We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Moraine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Moraine
Ranked #1 of 5 Caledon B&B and Inns
Cumberland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Moraine for two nights in late November as we were attending a birthday party in nearby Bolton.

Hosts Diane and Stan were wonderful. They were warm and friendly and right away made us feel like we were family. Their lovely dog, Lacey, greeted us when we arrived and was so well behaved and gentle that you hardly knew she was there.

The Inn is set on 10 acres in the rural, rolling Caledon Hills north of Toronto, making for a lovely country getaway, away from the noise of the city. Our room was very quiet and peaceful and very dark at night. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The queen bed was quite comfortable and we slept well. There was lots of room in the walk-in closet for our stuff.

Because there is only one bathroom for the two available rooms, we paid the higher price so we could have exclusive use of the bathroom (they lock-off the other bedroom so there are no other guests). This arrangement also afforded us exclusive use of the huge, adjoining lounge, complete with huge, leather sectional couch, big screen TV and pool table (the room is probably referred to as a “greatroom” - so spacious with the cathedral ceiling!). Guests enjoy access to an extensive collection of DVDs. We brought our own drinks (there is a mini-fridge in the lounge) and snacks, and considering the cold, snowy weather we had, it was nice to stay in and relax with a movie.

The hot, home-cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A real treat! We loved that our table by the window overlooked the back deck where so many species of birds came to feed just inches away on the window sill, in the adjacent trees, at the many feeders, and on the deck itself. One of the first snowstorms of the season left the surrounding evergreens heavy with snow and picture-postcard perfect so the view was quite beautiful.

Our only regret was that it was too cold and snowy to explore outside - it looked like a beautiful property. We will just have to come back in warmer weather.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

In a not too far-off place a birds eye view reveals a colorful portrait painted on a canvas of earthscape only nature canmasterfully create. Sweeping acres full of rolling green, gold & red dotted among the trees whose leaves seem to whisper in rythym with each pass of the autumn winds.

In Caledon you can taste the essence of the season at a very special place - a place where the balance of nature and humanity have come together to celelbrate the trinity of earth, wind and fire in a truly intimate way...a place where animal friends greet you with welcome sounds and sights...a place where the passage of time is embodied in the walls that provide you shelter and one where comfort and calm can be found under a century oak tree.

This wonderland glittering with natural beauty is the Inn On the Moraine - a quaint, historical iconic property dating back to the days of early pioneer settlement - preserved with the original log structure which still stands today and forms part of the existing Inn.

The proprietors of the Inn On The Moraine are Diane Tolstoy & Stan Janes - this wonderful team along with Lacey their adorable dog have become guardians to this wonderful property ready to provide an experience unique to each visitors tastes and needs. They are musical souls with an obvious love for the art as the property is decorated with instruments from all over the world - from drums to maracas, accordians and even guitars - there are wonderful examples of adorning the walls, shelves and hallways of their home. In perfect harmony Stan & Diane work together in all aspects to ensure each moment of your experience is complete and where possible will do all they can to exceed your expectation.

Not surprisingly, they are both highly recognized for their dedication and involvement in the Caledon community through numerous charity and service organizations including Rotary & Kinsmen. Having made great strides to bridge community groups to work in unison they have even initiated a Ride-Share program in co-ordination with regional police services to keep the community roads safer for everyone. Stan & Diane's exemplary community involvement stands as a testament to their kind, generous and thoughtful nature and this shows through in all they do particularly in operating the Inn On the Moraine.

As prominent members of the Caledon service community they extend their time, energy and resources participating in programs, initiatives, and projects that make a positive and lasting impression on the lives they touch.

There are so many reasons to consider a stay at this beautiful property. Located only 45 minutes north of Toronto, it provides for the ideal country get-away and a place for urban-types to get back to nature in a simple, unfettered way. Stan & Diane have made a deliberate effort to work at making each guest's experience as relaxing, and enjoyable as possible. From the home-cooked meals chock-full of organic farm fresh goodies to the delectable preserves, or sensory-rich teas every effort is taken to give you the most memorable stay possible.

The property and it's facilities are clean, modern and in excellent condition.

We highly recommend considering spending time at the Inn On the Moraine and hope you enjoy your time getting to know the property and it's owners as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Moraine during our wedding weekend in Caledon. We chose the Inn on the Moraine since it was close to our wedding location (Royal Ambassador) and the scenery around the house was perfect for pre-reception pictures. Diane and Stan were incredible hosts - they went out of their way to ensure that the rooms would accommodate our wedding party and that our room for the wedding night was perfect! The breakfast in the morning was amazing and their dog Lacey was super adorable. The rooms were very spacious with great amenities. I would recommend Inn on the Moraine to anyone who is looking for a country getaway.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with more privacy then ask as for the room in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed with Diane and Stan on my way through Ontario. The setting is beautiful nestled in the rolling hills of Caledon. There is plenty of space for hikes or to just sit to read and relax Their home is perfectly appointed to welcome guests, and let you have privacy in well-appointed rooms with amenities. Breakfast accommodated my wheat-free diet, which was a pleasing surprise. Diane, Stan and their dog Lacey make you feel right at home, just like old friends :).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Bobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This B & B was far more than we expected. We were made to feel right at home, except their home is nicer. Diane and Stan couldn't have made us feel more comfortable. Lacey their dog was just the icing on the cake.
The food was terrific and having breakfast out on the deck was perfect.
It is one of those places where the first thing you notice late at night is how quiet it is. For those times when you don't want to go out if you can't find a movie to watch from their collection, well your not trying very hard.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay at the Inn on the Moraine was absolutely wonderful. My brother and I had traveled a long way to Bolton for our Uncle's funeral, so upon arrival to the Inn on the Moraine we were exhausted and very sad. Yet, from the moment I walked in to Stan and Diane's I felt at ease. I stayed in the Sage Room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the walk in closet huge, and the views from my room were beautiful. The open area upstairs was wonderful - a great place to relax and unwind after a busy day. Breakfasts were delicious, served hot, and even the coffee was tasty. The hosts, Stan and Diane, were very caring, and in my opinion had just the right balance of being able to make easy conversation with you, and yet completely respect your desire for privacy. Their dog is friendly, and very well mannered. This recommendation may be long, but I can't say enough about this bed and breakfast. Treat yourself to this great place if you are in the Caledon area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaBezemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Inn on the Moraine for one night and had a lovely time. The Inn keepers were called away and left their very capable friends Ruth and Ed in charge...all I can say is thanks for a great evening and the most amazing breakfast. Wow those potato pancakes were delicious!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledon
16.2 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orangeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brampton
14.1 mi away
Aloft Vaughan Mills
Aloft Vaughan Mills
#2 of 14 in Vaughan
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Moraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Moraine

Property: Inn on the Moraine
Address: 15535 Mount Pleasant Rd, Caledon, Ontario L7E 3N2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Caledon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Moraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing