We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, that is all”
Review of Hotel Djupavik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Djupavik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you stay more than 2 nights, bring your own food as there are same plates every night....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in house Álfasteinn. We took sleeping bag accomodation and really enyjoyed everything that this place had to offer. Kitchen, one twin room, a big sitting room, shower and WC are downstairs and upstairs are a least two twin rooms and one single, wc and a small half open balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eestisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

fantastic location, almost at the end of the gravel road. Tiny hamlet with collection of old buidlings, we stayed in Alfasteinn (red cottage) which was more than adequate for the 4 of us. Tiny kitchen with all the basics, bonus half bath on 2nd floor while full bath and bedroom on main level. We intended to make our own dinner but last minute had dinner in the dining room of main hotel - tasty home cooked meal. This place is more than just a place to stay...an atmospheric setting, I felt like Iceland 100 years ago when communities were isolated fishing villages. Time seemed to move at a different speed. Don't overlook the exhibition by Klause in the loft of factory. Drive another 30km to the ocean side pool at Krossnes. A remarkable memorable place for travellers looking for an authentic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed at a hotel Djupavik twice in 2010. The rooms are really small and if you pick the wrong one you get a lot of noise from other guests going to the bathrooms etc. The house is very old and the walls between the rooms are just plywood , the bathrooms could also need a renovation.On my last stay there I think i had room 9 , which is the last in the hallway , it had a nice view of the fjord and was relativly quite.The people who run the Hotel are very friendly and they serve real good home cooked food which is rather unusual for the Westfjords . This is the only accomodation on the Strandir coast so one should not expect too much luxury. I just found out that they raised their price for a double to 9900,-Kroner (ca.€60,-) which for Iceland in summer is rather cheap !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himbrimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Me and my friend drove on a Mazda 3 the 400 kilometers (250 miles) to Djupavik, a town, or rather, a place in the icelandic west fjords. Located at the beautiful shore we really felt like we had arrived somewhere. Nowhere. At old herring harbor there is the old factory, bigger than all of the other 6 houses together but still not overwhelming. There is a very interesting exhibition there right now(www.clausiniceland.com) which was opened the next morning especially for us as we needed to leave early.
The hotel can be highly recommended, offering a warm welcome, great service and excellent food. We stayed at another house as we had booked sleeping bag accommodation. What a choice! "Álfasteinn" (Elves-stone) was all ours with a hot shower, separate bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen and a lovely living room with a radio from the before war times which worked just perfectly.
The road leads on to other places which still needs to discovered but if you are looking for a place to feel good and just be, Djupavik is the place to be. I just can not wait to go again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kolla_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Hotel Djupavik is in a stunning location right at the bottom of a fjord. The journey there is bumpy even in a 4WD, but if it's a reasonably clear day you'll enjoy some of the best views in Iceland.

The owners are friendly and it's very funny watching them try to control their exuberant puppy as it tries to play with the guests... I'm sure she'll be much better trained by the time you visit!

The food was pretty tasty and reasonably good value for Iceland.

The room was pretty basic but comfortable enough; if you're like me, you might want to bring a pair of earplugs when it's busy because the walls are quite thin.

If you want to get off the beaten track in Iceland, you can't get much better than visiting Djupavik. Overall, it's a great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyMunkey106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We read about this place in the Lonely Planet which gave it rave reviews. This hotel is like staying with a rural family in Iceland. There were ups and downs. First it is really the only place to stay on the Strandir coast. To get anywhere you have to drive at least 4 hours either to Isafjordur or Reykjavik. The scenery around there is very nice, but not the most Iceland has to offer.
The family-runned hotel is led by the mother, who cooks, cleans does all the bookings, etc. It is very atmospheric. I would say it feels more like a very cluttered and messy home than a hotel or b and b, so be prepared. It also could have newer bedding and the place could have been cleaner. The whole time the house smelled like grandma's basement. The bathrooms are shared and a bit runned down. But for the price of just 70 USD I guess it makes sense.
They also served us soup one afternoon which had obviously had been recycled from the days before and tasted sour. All the other meals were in fairness, very fresh and delicious.
Overall it was pleasant and given the remoteness it was a nice break. However I would recommend coming here if you have serious time to kill on your vacation, because the western part of this region is much more stunning.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank 4567QBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kjorvogur
18 mi away
Malarhorn Guesthouse
Malarhorn Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Drangsnes
103 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Laugarholl
Hotel Laugarholl
#1 of 5 in Holmavik
167 reviews
7.4 mi away
Urdartindur Guesthouse & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djupavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djupavik

Address: off Route 643 in Westfjords | Djúpavík, Kjorvogur IS-522, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Kjorvogur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kjorvogur
Price Range: $163 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Djupavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Djupavik Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing