We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel with very good kitchen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very good kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The auberge has very nice and cute rooms. The hosts paid a lot of detail to the furnishing of the rooms. The chef serves excellent local food and offers a nice wine list. The location is very good, close to Honfleur and there is a nice walk to the beachfront

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kschoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    112
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
276
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights with our two children (8 and 12) in a two bedroom family suite. The rooms were tasteful, simple, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely: big choice of bread, fruit, jams, yoghurt and more, presented in a stylish way.

We took half board, which meant we had the fantastic dinner every night. Truly amazing food in the very best French way. There was a variation on the menu every night, with wonderfully unusual creations. You should take your time to enjoy dinner. Our kids generally managed with the adult menus, although the chef would also offer something simpler or different if the kids didn't fancy the main menu. Even the children's meals were special and freshly made. No pizza, chips or coke!

Hotel ground are perfectly maintained and pretty. The hotel is well located between Honfleur and Deauville - plenty to see and do. My only (small) criticism, was that our room had only a bath - no shower, which meant four of us getting up and out took some time.

For people like us from the South of England - this is a PERFECT place for a short French break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you can make me feel relaxed on the 4th day of our drive across Normandy with my 4 year old and 14 month old sons, you are doing something right. Beautiful hotel just outside Honfleur in an idyllic setting. We only had the chance to stay one night, but what a relaxing hotel with a great staff. The grounds were great and the kids were able to run around and marvel at the fish ponds. We had a two bedroom room in the main building, which was large, bright and clean. The breakfast was great. It is definitely one that we will return to next time we are in the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked for one night, as that was all they had available. We took half-board and a charme room. Expensive for us, on the first night of our month-long French vacation, but since we were mooching off friends part of the time, decided to splurge. Alas... came from London to Calais on the train, got our car 2 hours late, and arrived at 8:30 p.m., exhausted, for a 7 p.m., dinner reservation. EVERYONE was nearly finished. But never mind... the maitre'd welcomed us warmly (after getting a good look at the downcast stragglers) and relieved us of our suitcases (good thing-- we had the best room in the house but on the third floor up a very narrow staircase)... shown into the dining room (to the disapproving stares of snooty diners), the maitre d' took our orders, helped us make excellent choices, and Chef Yannick worked magic to conjure a magnificent dinner in 20 minutes. No one rushed us, we lingered, and were rewarded with a lovely chat with the tired by very gracious chef. In our room we discovered the most comfortable bed we encountered during our entire trip, a fabulous shower, windows we could throw open to night air and comforting country sounds, and we slept like logs. Literally. Because, alas, once again proving ourselves bad guests, we woke up 30 minutes past checkout time!! Missed breakfast completely! But managed coffee and fresh bread, and the manager graciously printed out a map and directions to our next stop near the D-Day beaches two hours away. Our biggest regret was that we did not have two or three more nights at the fabulous Auberge de la Source to wander its idyllic gardens, eat more of chef Yannick's glorious food, and get pampered at what was obviously a luxurious and successful spa on the property. Oh, yes, and eat a breakfast other guests raved about as they left us standing in our bathrobes going "what happened? What time is it?" Very gracious and lovely place, recommended 100 percent of a unique, special treat in the heart of country France. Impeccable property... don't miss it.

Room Tip: Our room was magnificent, one of two on the top floor of the dining room area... if you have lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights with our 12-year-old daughter. Our bed was fantastic - hers not so much. It was a roll-away bed that broke within two seconds of her sitting on it. She weighs a mere 77lbs. So I fixed the slats a couple times and it was fine. But anybody bigger or heavier would have had serious problems sleeping on it.
The breakfast was very nice in a cozy room with nice service. The dinner was okay, it was a set menu with three choices for appetizer, main and two for dessert. I was disappointed that te next day we pretty much had the same choices except for one different main course. The waiter in the evening was obviously overwhelmed with the six tables in the restaurant. He needs to hone his customer service skills a bit.
Overall it was a nice stay but one night would have been enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for four nights in July 2012. We used the hotel as a base to travel to Honfleur, le Mont St Michel, D Day beaches, and Bayeux. What a beautiful hotel. We could not fault it. We are a young couple and splashed out a bit on this hotel.
The gardens and surroundings are sooo beautiful, it is peaceful and relaxed. We didn't spend much time chilling out there but it would be easy to spend all of your time just relaxing in this lovely place.
We headed off early most mornings to explore normandy so we ended up getting breakfast on the go and didn't have it in Auberge de la Source until the last day... oh my goodness it was wonderful. The best breakfast I've had in a long time, fresh breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, jams. it was so delicious and simple. Cant believe we left it until the last day to enjoy it.
The staff were exceptional, we were craving coffee one night and they bought it up to our room even though it was late.
The room was beautiful, open plan, shower was fantastic and lovely toiletries.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast, You would need a ar as hotel is isolated (this makes it lovely and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and just loved our visit. We found our room most comfortable and lovely linens. Our room was one that is shown on the website. It was quiet and peaceful. The bathroom being "open" so to speak was not a problem at all for us, thought it was a perfect fit. Breakfast was excellent with a large assortment of breads, cheeses, pastries and more. We dined in the restaurant 2 evenings and loved the food. the dining room is cozy and service was excellent. In fact, all the service was just way above the norm. Staff could not have been friendlier. I can highly recommend this lovely spot, gardens were so beuatiful. We really enjoyed cocktails and canapes in the garden before dinner. We also walked to Honfleur and enjoyed a couple of good meals there as well by the water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barneville-la-Bertran
2.7 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#4 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
2.8 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa
2.9 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme

Property: Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Address: Chemin du Moulin, 14600 Barneville-la-Bertran, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur > Barneville-la-Bertran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneville-la-Bertran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the charming city of Honfleur, this beautiful brick house welcomes you for an authentic and relaxing stay. This hotel is a real peaceful heaven where you can enjoy the nature around, perfect for persons who love charm and sweetness. The restaurant features delicious and authentic bistro fare. Its all new care cabin completes the rustic charm of the place. The 15 rooms and suites offer a moment of relaxation in an amazing wooded park. You will live a moment of sweetness thanks to the rooms in a warm setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Source Hotel Barneville-La-Bertran
Auberge De La Source Honfleur
Auberge De La Source - Hotel De Charme France/Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing