We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to discover”
Review of Hotel Djupavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Djupavik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We did not spend the night at the hotel just dropped in for some food.

Warm welcome from very friendly staff. They cooked up some simple but excellent food for us and made excellent waffles.
Great location, great staff, unique experience.

A place one must stop.
Next review will be after spending the night there

Room Tip: Call ahead as this place is pretty remote and they will be ready for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ON_iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The folks at Djúpavík are among the most unique people I've ever had the pleasure and privilege of meeting. Their knowledge and passion for the preservation of one of Iceland's most remote deserted factory outposts is unparalleled.
Don't expect expensive comfort or luxury. Expect to be treated like a human being and not a pampered and entitled baby. I have stayed in Djúpavík many times and since my first time been received as a family friend.
The nature, the sights and the experience is just amazing. Thank you people of Djúpavík.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKnutur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel Djupavik is probably one of the strangest accomodations I have experienced in Iceland (and I have stayed many places over the years). And I mean "strange" in a positive way.
This is not your average hotel, by far. The hotel building is an old fish factory accomodation building, the rooms are small and old, the floors creaky, the walls are thin and you share the bathrooms with the other guests. So this may not be a good choice for those that are picky about such things.
But it earned a place in my heart like no other place we stayed in Iceland and I hope to return to stay here again.
There are many reasons why this is such a special place:
Owners and staff: The owners Eva and Ásbjörn run the hotel almost like it was their private home (in fact it is) and you their private guests. Always personal and friendly service from them and their staff makes you feel at home.
Decent home-cooked food: No fancy gourmet food, just decent and tasty meals.
The location: Djupavik and the remote Strandir region is something special, even by icelandic standards, if you have not experienced this you have missed something.
I will not go into more details on why this is a place worth visiting, as I can see that this has been adequately described by many other reviewers, and I would only be repeating more of the same.
I will be in Iceland again this coming summer, and if the timing is right I will try to make it to Djupavik again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are mostly the same, if a sea view is important you get one in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jxxxixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've stayed here on five occasions since 2007, including at the very end of December and almost getting stranded in a snowstorm! Eva and her family (and some of her staff) have now become friends. You will have a long journey to get here, and if the weather is poor (as in wintery) you may not even make it at all. This is a MAJOR part of the experience. Every person I have gone to Djúpavík with (and that now numbers double figures) has fallen in love with the location and it takes a place in their soul. The hotel was converted from the old womens' sleeping quarters. The twin rooms are all small, to the same design, and basic. All the ancient floorboards squeak and creak. Nothing is ensuite (though each room has a sink) - there are male and female bathrooms. This is all part of the experience. You BECOME part of the place and you are spending time in living history. The breakfasts are well provided and the meals are cooked by the staff just metres from where you eat. I've never had food there that was less than great (and sometimes there are other truly Icelandic events, like a coffee and cake afternoon, a chess match, an art exhibition or even a concert). But by just speaking about the hotel and service I am missing out on the true point of Djúpavík and that is... Djúpavík! You cannot possibly 'understand' it until you have been. You may only see a couple of cars pass in a day. It sits, amongst a few summer houses, on the edge of a fjord with mountains on either side. To the right is a waterfall constantly rumbling and cascading down the mountain, looking like forked lightning. On the edge of the fjord is the rusted skeletal shell of one of the oldest steel ships in Iceland (once used as staff accomodation). Then, there is the herring factory. It was once the largest concrete structure in Europe and is now semi-ruinous. Tours are given by the staff (no access to most of it without a guide - it can be dangerous) and should not be missed. There are three concrete oil tanks outside, one of them sealed, one slightly flooded, and one now famous from the Sigur Rós movie 'Heima' (indeed, many artists have now given concerts or recorded songs inside it due to its incredible reverb). It's a surreal, perfect, beautiful location and I am not alone in thinking it my spiritual home. I'm not ashamed to say both arriving and departing is usually accompanied by welling tears.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but the best views are from the front, looking out over the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuildfordGhost2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Djupavik for the past 2 nights. We first planned on staying 1 night but so enjoyed ourselves that we extended it a second night.

The Hotel is more like a family home. It is very clean, the beds were very comfortable, excellent reading lamps in the rooms. There is a nice lounge area with sofas for relaxing and reading. The house has a great library including many coffee table books on Iceland donated by authors that have stayed there. the breakfast served buffet style is great with plenty of food and hot coffee. The dinners are good with heaping plates of food.

Eva the owner made us feel like part of the family. The second day we traveled on another hour to a hot pool and spent the afternoon of a rainy snowy day in the hot water with nary a soul around. We returned refreshed, relaxed and happy to have a cozy room in the cold snowy weather.

Look this place is not the Hilton. Its a old rooming house that was used during the height of the herring fisheries. But it has a wonderful charm and character about it. If your looking for a 5 star hotel with fancy fixtures go some where else. But if your looking to get off the beaten track into some amazing scenery and be treated like family then come for a visit.

Oh I almost forgot to mention there is great internet in the house and rooms!

Thank you Eva we will always remember staying with you in such an awesome location.

Safe travels

Chuck

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Fiord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you stay more than 2 nights, bring your own food as there are same plates every night....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in house Álfasteinn. We took sleeping bag accomodation and really enyjoyed everything that this place had to offer. Kitchen, one twin room, a big sitting room, shower and WC are downstairs and upstairs are a least two twin rooms and one single, wc and a small half open balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eestisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kjorvogur
18 mi away
Malarhorn Guesthouse
Malarhorn Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Drangsnes
104 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Laugarholl
Hotel Laugarholl
#1 of 5 in Holmavik
167 reviews
7.4 mi away
Urdartindur Guesthouse & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Guesthouse Steinhusid
Guesthouse Steinhusid
#3 of 5 in Holmavik
38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djupavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djupavik

Address: off Route 643 in Westfjords | Djúpavík, Kjorvogur IS-522, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Kjorvogur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Price Range: $165 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Djupavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Djupavik Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing