We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality with convenience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Hellnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fosshotel Hellnar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Quality with convenience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Hellnar provides quality food and lodging with convenient access to Arnarstapi and Snæfellsjökull.

Our ocean-view (slightly obstructed; see pic) room was comfortable and adequately-sized for 2 adults. We found the window shade did a great job at stifling the majority of the summertime midnight sun. The bathroom was modern, clean, and included bonuses such as a hairdryer and heated tile floors.

The common area of the hotel had plenty of seating with books and information about the surrounding area and Iceland. The restaurant prepared fresh food that might be tasty, but overachieves in replacing the calories you burned during your day of hiking and exploration (read: lots o' butter; Paula Dean would be proud).

Although there isn't much competition in the area, Hotel Hellnar still delivers quality and service as if there were.

Room Tip: Although it's a partially-obstructed view, we thought the ocean-view rooms were worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    158
    57
    27
    9
See reviews for
63
242
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our trip to the elegant, modern and casual restaurant was made quite special by the headwaiter.

We enjoyed our first course of the fish soup, but the day's special of local mussels cooked in beer had a strange and off-putting smell to us. We ate our two portions anyway and found that the mussels tasted OK. Sadly, the smell really interfered with our enjoyment of the meal.

when the headwaiter learned that we were somewhat disappointed, he came over to our table, apologized, and offered us two amazing desserts on the house. His kindness and generosity meant a great deal to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel had a beautiful location—we walked and explored extensively, (and there is a wonderful little café nearby, the Fjoruhusid Cafe, which we would make a special trip to come to again) but the hotel itself was not our favorite by any means. The room was rather small, although it was clean and comfortable enough for just a one-night stay. We found it extremely annoying that there was a significant additional charge for using WiFi. This hotel was not inexpensive, and charging for this service seemed rather greedy to us. We just found nothing warm or inviting about this hotel, which was truly an exception during our stay in Iceland. We will not choose this hotel again on subsequent trips and feel there is a much nicer hotel option close by (where we stayed the next night and where WiFi was provided at no additional charge).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I hope that Tripadvisor will allow me to write a follow up review when my stay is over but I wanted to post this ASAP to counter the reviews that have not been 4-5 star......and address the WiFi issue And a few of the less than wonderful reviews of the staff.
First of all, there IS free WiFi and one can get it in one's room.
Second, the staff is are all wonderful, friendly and welcoming . I travel overseas often and this has got to be one of the warmest hotels I have stayed in in the past decade or so.
In case Im unable to post a review after my stay....
This is my 4th visit to Iceland..... Why I did not come out here before ? Crazy.....
I M finishing up. 3 wk vacation, visiting with friends and family... And now I have the luxury of being all alone for 3 days......
I could not have picked a more perfect place.
My room ( # 23) looks out over the water and the views are amazing. The room is clean, the bathroom certainly big enough unless one is having a party. The dining area is lovely with a wall of windows giving one views that take my breath away.
The food was excellent both in taste and presentation. And the servings are quite large. The service was good, the staff all very friendly and welcoming.
I have to say, this is one of the most delightful places I have ever stayed in a very very long time.
Hopefully I will feel the same at the end of my stay..... BUT I am sure I will.
I would definitely stay here again if I return to this area of Iceland.
Thank you Hotel Hellnar !

Room Tip: Definitely get one looking over the water!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We left Reykjavik for 2 days and decided to book a night at the Hellnar hotel. It was a good choice. Located at the base of the Snaefellsjökull it had an excellent view of the glacier as well as the sea. The hotel is decorated in a blend of traditional and modern Scandinavian style. Friendly and accomodating staff, clean rooms and adequate bathrooms. We tried the lunch of the day and it was a lovely fish soup. The breakfast could definately be improved but covered the basic needs. However the hotel did charge for wi-fi which I think as a hotel guest you should be able to get for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had booked a mountain view room which did have a view of the mountain but also a view of the car park and some sort of workshop area, so asked to be moved to an ocean view room for an extra €20 a night, which was worth it.  The location of the hotel is fabulous, perched on a hillside with 180 degree views of the North Atlantic.   The hotel really is all about the view so it would have been a shame to not also enjoy it from the room. 
 
Rooms were modern but spartan – two single beds, two IKEA side tables, a small dresser, a flat screen TV on the wall and that was it.  It was tight on space with no closet space whatsoever.  There seem to be two wings to the hotel and I’m guessing we were in the newer one.  The photos on the website show the rooms in a very flattering light and in reality the photos bore little resemblance to the room we stayed in.  The bathroom photos in particular were nothing like the bathroom in our room.   The bathroom was tiny (about 5ft x 5ft) with a shower that flooded the floor with each use, which was annoying.    There were no toiletries other than a tube of shower gel and a bottle of industrial hand soap.   
 
I felt there was a lack of attention to detail – e.g. only two thin towels provided, the flooding shower was something that could have been fixed and there was a light bulb blown in the bathroom making it dark.  Also the soap dispenser in the shower had come off the wall. 
 
We ate at the restaurant on both of the evenings we were there.  We had no other choice at it was the only restaurant in the vicinity so they have a captive audience.  There is a visitor center with a café a short walk away but the café was closed in the last week of August.  Not sure if it was closed for the season or for some other reason.   The restaurant is nice, bright and modern with beautiful views over the sea.  As nearly every other poster has commented it was quite expensive.  For just two main courses and a bottle of the cheapest wine it came to $110 / €88. If you wanted to a three-course dinner with better wine it would easily come to $200 / €160 for two people.  Relative to Iceland prices in general that is not outrageous, and the food was pretty good so we didn’t feel too hard done by.   Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was top-notch with a great selection of muesli, cereals, meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and so on. 
 
Overall I enjoyed our stay here and I do recommend the hotel, but I felt it could be improved with a few more upmarket touches and a bit more attention to detail.
 
I highly recommend the Snaefellsnes area – really beautiful, wild and windswept and exactly the evocative landscape that I hoped to see in Iceland. There aren’t many options of places to stay in the area and Hotel Hellnar seems as good as any. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have held back from writing a review for quite some time on this hotel, because I wanted to be reflective and give it a decent review, but I cannot justify that, read on.
Wow, so you have this wonderfully unique, beautiful location, combined with a chic "Eco-Friendly" style hotel in the Scandanavian ergonomic style, featuring breathtaking ocean views, at the tip of a storied and historic penninsula and somehow you mess it up. Why? How?

Well first lets talk about the good. As stated, a beautiful clean, modern, Scandanavian style hotel with tasteful and modern common areas, lobby and bar. Beautiful views all around, in an outlying area, which has probably taken you some time and effort to get to. So you are looking forward to a great relaxing comfortable stay, with some good food, after your travel. Our rooms were not overly large, but they did give us ocean view rooms when in fact we had only booked mountain rooms. Nice touch, and appreciated. Beds were good, not large though, as is common in Icleand. Washing facilities were adequate, overall a good room, but a little pricey, put that down to location, location, location, and that it is pretty much the only place around. So, overall I'll give the 8 out of 10 here. But there are negatives too.

Now the negative, I mentioned the price, but all of Iceland is expensive, perhaps just a little gouging here. But the gouging continues $30 US for Wireless Internet!! Which only works in the Lobby and the Restaurant, to me that is excessive and gouging and inconvenient when you can't use it in your room. The food is very good, but again very expensive. Breakfast was excellent and was included. The bar, well stocked and a lovely setting, but again very very expensive.

Staff, hmmmmmm, nice that they gave us the room upgrade, but a bit stuffy and privileged, who needs attitude when you are on holiday in an exciting country and unique location?

Too bad, this could be a great place, but they messed it up with unnecessary overpricing for add ons and food, liquor, and the staff we dealt with was snooty. So no 5 Stars, and no 4 Stars.
Perhaps Hotel Hellnar needs to look at what they are doing to their customers, or maybe they just feel they can do whatever they want because of where they are, and with little other alternative accomodations nearby. Not a bad choice by any means, but, beware of the price issues here.

Room Tip: Ocean view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bleuemoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellnar
9.2 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Olafsvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Freezer Hostel
The Freezer Hostel
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hellnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hellnar

Property: Fosshotel Hellnar
Address: Brekkubaer Hellnum, Hellnar 356, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hellnar)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Hellnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hellnar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hellnar is everything people look for in a charming country hotel. The hotel is located right beneath Snaefellsjokull Glacier, a national park made famous in the novel Journey to the Center of the Earth. The glacier is said to be one of the seven great energy centers of the earth and has been attributed various mysterious powers. The area offers stunning lava arches and beautiful cliffed coasts where Orca whales are regularly spotted swimming in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Hellnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing