We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT AESTHETIC”
Review of Fosshotel Hellnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosshotel Hellnar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our first stop on a tour around the north.,looking back, this hotel stands out for the lovely setting and good location but also the outstanding dining room.The food is at a high international standard and very delicious too.
the rooms only have single beds which seems a pity but they are not basic , in the sense of other hotels we have stayed. By this I mean that the bathroom was modern ,water hot, the bed was soft, so important! and there was a stunning view of the ocean. Everything is spotless. The owner was clearly very interested to maintain standards and is interested in the details which accumulate into a special place.
He was very helpful when we had car problems, speaking to the firm on our behalf.. i will be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

OK, so we're camping in Iceland - and at times, concessions have to be made. For example, when the campsite in Arnarstapi looks quite desolate and half-flooded and obviously the new showers our guidebook was talking about have still not been installed there.
Anyway, we were a family of four looking for a hotel. And we found Hellnar. The very friendly and welcoming host found a reasonable room, of course the bigger three-people rooms were already taken given our late arrival.
Dinner we had at Budir (big disappointment, see there) but Hellnar gave us a good night's sleep and the best breakfast we've had so far either in Iceland or on the Faroe Islands.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimateAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Hellnar for a few days this July. While the rooms were very basic, the shower temperature and pressure was lovely after a day of hiking around the beautiful area. You can eat in the pricey yet tasty hotel restaurant (get the mussels if they're fresh!), or save some dough and go down to the nearby Hellnar Cafe for some fish soup, waffles or hot chocolate. A tourist information center down the road has some great offerings and a helpful tour guide, as well as a coffeeshop for another food option. The hotel's wifi signal is slow and only accessible in the hotel lounge- but who wants to go online when you're next to the Snæfellsjökull glacier and volcano? The reception desk staff were also very helpful and amiable. And oh yeah, the setting- breathtaking.

Room Tip: The "F" rooms only give you the view of an average beautiful mountain, not of the spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pochita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I recently vacationed in Iceland and spent a night at this lovely hotel. The location was excellent with easy access to all the wonderful hiking in Snaefellsjokull National Park. The view of the ocean from our room was stunning. The view of the glacier from the parking lot was equally breathtaking.

The restaurant was excellent with a nice selection of entrees. We also had an organic beer from an Icelandic brewery that was very good - Viking is the brewery. Breakfast had a nice selection and they quickly refilled everything so you never had to wait to get what you wanted.

Yes the rooms were small - but that is true of most hotels in Iceland. You can not judge by US hotel room sizes. Most importantly - they are spotlessly clean! And the staff were very helpful and clearly wanted to be sure you had a great stay.

If you are staying in this area, I highly recommend Hotel Hellnar

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtbike050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Indeeed the scenery around this hotel is stunning and the walk to Arnastapi from Hellnar incredible with so much to photograph...Marked down because of the room really...Booked an ocean view...well if you cranked your head sideways you could just glimpse it from the corner of the window!..The Cabin (with number 1 now on the door.) overlooked the car park...would have been ok if the cabin was not so small you could not open your suitcase unless you balanced it on the armchair stuck in the corner or on the bed itself!...this is not shown I now see on booked.com's website!..So make sure you get the ones that overlook the ocean otherwise be prepared for cosiness (Rms 1 or 2!!!)! ..The tiny bathroom is ok..unfortunately when asked if there was a hairdryer we could use was told no, as people apparently had stolen them..as was the issue with the internet cost (the only hotel of eight we stayed in that charged!)...where people had previously excessively downloaded stuff...clearly it's only this hotel that attracts such vagabonds!!..The meals we found compared well to all the other places we ate at whilst touring around Iceland...breakfasts as in most hotels are help yourself..to Skyr (yoghurt), fruits, cheese, tomatoes, herrings, bread, fruit juice and only here did we get to see orcas swimming by whilst we ate!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean view and check its not the separate cabins..rooms 1 and 2...unless you like compact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The room was simple but nice. We had blinds to make the room fairly dark, but I still needed the eyeshades to deal with the midnight sun. All the rooms are situated so that you either get a view of the ocean or of Snæfellsjőkull Volcano. We were on the volcano side.

The breakfast buffet was also very nice with several types of herring included.

This hotel is in a great location, within easy access to a wonderful 5 km round-trip hike from the bay at Hellnar to Arnastapi. Of course it is also very close to Snæfellsjőkull National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel has an absolutely stunning location! We unfortunately arrived at our hotel after the regular dining hours...........this was after hours of driving where we had not seen any dining accommodations. When we checked in, the man behind the counter obliged our dining request with the typical Icelandic response of 'but of course'...and offered to bring us soup. The table was beautifully set for us, with a mountain of bread and large portion of soup which just what we needed. THANK you so much!

In the morning, we were greeted with beautiful sheep standing outside our door and a lovely view of the sea. We only wish we had had longer to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellnar
9.2 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
705 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
486 reviews
15.5 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
1.1 mi away
Arnarstapi Hotel
Arnarstapi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
37 reviews
14.4 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Hellnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Hellnar

Address: | Brekkubaer Hellnum, Hellnar 356, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Hellnar)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Hellnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellnar
Price Range: $144 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Hellnar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Hellnar is everything people look for in a charming country hotel. The hotel is located right beneath Snaefellsjokull Glacier, a national park made famous in the novel Journey to the Center of the Earth. The glacier is said to be one of the seven great energy centers of the earth and has been attributed various mysterious powers. The area offers stunning lava arches and beautiful cliffed coasts where Orca whales are regularly spotted swimming in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fosshotel Hellnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing