We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normandy charm to its full extent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed the night on a business trip in the for business rather unconventional Auberge. But a nice change it was to all the similarbchain hotelsnyou normally get to. We even invited a business relation to dinnerbin the Auberge restaurant in the evening and he was ravished. The food is excellent and, for the price you need to pay, more than value for money.
The hotel itself is an old renovated normandy style farm with romantic and stylish rooms. All ammenities are there, rooms are spacious and very clean. The address is at a stone's throw from the seaside, Honfleur and the Pont the Normandy. You feel nevertheless as somewhere deep in the middle of the forrest. For me the only downpoint was the water in the pond running the whole night but that was just a detail.
All rooms offer free wifi.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Because we needed to leave early in the morning, before normal breakfast hours, we were served breakfast at the time that suited us. Breakfast is unmistakbly french but the croissants and the various sorts of bread served were just perfect. We whished to have had more time !!
Small downpoint, I feel the Auberge is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stumbled upon this place online and didn't know what to expect. After we had found it (it took a little while!) we were so pleased we made the decision to stay here. Our room was nice and very private, up some stairs in the garden away from the main building.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel. Being a small place there was a set menu, but luckily for us every course was delicious, all ingredients we liked! They didn't have any of the wine we ordered so to compensate, they gave us a better one for the same price. Small details like that made it such a pleasurable experience.

If we're back in Honfleur, we'd loved to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

What a stunning surprise for someone who has only seen Paris in 25 years of visiting France purely for business!! This place is a gem and from the moment of arrival ,although sadly only had 2 days in this magical place, I felt "at home"!! The reception from the Staff/the really beautiful room & appointments, the bed/bedlinen/tranquilty/the views/the food/the area/I cannot say enough about Auberge de la Source!! Nothing was too much trouble for the Staff... the beautiful gardens....friendliness of everyone was a revelation for someone who has had to deal with Parisiennes for + 25 years and the hassle of Paris!! This place is worthy of 5 Stars!! But I guess that would spoil it with hoardes of tourists busting in and spoiling the tranquility of this magical place!!

Room Tip: On the top floor of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phredd-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We spent four nights here this week as part of our vacation in Calvados. Although it's out in the countryside within earshot of sheep and cows it's also only 5 mins from Honfleur and 10mins from Trouville\Deauville.

We had a room on the top floor of the main house-a 'chambe de charme'. Although the description was a bedroom and separate WC and shower, the shower was actually part of the bedroom, more of a wet room-type cubby hole. That said the shower was fantastic and there was no shortage of hot water. The only downside of being in the main house is that the stairs are made from wood and you can hear everything from the ground floor upwards. On the Saturday night there was a large meal in the restaurant with lots of kids and it was noisy until around 2330h. For the other 3 nights however it was extremely peaceful.

The restaurant is really something to mention-a 'menu' is available and was almost exclusively fish or seafood and was excellent. On the first night the restaurant was fully booked (only 25 places and apparently reserved for residents only) but the very helpful manageress arranged for a plate of cold meats and cheese, pear cake and a bottle of wine for our room. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very farmhouse-like with an open fire and raditional furnishings and really makes the Auberge de la source a hotel rather than a chambe d'hotes.

Perfect for 2-3 nights if you'd like to visit this partnof Normandy - next time we'd probably pay extra for a room outside the main house and definitely book the restaurant ahead of time.

In terms of price, it's not cheap but if you're passing through and need to stop somewhere relaxing with good food in-house then definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relax_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This property was 3 miles from Honfleur but seemed a million miles away it was extremely charming. This was such a calm a place to just sit back and relax, a real story book setting. Besides their perfectly manicured garden with flowers and bushes,they have a pond with fish, as well as, a waterfall flowing over rocks. A relaxing sound we heard while we were in our room, so peaceful. We had dinner one night while we were there, a lovely 6 course meal where the Chef designs daily a uniques menu. There are cows in the distance and farmhouses it truly is lovely plus we were very close to all the small towns in the area. I would recommend this property to anyone. We were very close to all the small towns around and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beautiful setting. Rooms lovely and comfortable. In the middle of the countryside very close to honfleur. Food excellent. They do a set meal in the evenings which is very good. The gardens are very pretty and the staff are friendly. Went with hubbie for a short break and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oggiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed 2 days as part of a Normandy exploratory trip where we wanted to cover main sights and still be close to the beach (Deauville). We had a lovely 'Campagne' room with own terrasse and it was beautiful and seemed newly decorated, indeed seemingly the case for the entire property. We had the set menu dinner one night and the breakfast buffet, both of which were very satisfying.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barneville-la-Bertran
2.8 mi away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
2.6 mi away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
2.8 mi away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#9 of 33 in Honfleur
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 33 in Honfleur
543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir de la Poterie & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme

Address: Chemin du Moulin, 14600 Barneville-la-Bertran, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur > Barneville-la-Bertran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneville-la-Bertran
Price Range: $160 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the charming city of Honfleur, this beautiful brick house welcomes you for an authentic and relaxing stay. This hotel is a real peaceful heaven where you can enjoy the nature around, perfect for persons who love charm and sweetness. The restaurant features delicious and authentic bistro fare. Its all new care cabin completes the rustic charm of the place. The 15 rooms and suites offer a moment of relaxation in an amazing wooded park. You will live a moment of sweetness thanks to the rooms in a warm setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Source Hotel Barneville-La-Bertran
Auberge De La Source Honfleur
Auberge De La Source - Hotel De Charme France/Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing