100% WIFI deployment in all areas of the hotel is now done and very efficient with high speed.

The GKH's team will be pleased to receive you again during your next stay, in order to develop and share some more guest experience with you.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The service and food was good. They could not do several guests bills on one card after 1st transaction, however, other than that it was very good. The wireless was not stable at times but they had the cable option which was stable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would firstly thanks you for your comment.

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip to Lubumbashi, the Grand Karavia Hotel's team will be glad to receive you again.

Four your information, we're on the way to finalize the 100% WIFI coverage of the hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg-en-Lavaux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a nice hotel to relax in before and after going out of Lubumbashi. The place is clean, rather friendly, things work generally well and the pool is real nice. The room price is a bit high but well...
The evening buffet has safe salad and a choice of cheese, goodies in DRC. For the main course, take a look at the far end of the buffet, you may be lucky to find mopane worms (actually caterpillars).
I'm just puzzled by the review that says internet is good and free. It's certainly not free and it works some of the time.

Room Tip: Pool side is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Je tiens tout d'abord à vous remercier pour vos commentaires très constructifs , effectivement, votre bien être et la qualité de nos services est au cour de nos priorités.

En ce qui concerne la qualité de notre accès internet et le fait que cela gratuit, nous sommes actuellement entrain de déployer une couverture WIFI à 100%, et sommes entrain de chercher des solutions quant à notre tarification et gratuité.

Toute l'équipe du Grand Karavia Hôtel vous invite à nous contacter lors de votre prochain passage à Lubumbashi, afin de pouvoir vous témoigner de son professionnalisme, et de pouvoir vous délivrer le service que vous méritez.

Très Cordialement,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

By far the cleanest, most professional and friendliest staff at any accommodation I have been in the DRC.
Rooms are acceptable in price, the restaurant is however on the pricy side.
Great views, sparkling pool and big terrace makes relaxing or working after hours tolerable.
Good internet connection at the room ( cable, not wireless ), but not all public areas have wireless internet like the restaurant, what is disappointing. Everything works and helpdesk/reception is fast.
It almost is a different country within the DRC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I firstly want to thanks you for your review, yes, indeed the wellness and the quality of our service is in he heart of our priorities.

Regarding the internet, we're right now working on a 100% WIFI coverage with high speed;

The Grand Karavia Hotel's team will be happy to welcome you again during your next stay to Lubumbashi, and develop with you "Guest Experience";

Best Regards,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is a little gem, It is quiet, modern, Rooms are large, beds are comfy, food is very good and internet is good & free!!
You can tell there is attention to details and the overall maintenance of the premises (rooms, fixtures, gardens, furniture, etc). This is usually the downfall of hotels in Africa, but the management seems to be very dedicated and paying attention to details
The terrace by the pool is very nice as well and a perfect place for meeting people over a cold beer.
I have tried many hotels in DRC and in Africa in general, but this one really stands out as being well run, customer oriented and affordable as well.

Room Tip: Any room is good, you should try the suites though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zitoondubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like first thanks you very much for your comment regarding your last stay at The Grand Karavia Hotel, the quality of our service and your well being is in the heart of our priorities.

We will be more than happy to receive you again at the grand Karavia Hotel during your next trip to Lubumbashi, in order to offer you the service experience you deserve.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is by far the most modern in Lubumbashi - situated in a nice area close to the Golf Course - the rooms are very nice and modern. It has a nice pool and the service is good. A bit too bland for my liking so would only recommend for business travel - not cheap either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGKH, Directeur général at Grand Karavia Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr Thomas,
I firstly want to thanks you very much for your comment and let you know that you're more than welcome at The grand Karavia Hotel during your next trip to Lubumbashi. All the team is willing to receive you again and will be happy to take care about you.
Best Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubumbashi
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lubumbashi
Hotel Lubumbashi
#3 of 6 in Lubumbashi
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Lubumbashi
10 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gloria Inn
Gloria Inn
#4 of 6 in Lubumbashi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Versaille
Hotel la Versaille
#3 of 3 in Goma
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ngokaf
Hotel Ngokaf
#9 of 16 in Lubumbashi
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Planet Hollybum
Hotel Planet Hollybum
#2 of 6 in Lubumbashi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Karavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Karavia Hotel

Property: Grand Karavia Hotel
Address: 55, Route du Golf | Quartier Golf, Lubumbashi 450, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Location: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Katanga Province > Lubumbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Karavia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortlessly stylish, appealing modern, Pullman Lubumbashi Grand Karavia, offers travelers an unique experience at the heart of Africa's copperbelt. Situated on the slopes of Lubumbashi Lake, surrounded by lush gardens and the Lubumbashi Golf Club,this modern international hotel offers all the facilities and services necessary to ensure guests a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Karavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing