We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best option in drc congo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lubumbashi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lubumbashi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Bombay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best option in drc congo”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

hi my self s kumar from Mumbai i stayed in hotel Lubumbashi last month for 03 days i enjoyed my stay there.i enjoyed services and specially Indian food with Indian management .next time surly i will go there .thanks

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shravenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It is a 3-start hotel with 36 rooms. Owners are from South Asia, so the food is definitely delicious and something worth giving a try.
Located in a peaceful environment in the heart of the city makes it more convenient to visit and enjoy.
The place is neat and tidy and all the things are properly placed.
I had the opportunity to be there in July 2012.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

truth should be said Hotel Lubumbashi is the best for me in Katanga. I am Congolese but after 13 years coming home is always a hustle but I was so impressed to see that we have a best hotel with double shower, great bed, aircon, great stuff members and of cause Mr KAMLESH KUMAR the Manager at Hotel Lubumbashi. a great person who have great approach to the client and Respect. I thank the Management and everyone of the stuff who made 1 month a successful holidays. Please finish the swimming pool and gym and I will be back Again

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sylvano vestier... k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was impressed with Hotel Lubumbashi. This 2-storey structure features a courtyard/garden where you can dine al fresco. Surrounding the courtyard are the rooms. There are approximately 20 rooms, spread between the 2 floors.

The room I stayed in (209) was spacious and very comfortable. It had a king bed with a firm mattress and 4 pillows of good quality. There is a dresser and sitting area, 2 night tables, TV, and mini-bar with drinks for sale. I especially liked the counter space in the bathroom where I could put my toiletries. This is lacking in many hotel rooms.

What I would suggest to make it better are: use plusher towels, get rid of the naphthalene balls in the shower area, and double check that the bidet works. A hair dryer would not hurt, either.These are minor things that did not deter me from having an enjoyable stay.

Breakfast was all right; there weren't many choices. But I found their ala carte menu sufficient and of acceptable quality. Their diverse offerings include French, Indian, and Chinese food. Their roasted half-chicken was flavorful. The spaghetti was not bad, but was such a huge serving. There are also raves about their Indian food, but nothing I can comment on since I am not a big fan of this.

But it was the little things that I appreciated the most. Upon check-in, a welcome drink was brought to my room. A small platter of fruits is also sent up in the evenings, including a bar of chocolate. 2 bottles of water are provided in the room, and replenished daily. A kettle is also available, as well as an extension cord where you can plug multiple devices/gadgets. The internet can be accessed from the room, or from the lobby/common areas which is convenient. One of their management team is always around to ask the guests how things are. The wait staff are sensitive to customers' needs.

At the end of tiring work day, it's a nice place to come home to. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATrenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pluses: The owners clearly invested a lot to build this hotel, and the rooms are very comfortable and well equipped with cable TV, WiFi, minibar and safes.

Minuses: The receptionist was rather grumpy when I arrived at the hotel. Customer service is obviously not their strength. Breakfast was below average and I had to brew a cheap instant coffee myself. The breakfast room is poorly lit with all curtains drawn; this does not create a cosy atmosphere. The rooms face to an open-air patio and you cannot avoid mosquitos – especially as it is not possible to fully close the bathroom windows and there are no mosquito screens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mosquito screens on the bathroom windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Since the Karavia is far from the city center, we decided to stay at the Hotel Lubumbashi. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning was simple, but included an omelette. The restaurant offers excellent Indian food. As a foreigner, I felt very safe staying on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYWrldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

By far the best hotel in entire congo....lovely rooms and service. u also have english speakng staffs there...

food served is also of good quality...u have all other amenities also available. U also have an excellent bar there....and the hotel is located in the center of city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojanjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubumbashi
2.2 mi away
Grand Karavia Hotel
Grand Karavia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lubumbashi
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria Inn
Gloria Inn
#4 of 6 in Lubumbashi
4 reviews
979.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Fleuve Congo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Planet Hollybum
Hotel Planet Hollybum
#2 of 6 in Lubumbashi
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Lubumbashi
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Versaille
Hotel la Versaille
#3 of 3 in Goma
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lubumbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lubumbashi

Property: Hotel Lubumbashi
Address: Avenue 30 Juin, Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Location: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Katanga Province > Lubumbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lubumbashi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lubumbashi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lubumbashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing