We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay at the Snaefellnes”
Review of Fosshotel Hellnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosshotel Hellnar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay at the Snaefellnes”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Snaefellnes. The location is perfect, with fantastic view and very pleasant walks. We wished we could stay for a longer time. Breakfast was a good spread of slices of cucumber, tomatoes, red pepper, boiled eggs, cold cuts of ham and salami, a few types of fish, freshly baked bread, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. Watching the sunrise as I ate breakfast as it lit up the surroundings was really the highlight of my stay. The air is so fresh and I enjoyed looking at the Icelandic horses at the neighbouring farms. The room (100 Euros for double) with the sea and mountain view is very nice and comfortable, clean and spacious. The bathrooms are nice, with fluffy towels and shower gel and shampoo are provided. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant as we found the prices steep but enjoyed a more affordable meal of delicious fish soup (with chunks of fish, prawns and scallops) and home made bread around the corner at the Kaffihus Hellnam. It does not have a sign so you have to look out for this old building but it is very charming inside. They close at 8 pm so you need to be there early.

Room Tip: Rooms with the seaview are much better than those facing the car park if you would like more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    176
    62
    27
    9
See reviews for
75
266
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is good for hiking on the Arnastapi trail which is right outside and down by the sea. The dinner seemed expensive and so we went to the small restaurant down near the beginning of the trail. The breakfast was fantastic, however, with FRESH bread. The door to our room had a misaligned lock and jamb and it was hard to work the lock. We looked outside onto the Snaefullsjokull glacier, a nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early September 2012 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel has an excellent setting, very modern and well-kept rooms and and excellent dining room. We loved our stay. There are trails right out the door and location is great for exploring the Snaefellnes peninsula. They also have a very cosy fireplace and couches in the lobby to hang out and have a drink. The only negative is that the internet connection is very weak in the rooms - but frankly, you should disconnect from technology here and enjoy the natural beauty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel with fantastic panoramic view, easy to find by car and near to good Landscapes. Wi-fi is not included and is 2000iks for stay, bit too much for one night... Breakfast is very very good! Hot fresh bread Is served with all other kind of things from fresh fruit to other continental things. Dinner is very nice also. Personnel is kind and helpfull. Raccomanded speciality for couples!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonyV86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Hellnar at the end of summer. It was the first day off season so we enjoyed a discounted rate, which was very nice. Not so nice was the fact that the hotel staff made us feel a bit like unwanted guests.

Although we had a nice room with a great view, it wasn't too inviting. We found a used glass (with dried up red wine) on the bedside table and an emptied roll of toilet paper on the bathroom floor. - Take a guess if the room was cleaned or not...

Things like these shouldn't happen but we didn't care much about it. So we had a shower and got ready for dinner.

We ordered two beer, the lamb and the cod, with a fish soup as a starter. The soup arrived within seconds, but we had to wait quite some time for the beer. I would have preferred it the other way around but maybe I'm just captious.
After a while the table was cleared and a waitress came with a cod and a salmon. After we explained that we indeed ordered the cod but definitely not the salmon, she disappeared. And then, then it took a very, very long time until we got our meals. We were hungry so maybe it wasn't longer than half an hour but it felt like much more...
However, the fish was nice and the meat even better. Fresh and tasty and nicely arranged (although nothing exceptional).
But when finished, again we had to wait way too long to order desert and to have cleared away the empty plates. We weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter much, but after twenty minutes an empty plate just get's a bit annoying.
And don't be surprised that we experienced exactly the same when ordering coffee (well, trying to order...).
When we found out that the coffee with milk had no milk, the coffee with sugar did have sugar but no spoon, we decided not to complain but to write a review.

Hotel Hellnar could be such a nice place! - But as long as service doesn't improve, I wouldn't recommend it if you have to pay the high season rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowflyingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was very nice, tastefully decorated, with a lovely reception area and friendly staff. The food in the restaurant was delicious and beautifully presented, although pricey. The breakfast buffet was excellent. What makes this hotel is the location however - do walk around the area, especially down to the coast and up to the nearby church. The sea, the glacier - it is breathtaking. Downsides...The "mountain view" room didn't feature any mountain in the view at all, as it overlooked a chalet in the car park. For a couple on our honeymoon, you couldn't move the single beds so not particularly romantic. And, to be honest, the hotel felt a bit pretentious in ways - overly posh when it didn't need to be at all. In such a beautiful location, a bit more focus on the famous welcoming Icelandic hospitality and culture would much improve the feel of the place.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view room rather than the mountain view - as you risk overlooking the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrianGorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Hellnar for 2 nights. Rooms and bathroom were very clean. Loved the views of the ocean. We enjoyed the walk from Hellnar to Arnastapi. Breakfast was nice. Would be nice if they provided a kettle in the rooms. The staff were very friendly . Took the bus from Reykjavik to Hellnar (booking thru stenar). The hotel was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOMAD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellnar
9.2 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
669 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
464 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
135 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guesthouse Snjofell
Guesthouse Snjofell
#1 of 2 in Hellnar
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hellnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hellnar

Property: Fosshotel Hellnar
Address: | Brekkubaer Hellnum, Hellnar 356, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hellnar)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Hellnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hellnar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hellnar is everything people look for in a charming country hotel. The hotel is located right beneath Snaefellsjokull Glacier, a national park made famous in the novel Journey to the Center of the Earth. The glacier is said to be one of the seven great energy centers of the earth and has been attributed various mysterious powers. The area offers stunning lava arches and beautiful cliffed coasts where Orca whales are regularly spotted swimming in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fosshotel Hellnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing