We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MikeCol”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Claviere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Hotel Grande Claviere
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MikeCol”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a great concept let down by lack of space in the bar and restaurant areas and lack of imagination by the kitchen staff. You could barely get a cigarette paper between the seats in the restaurant and the bar at times and the meals were one dimentional, with a choice of two mains one of which was vegetarian. Meals were predominantly British, not one Italian classic in the whole week. We even had Stroganoff with arborio rice one night. A risotto or pasta dish would have been tastier and cheaper! The packed lunch was more fuel than food and the rolls appeared to have been from the night before. After two days we ate out for lunch.
Dont get us wrong, we will go back again next year- the whole package outweighs any gripes we might have. We will just eat out more (unless someone acts on this review at Crystal) The rooms are adequate, reasonably spacious and clean (but not 3* as claimed by Crystal). The bathroom was fine. There was always hot water and the heating though old more than did the job.
The jewel in the crown is the child care package, which was outstanding. You can drop your kids off with the excellent childcare staff, secure in the knowledge that they are well qualified and competent. They take your kids to ski school and bring them back to the hotel for lunch and bum boarding or some other form of play. Early kids meals are available and the kitchen staff were flexible with meals for kids.(We cant knock them there.) At 7.30 you can drop the kids off for a pyjama club and they are entertained until 9pm. Our 5 year old was champing at the bit every night to get down there. If you have kids you will know that a happy child on holiday is worth an arm and a leg. Our boy loved it!
The "all inclusive bar" starts at 4.30 and continues to 10.30. Most drinks are named brands and if you have the inclination you might just get your money's worth. We would have preferred to pay for our drinks and had the holiday price reduced. If you have a child you are unlikely to be drinking heavily. We accept that if you are in a group and having to buy rounds the all inclusive prevents unexpected additional costs to the holiday.
A very good holiday location that could, with a little bit of effort, be a great one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    92
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
118
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maynooth Co.Kildare
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were a little apprehensive on staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews here.
The hotel rooms were basic but clean and warm. The heating in the hotel is a little old but it worked.There was always hot running water.
The food was of a good standard, the only let down was the overdone fried eggs in the morning. The Dinner was a choice of two options for starter/ Main and desert. The servers were fab and really friendly. A big thanks to Lewis and Ciara.
This is a small hotel with approx 100 guests maximum, thus it does not take long to get to know your fellow holiday makers. This adds to the appeal of the hotel.
The skiing when we were there was fabulous with no queues for the lift.
AS this is a purely Crystal hotel ran by young people I was very impressed with all of them. The rooms were cleaned early in the morning and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Thanks to Kelly and Rhiannon who both enhanced our trip. Kelly for her ski advice and Rhiannon for her bar skills.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjacknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have just returned from a week staying at Grand Claviere wiith my husband and 11 year old son. We had been a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but had an excellent time.

True bedrooms are a little basic, but we were warm and comfortable. The heating system was a little old which meant you were unable to shut it off despite the room being warm, but it just meant we kept a window option.

We stayed on the all inclusive package which included a wide and varied breakfast, with full cooked breakfast option. At breakfast were able to choose our evening meal and packed lunch option for next day. The evening meals were very good with a choice of starter, main and sweet - with unlimited wine. Children also had the option to eat at 5.30pm or later with their parents. The staff were always cheerful and helpful, and very entertaining - special mention to Lewis!!!

Also at 4pm afternoon tea and cakes were served. From 4.30pm the bar then opened until 10.30pm.

We really enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. Children were able to socialise in a happy and safe environment whilst the adults relaxed. One of our main concerns initially was the noise factor at night, we were amazed that all was amazingly quiet and our sleep quality very good.

The location of the hotel was excellent. Snow permitting a short ski to the ski school area. The range was fabulous, lots of snow, plenty of runs and NO LIFT QUEUES, which at half term is virtually unknown. You are able to ski back to the hotel but it is via a red run. We had upgraded our lift pass to enable us to ski the adjourning French side of Montegenevre, which we would fully recommend. The boot room at the hotel was great also .

Special mention also to Crystal rep Kelly who was always friendly and helpful, and her free guiding sessions very worthwhile. She should really be the head rep!

So all in all an amazing time at the Grande Claviere and the wonderful village of Claviere!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just got back from staying at this hotel and can say that I was a bit worried after reading some reviews but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is not the Ritz but it was warm, comfortable, food was plentiful and service excellent. we used the services of the crech for our 9 month old daughter who had never left mum's side and the staff were so lovely, kind and attentive I felt she was in very capable hands. our 5 year old son had a fantastic time in ski school, followed by lots of fun after in the Whiz kids club. I even received a phone call prior to our trip asking if I had any questions regarding the childcare....what service.

In terms of the skiing, it was very cold during our visit, lots of good snow, quite a few runs but not sure whether the whole resort interlinked well, I felt I was always on a chair lift and preferred the French side of the ski area and would recommend you ensure you get a ski pass for this area. would I return for the skiing....I would probably prefer to try somewhere new, however in terms of childcare, service at the hotel and holiday enjoyment I would consider going back.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was good at the back of hotel overlooking piste
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Yes, the place itself is a bit basic and the heating shows its age with its unpredictability, but as a ski base it was great. For most (red run needed) , it is just about ski-in/ski out, and the ski room is warm and spacious.
We all enjoyed the food, which is English rather than Italian, but that will please most. The young staff are a delight. Always polite and friendly, and eager to please.
The place itself can seem a bit crowded, but we were lucky to have a week with a real "muck-in" atmosphere and enjoyed the friendly ambiance, much assisted by the free bar.
Snow conditions were good - which is always important - we go to ski, and we enjoyed the guiding too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Just returned from a weeks skiing and overall enjoyed the holiday but some hotel basics were just not there. Don't get me wrong in an ideal world if you could put the staff into a new hotel it would be truly amazing.

Our room was on the equivalent of a one star youth hostel. To start off with we had a torn curtain header in one pair of curtains over the window. These didn't meet in the middle either so it allowed the draught from the window straight into the room. In addition there was a missing curtain rail and curtain over the balcony door which again was draughty and even let snow it to the room. This didn't help the room temperature as it was around -15 outside. We had to place a towel over the missing balcony door curtain and this resulted in ice on the inside of the glass. The best way we found at keeping the room warm was by leaving the bathroom door open. In contrast our friends had a good room although they did say it was still cold at times. Throughout the hotel are reminders about not touching the radiator valves as this upsets the heating system so it looks like they know about the problem.

The cleanliness was rotten. In our room we had dust inside the dressing room drawers, cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling, hair in the bottom of the shower basin which you could also feel the scum mark around the edge. The shower had been cleaned, but not to any good standard, a simple little more cleaning would of got it spotless. Towels were not swapped in the international way of "hang up and we will use again, in the shower please replace" method. The general cleanliness in the bar and lounge area was poor too, in particular the floor. In contrast other areas such as the restaurant, corridors and locker room were good.

Noise is an issue from other guests, in particular other peoples children and the lack of space in the lounge bar area is a real pain which made the situation worse, but the hotel was very full.

Food in the evening was stunning with table service that exceeds the 3* rating. A cooked breakfast is served for the morning but in comparison to the evening meal this felt like it was done on a shoestring made worse by serving it on a large dinner plate. On one morning's offering was a single rasher of bacon, a fried egg, three sections of half chopped mushroom, half a tomato and half a small slice of fried bread all of which was served cold. When I complained the waiter did apologise and offered to get me a new breakfast but a few moments later he returned with the same one which had been re-heated under the grill and now had a burnt piece of fried bread, an exploded egg yolk and him sucking his burnt finger from the incredibly hot plate......nice! Needless to say I did not fancy the risk from a bout of food poisoning off a reheated breakfast.

Would I stay here again? No.

Do I think you would have a great holiday? More than likely yes.

Could the expereinced be improved? So eaisly with a little more attention to detail.

Would I recommend you stay here? Have a look first of all if there is somewhere else to stay before hand, if not go for it but just make sure you don't get room 202.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysteryshopper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just got back from a week with family and friends from one of our best ski holidays ever. The hotel rooms were basic but spacious and spotlessly clean,the food was lovely and the staff were incredibly helpful and always smiling Add to that full english breakfast every morning,free drinks from 4.30 and perfect snow conditions- what more could you want .We would definately come back and will be booking with Crystal again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyce j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claviere
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clari
Hotel Clari
#1 of 6 in Claviere
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bes
Hotel Bes
#2 of 6 in Claviere
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#5 of 6 in Claviere
84 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Grande Claviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Grande Claviere

Property: Club Hotel Grande Claviere
Address: Claviere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Claviere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Claviere
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Hotel Grande Claviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing