We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and welcoming hotel”
Review of Hotel Baja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baja
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Contrary to some of the disgruntled reviews about Hotel Baja, I found the hotel to be excellent and the staff welcoming. Luca, Stefano and Tamara are particularly noteworthy in their approach to customer care and welcome.

The hotel itself is very clean and the decor modern.

We had a good sized room overlooking the pool.

Breakfast is a buffet providing some traditional British breakfast offerings (scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon) and more European-style fare (cold meats, fruit, cheese, pastries). The coffee is excellent as you would expect from an Italian hotel and the tea is perfectly acceptable too, if that's your morning "must have". The fruit juices are of the diluted concentrate variety.

Evening meals are very good. A buffet starter and then a la carte, which is ordered in the morning to avoid any delay.

The grumble from other reviewers about being allocated to a table: the head waiter will do his best to move you to an alternative table but do bear in mind that if the hotel if full, you may have to enjoy your allocation - but there are no "bad" tables.

Drinks were not included in the hotel price and are tracked via the equivalent of a drinks credit card. The wine list offered a good selection of Sardinian (excellent) and other Italian varieties.

About the hotel pool - yes you do have to wear a bathing hat, which the hotel sells for one Euro. If it fabric rather than rubber. After the initial hilarity of putting on a hat, you become accustomed to it and frankly if it preserves the pool filter and avoids the horror of someone's else hair catching in your fingers, then that can only be a good thing. If you really hate the idea of the swimming hat, then the beach is within easy walking distance and you can pretty much do what you like there!

Room Tip: Pool view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

the hotel is ok but absolutely not what you would expect of a 4star hotel.
reception staff was absolutely friendly, competent and helpful though.
but service at the restaurant at breakfast was kind of unfriendly, also they have the strange habit of making you sit at a certain table that's not your choice. the breakfast choice was ok-ish but not very big (I have seen 4star hotels of that price range do it 400 times better). at 9.30 am the scrambled eggs, mortadella and cheese were obviously lying there for too long without cooling, so I wouldn't touch them and lived of croissants, of which every second tray that came out of the kitchen was burnt, and little pastry. for two days we decided to have breakfast somewhere else since it was so bad, even though we had it included in our booking.

the pool is nice, but you're only allowed to use it within a few hours of the day (10am-1pm and 5pm-6.30pm, generally not during breakfast and dinner time). when coming down to the pool area one day at 6.36 pm to pick up a friend, the pool-guy while running past me harshly stated in Italian that I wasn't allowed to go in anymore since he's closing down. well, wasn't going to anyway..! also you have to wear a cap in the pool, which you can buy at reception (they told us at the beginning of the stay). they have a pool bar that's said to also sell snacks during the day - I cannot judge since we only saw the pool bar open once for 5 minutes, it was usually closed and no service in sight.
the general condition of the hotel and cleanliness is rather ok but could/should be a lot better for a hotel of that price range.
parking space was sufficient, we always found a spot and it was for free.
wireless internet is a problem, but my travel guide already said that in Sardinia generally that's apparently not usual (yet) in many hotels.
overall: for the price of our deal it was ok, but I have seen many comparable hotels that were a complete other league!
Wouldn't go there again, but it was okay for the stay (1 week), also there's such a lot to see in Sardinia and it's so absolutely beautiful that we forgot about little issues with the hotel accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeserickJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in July 2012, we booked last minute but were very pleased with the results.
The hotel is very very clean, modern and well presented, If it were smaller it would be similar to a boutique hotel. The room was an excellent size, huge bed, sofa and good sized balcony (1st floor)
The food I really cannot fault, the breakfast had a big selection in a buffet style with loads of fresh fruit. It was clearly orientated towards the European guests but I don't think that's a bad thing (no fry ups). The Dinner was always very nice if not a little bit too much, with four courses. On our last night they did an excellent dinner which differed from usual by being a set menu which was six courses!

The staff were all very nice and very helpful, the language barrier was a bit of a problem with some waiting staff but the head waiter spoke fluent English as well as four other languages.
The pool was always meticulously clean, with the lifeguard going as far as making regular trips to pick up stray leaves!
I cannot fault the hotel for anything apart from it being a bit too close to the neighboring hotel which played very loud, awful music which was clearly for families.

The area was nice, as usual with Italy quite rocky with small beaches but it's worth going on boat excursions to some truly spectacular bays and beaches. Even chartering a boat and exploring the hidden bays, of which there are may, is worth while.
We went diving with the dive centre that is round the corner (300 M) and had the whole dives to ourselves! It was like a private dive. The centre is called Area Mare and Marco, the instructor/owner is excellent. This was my girlfriends first ever dive and she was one on one with an instructor.
Altogether this is a lovely small resort and it's worth hiring a car and I would highly recommend this hotel and area. We had a fantastic time and would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captn_pugwash86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not sure if the other reviews were of the same hotel. Yes you did have to wear a cap to swim but it was not rubber but material and everyone wore one so it really didnt matter. The whole hotel was very clean especially the pool area. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to do things for you. The bar was open until midnight, but if you wanted anything after that the night reception would get this for you. The food was excellent four courses everynight of which you had a choice you completed a menu in the morning of the days choices. The 3 rooms we have were very good and roomy and fully air conditioned. The only place not air conditioned was the dining room and it could get a bit hot in there. We went to the beach, there is a train you get from outside the hotel for 2 euros the fee for the day on the beach was 20 euros but thats about standard for Italy. The beach was very clean and the sea water was lovely and clear no rubbishng floating about. The hotel manager there when we went was Italian and very helpful. I honestly couldnt fault the hotel, food or staff and would definatley recommend it. It is worth going the see how the other half live and go to Porto Cervo about 20 mins car ride away.

Room Tip: We had room 214 on the second floor this was roomy and quiet at night. You could also see the habou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I were looking into booking a room at the Hotal Baja in Cannigione, but on discussion with the hotel manager were horrified to hear that they insist on everyone wearing a rubber swimming cap if they want to go in the swimming pool! Yuk! Not only does that ideal not appeal to me from an esthetical perspective, but the thought of ripping my hair by trying to stretch a horrid plastic swimming cap over my head (like back in the good old days of school swim class!!) is quite unpleasing! Do they also make men with excessively hairy backs wear plastic bodysuits in the pool?! I think not.... Be warned!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A place where we have stayed for a week.
The rooms are very small, we had a view to the pool (probably the best possible option).
The pool is great - quiet, no children. The hotel manager who is German is very nice and polite.
Most impressive are the dishes served in the restaurant and chef.
The gym is very weak...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank g1zmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Bossy unhelpfull staff in the breakfast area rude receptionist air conditioning broken they pretented to mend it 5 nights in a row gave up after that point could not even keep water cool the room was boiling the fridge is housed in a cubbard which heated the fridge it was so hot in the room, small room bird excriment all over roof directly below tiny balcony .awful Chav music played in pool area two 1 lite bottles of water 10 euros take out from restaurant no glasses supplied ! Bar closes early so you can't even drown your sorrows! Local beach charged 20 euros for 2 people for the day total rip of awful holiday local area 1 nice authentic resturant thats about it folks couldn't even get a flight home they were fully booked confined to room 101 in my opinion !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hasthesunshonehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
0.1 mi away
Blu Hotel Morisco Village
Blu Hotel Morisco Village
#3 of 12 in Cannigione
915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
#5 of 12 in Cannigione
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Micalosu
Hotel Micalosu
#8 of 12 in Cannigione
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa di Minnanna
La Casa di Minnanna
#11 of 12 in Cannigione
5 reviews
3.1 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sporting Hotel Tanca Manna
Sporting Hotel Tanca Manna
#12 of 12 in Cannigione
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja

Address: Via Nazionale, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range: $120 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baja 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baja Hotel Cannigione
Hotel Baja Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing