We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable family holiday”
Review of Hotel Miramonti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miramonti
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like many others travelling to a hotel for the first time we read the trip Advisor reviews before booking via Crystal holidays. Our mindset was therefore to expect a basic hotel and not much more. We were more than delighted with the welcome from Fulvia and her team. The meals were well home cooked with 4 courses offered every evening and the pasta course being the highlight.Service was efficient and friendly with a small but perfectly adequate list of regional wines at around 9 euro a bottle. Breakfast was always rolls, croissant, coffee, yoghurt, cold meat , cheese and boiled eggs and cereal available-all delicious. If you or your children are a very fussy eaters or you have really high expectations of a hotel and food then go somewhere more expensive. The hotel decor is really dated and could be spruced up easily by painting all the rooms white and perhaps updating the bedcovers with a trip to Ikea. A maintenance check of lights to remove debris and re-grouting bathroom would help but on the whole the rooms were clean. Having said that the showers were hot, beds clean and comfortable and the heating worked well, so much so that we had to ensure the window was open every night. We effectively had two joined rooms with views to the mountains. Ours had 3 single beds with 2 joined to form a double and our son's room had a bunk. This was a real bonus and gave us all some privacy. At the Miramonti we had Italian hospitality, language and food and are really glad that we didn't book the other hotel on offer from Crystal which was all british staff with british tv........what's the point of that if you want to experience Italy! While there was a TV in our room we chose to have a technology free week and took board games with us. Our 10 year old did not protest! We paid 45 euros for the three of us to leave our skis at the ski rental shop at the bottom of the town and this was some of the best money spent on the holiday! To sum up if you are basing your ski holiday round a hotel with less emphasis on the ski-ing go somewhere else but if you ski hard all day, want a good shower, decent food and a place to crash out you can't go far wrong with the Miramonti for the price although booking independantly, which we may do next time, may give access to some of the other hotels in town. Thank you Fulvia for your hospitality and chat!

Room Tip: I know that rooms 4/5 and 11/12 are family rooms with views to the montains. All have hairdryers but...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotpilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramonti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just came back from a skiing holiday in Claviere, Italy, where we stayed in Miramonti hotel. Before booking our accommodation, we checked the reviews on Tripadvisor and were confident that Miramonti would offer us a great service at a reasonable price. And it did exactly that, and even more.
As we had our 13 year old daughter with us, Fulvia, the owner of the hotel, put us into a bigger accommodation, with two rooms in one, as she thought that we could do with more space. The rooms were decent size, warm and nice, with a balcony and gorgeous views of the mountains. The beds were comfortable and had fresh linen. Radiators were always in and there was loads of hot water for the showers. Rooms were cleaned every day. We didn't have any problems or malfunctions in our room, but I am confident Fulvia would have sorted any issues had there been any, to our satisfaction.
Dinners were home made and so tasty. Gave us a proper idea about what Italian food is like-genuine and hearty, prepared with great care and tradition. Thank you, Fabio! All staff, despite being busy and so hard working, were very friendly and always had a smile and a greeting for us.
We have certainly stayed in fancier hotels before, and paid way more for the privilege, but we have never encountered the same level of friendliness and hospitality. From the moment of our arrival when Fulvia greeted us with a wide smile and kind words, to the day of our departure when she gave us hugs, wished us a safe trip home and said she hoped to see us again, she was always there, providing advice and information, making sure we were comfortable and content. When I realised I had a wrong adapter with me, she gave me a lend of hers, when my daughter was sick, she gave me a thermometer, when I needed medicine, she drove me to the pharmacy in Montegenevre. We felt like we came to stay with a dear friend or a close relative, and that provided a very reassuring and comforting feeling. It was great to count on somebody with the local knowledge and language for support and back up.
Some people might prefer big and impersonal hotels, but we were very happy in Miramonti. We appreciated the homely and comfortable feeling of being looked after by Fulvia and her family in a most caring and loving way. The hotel might have an official two star rating, but we give it five stars for its warmth, hospitality and friendliness.
Next year's choice for our skiing holiday has been made already, we will definitely return to Fulvia's Miramonti, and already look forward to it.
Thank you, Fulvia!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, and enjoyed access to WiFi.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasha0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in room 24 for a skiing holiday, with 3 (camp?) beds the room was tiny, luckily there were only two of us, but one of the beds was placed accross the only wardrobe which made it near impossible to use. The ensuite bathroom was again extreemly small, if you dropped the soap in the shower it was too narrow to pick it up, and to step in and out of the shower you had to climb over the toilet. We had a broken door lock and electric socket and the light over the bathroom mirror never worked. The hotel was suited to rowdy school groups, which we had during our stay. The 2 minuite walk to the ski lift took us 10 minutes, and on the way back with ski's more like 15 as it was uphill. The food was plentiful and homely although overcooked at night . Having said that the staff were obliging and helpful and cheerful.You get what you pay for here and it convinced us it was worth spending a little more for a few more comforts. The free WIFI was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, the basment seemed damp although I have to say the rooms were warm thou...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skiierroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

It's a 2 star hotel - go with little expectation & you won't be too disappointed.
Our room & bathroom were damp & mouldy, and the only electric socket that worked was up near the ceiling.
The management did respond to our complaints by painting over the worst of the mould & getting 1 socket fixed, but then we were scowled at for the rest of the week.
Food was only average, over cooked pasta, over cooked meat & no choice at all. The wine is only €9 a bottle though.
If you book via Crystal ski, you may be forgiven for thinking that there is a chairlift just two minutes from the hotel; there isn't. It's been moved up the hill, so you have to walk down the road to the main ski area. I can recommend spending €15 to 'deposito' your skis at the ski school building. Money well spent!
Although the hotel is advertised as accepting credit cards, the owner will try to insist you pay your bar bill in cash.
I would not stay here again; yes it was cheap, but I'd rather spend an extra €100 & stay somewhere without the mould.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just returned from a week at the Miramonti in Claviere.

Meals - self service Continental Breakfast with hot drinks brought to the table and topped up as required. Perfectly aqaquate. The 4 course evening meals were very good. The first course is a few cold meat nibbles on your plate which are served before the restaurant opens (7:30pm), followed by a different tasty pasta dish nightly, followed normally by a roast dish (chicken, pork lamb, beef) with one accompanying veg or potatos. Dessert is cake (different cake each night), ice cream, fruit bowl or cheese.

Public Areas - There is a bar and a comfortable lounge area and if you are lucky, the hotel's friendly dog will come to see you. The hotel does have Wifi which I found excellent. We could receive the wifi in our room on the first floor but above that I think you'd need to sit in the lounge to connect up. Ski room is in the basement as you would expect but there are no form of individual locks/lockers.

Bedroom - small, clean, large wardrobe, small bathroom which would have been an adaquate size had there not been a bedet. Some bathroom fittings were hanging off but I find that this seems the norm in most budget ski accommodations. Rooms were cleaned well each day and new towels half way through the week. Rooms are very warm indeed so you may need to leave the window open overnight.

Position - about 80 metres downhill takes you to the main road and a further 100 metres downhill to the nearest ski lift. On days when it snowed, we put our skis on at the front door and skiied right down the street, over the main road, behind the tennis courts and straight on to the piste. The annoying thing is that the french lift used to be at the end of the hotel car park. Some dispute over the French/Italian borders and maintenance means that the French moved the lift 150 metres up a steep hill and they banked up the landscape so its impossible to get to the french lift from the hotel. However we found that we (a good intermediate standard) could ski back from the french piste down the steep gradient, over a frozen stream (not quite as tricky as it sounds if you follow the other tracks) and back in to the hotel Miramonti's car park.

We have stayed at the Grande Claviere twice in the past which is better positioned than the Miramonti and better facilities, but it was just too expensive this year so we tried the Miramonti and found it to our liking. If you can afford, go to the Grande Claviere as its better and its closer to the ski lift. Also, the "area lift pass" sold by Crystal is only for the Italian side. Ask for the "Mont Luna/Montgenevre" lift pass (about 30 euros more) and that includes everthing from Cesana to Montgenevre, with one day allowed further than Cesana, handy if you want to go to Sestriere for the day, which we did and it took 2 hours each way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkierAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel wih a family run team who look after you all week. The food is home cooked and enough even for big eaters. The wine is well priced and good. There are a few bars in town to keep you busy and the skiing is perfect. Links to other resorts ok if you get up early and ski all day. The hotel is perfect for real skiers who dont need to party.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacktarUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked Miramonti last minute through Crystal. This is not the most spectacularly comfortable hotel but it doesn't purport to be. What it is is just about the friendliest place you can imagine and it pays testament that in the quietest of January weeks it was full. The rooms are large with a very nice wardrobe. The toilet is a little cramped because of the bidet but the hot water is plentiful. The rooms are warm with radiators which are very handy for drying out wet ski clothes. There are four courses per night every night; the pasta is a highlight. Breakfast is a simple buffet with boiled eggs available every morning and there is ample coffee (you get a jug of coffee and a jug of frothy milk). It's a shame the French decided to move the lift behind the hotel over Montgenevre which means there is an uphill walk to the hotel at the end of the day but the overwhelmingly feeling you are left with at the end of the week is that this is a quiet friendly hotel which provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gravystuffing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claviere
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bes
Hotel Bes
#2 of 6 in Claviere
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clari
Hotel Clari
#1 of 6 in Claviere
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
Hotel Chalet Casa Cesana
#1 of 8 in Cesana Torinese
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence VTF - Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramonti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramonti

Address: Via Rio Secco 1 | Claviere, 10050 Claviere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Claviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Miramonti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramonti Hotel Claviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing