We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Resort Cala di Falco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was our second stay at the Cala di Falco. It is a very pretty hotel with an attractive layout and gardens. It is also a few minutes walk to Cannigione which is a small town with a nice harbour, some bars and beach shops. The beach is not particularly brilliant there however - too close to the main road.

The Staff at the hotel were, for the most part, friendly and polite. We were given a welcome drink on arrival which was lovely as it was incredibly hot there this year. We arrived very early and the hotel did all they could to get the rooms ready as quickly as possible. The rooms themselves were fantastic - really spacious and spotlessly clean with plenty of storage.

The baby and mini clubs looked very popular, however my children were not keen on joining in the older club (10 - 14) and I saw very little activity for this age group. There is a room in the basement which has a table tennis table and a couple of old arcade machines but it was not inviting and we never saw anyone in there. They have a new 'card room' by the restaurant. This room used to be the hub for the older children which was great - the new room however seemed to be hardly used and very quiet.

The food was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic - everything you could want. The buffets were also great in the evening but the restaurant did get very busy so we ate at the Terrace restaurant a couple of times (5 euros per person extra) which was much calmer and very enjoyable.

My only real complaint about the hotel was the fact that other guests could 'bag' their sunloungers under the limited shades available by the pool and then not use them for hours. We had to drag the sunloungers to the grassy area to find shade under the trees. We did mention this to the General Manager and at one point, some of the towels were removed. The pool area itself is lovely and relaxing with no loud music, water aerobics etc and there is a pool lifeguard there.

There are some spectacular beaches nearby - it is worth having a car and visiting them. Our favourites on the Costa Smerelda were Liscia Ruja and Pevero - absolutely stunning,

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilkiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 603 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

Spent 7 days here and have not had such a relaxing holiday in years. Hotel was excellent; from initial check in which was very welcoming and professional;room very comfortable;lovely grounds;superb swimming pool;fantastic evening buffet with lots of choice and great quality;breakfast was more than ample;service in restaurant was very efficient and friendly. The kids club was the best that we have encountered, with our 5 year old counting the minutes until she could go back again!! Thank you to all the team at the kids club for making her holiday. The beach across the road from the hotel is great. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eildonedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Hotel Cala di Falco is in a superb position overlooking the bay with land opposite, making it look like a lake. The hotel is in villa type italian accommodation, surrounded by lush gardens full of birds and butterflies and if you are lucky enough to be able to afford a sea view in a jnr suite, there is nothing like it. Don't hesitate to book half board, you will not eat out any better than is on offer here. Superb quality food, served buffet style by their own chefs, who obviously take a pride in what they cook. My daughter, who was with us is a vegitarian, and had a different dish on offer every night, including the usual salads, cheeses, pizza's etc. If you like fish, you'll love this. The swimming pool is in a stunning position and has some great loungers. They have adjustable head shades for reading, never had that before and i've stayed in many 5 star hotels. The staff are so friendly, you feel you can ask for anything. It really is on the edge of the small town of Cannigione with a few shops and bars, no more than 10 mins walk. If you were pondering.....Dont!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadessex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Beautiful hotel and an excellent location.

When me, my boyfriend and my dad arrived we were a little worried as the hotel did not seem ready for business. We stayed the second week in May and arrived the first day the hotel opened for the season. We had been told by Delphinia the week before we flew that the hotel was not going to open, but thankfully this was rectified just in time and we were able to stay at our chosen hotel.We were checked in at 1pm, instead of the usual 5pm due to an early flight. The pool wasn't open and the place was deserted, We were initially a little worried.

Me, my boyfriend and my dad shared a 2 bed apartment, which was lovely. We were just away from the smaller pool, and after having a look around were sure we were in the best apartment in the complex. The grounds looked in need of some maintenance, but gardeners were busy the whole time we were there getting the place ready, by the second day we had new plants along our path.

The pool opened on day two and was gorgeous (only very cold), but we were still in and around it most days. Unfortunately the restaurant didn't open before we left, and we therefore didn't get to see the pool area lit up at night. But we all agreed it was THE most beautiful place we'd ever stayed. From the pool area you looked straight onto the sea, and across to Baia Sardinia on the other side of the bay, you could see the small but charming beach across a quiet coast road.

The hotel was within easy walking distance (5min stroll) to the centre of Cannigione village. Which has a rustic charm like no where I've ever been. Again, it was obvious that we were very early in the season, the harbour wasn't fully open as it was being block paved, and some nights we were the only ones in the restaurants.

The food was delicious, and I'm sure the place only improves in peak season. Although, if it was too busy it may lose some of it's charm. We hired a car and in 1 week comfortably visited most of the main sites, Porto Cervo(overrated!), Baia Sardinia(best beach we saw), Maddalena(well worth a visit, more set up for tourists), Bonifacio-Corsica(only 1 hour ferry, really amazing place) were our favourites. It was less than an hours drive from Olbia airport to the hotel.

Our apartment was on ground floor and we had the most amazing view, we could have stayed forever. The hotel staff were great and spoke good English and were very patient with our feeble attempt at Italian. We had problems with our hire car, and the woman at reception rang the company for us and sorted things out.

To sum up- we really fell in love with the place and would love to go back and stay in the same room. We went a little early in the season, but this was reflected in the price and would not deter us from going so early in the future. Not sure if it is worth the high season price, but that seems to be the same all over Sardinia. Highly recommended, cannot understand the bad reviews, it is a rustic Italian village, so providing you're not expecting English bars and US style hotels, then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah_Loves_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Was very apprehensive about going abroad with a one year old, but it turned out to be a lovely holiday.

There were lots of other small children in the hotel, with highchairs provided in the restaurant, so didn't feel uncomfortable when our toddler made a noise/mess.

The rooms are very spacious. Ours had a separate seating area and plenty of room for a travel cot which the hotel provided. The rooms had two air-conditioning units which meant that we could switch the one in bedroom area off over night so that it wasn't too cold/noisy.

There is a baby room with nappy-changing facilities, cots, highchairs, microwave, fridge full of food (pasta, sauces, yoghurts etc) and milk which you could help yourself to. Unfortunately, they don't tell you about this, so we only discovered it by accident on our last day!! It would have saved us a lot of walking to the supermarket to pick up milk and yoghurts for our little one!

Dinner is not served in the evening until 7pm, which was a little late for our little one, so he often got a bit ratty as was tired. The food was excellent. The buffets were a lot better than the al a carte though, and breakfast was especially good. Wine was very reasonably priced, and if you didn't manage to finish the bottle they saved it for you for the following day.

Pool was great. Always plenty of sunbeds, although the best positioned ones for the sun and pool-side went fairly early in the day.

All the staff were friendly and courteous and the place was spotlessly clean.

Not an awful lot to do in the local area. We got the local bus to Porto Cervo, but thought it was over-rated and a nightmare for buggies as it was steps everywhere. Also very expensive. We were happy to stay by the pool or wander over to the beach.

The airport is very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireZeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

DO NOT STAY HERE! My boyfriend and I went to Sardinia in September and while the island itself is lovely, the Cala Di Falco Club Hotel is terrible! I booked through lastminute.com and all the photos they showed looked fine. It does not look like the photos. And it is not 4 star. I would give it 1 star. When we arrived at the hotel I was so disappointed I nearly cried! The room the originally checked us into did not even have a window, it was a dog box on the ground floor. You had to keep the door open to let any air in and it looked right out onto the carpark. nice. We asked them to move us and they did to the second floor and we actually had a window and balcony overlooking pool, so it was a little better. But the pools and decor are really ugly. Lots of orange...I would say the place has not been touched since 1970. Not only is it really old, but they take no pride in the grounds or anything. Lawn hadnt been mowed, weeds everywhere, overgrown and unkept. Sardinia has a natural beauty and is not particularly sopisticated, but its very charming. If I were to visit again I would stay in Porto Cervo, as the hotels there are a lot newer. Also Esmeraldo Beach is nice, we had a friend who was staying there and went and visited her at her hotel and it was quite nice and there is a lovely little beach there. The beach in Cannigione is non-existent = its just a tiny bay and not veryt attractive. Hope this review helps. I am not a 5 star hotel snob but I do have certain standards and this place is totally misleading and does not come up to scratch. I was very surprised to find out the Cala di Falco is a Delfina property as they are usually lovely. I am staying in the Sheraton Delfine Hotel in Santa Monica at the moment as I write this review, and it is totally lovely and impeccable. I guess the US / Australian standards of hotels do not apply in a lot of provincial Europe...Rebecca (London, nee Sydney)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Rebecca44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed here in Sept for 2 weeks with my wife and a 1 year old. We had an OK time but there are certainly some negatives and positives which i set out below, but generally the travel books are right september (and anytime not in peak season) the hotel and towns and resorts have a very "closing down" feel to them. The difference in quality of entertainment and atmosphere between the first week of sept and second was amazing and also a bit depressing. This is the same in the resorts around here also. Do not go here in closed season unless you like already quiet resorts even quieter:

Positives

- clean and friendly
- good food (although clearly you have to like italian and our 1 year old got a tad fed up with pasta and tomato sauce each night which was the kids choice each night)
- the baby room which is great - milk changing facilities food etc etc - they do not tell you about this and you have to discover it
- pool is nice as is the green area in front of the hotel
- baby dance (but only saw 3 nights of this because clearly closes in september as season ends!)
- Baia Sardinia beach
- the whole area is not built up at all
- quite a lot of young kids so ok if child gets bored/ noisy in restaurant

Negatives

- not easy with toddler with buggy in hotel - steps everywhere - we had to move room as ground floor junior suite had a drop of 3 feet to the next level.
- Cannigone - no cafe culture bit like a very small working town, not pleasant no place to sit really and people watch.
- choice of restaurants - bascially most of the restaurants around this region have the same menu except some also do pizzas!
- you definately need a car and most of the places you go to do not have the italian feel that we expected but that may have something to do with the season
- quite a lot of young kids in restaurant so if I had gone just with my wife it would have done our heads in!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Manchestermember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
1.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
#1 of 74 in Arzachena
391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Li Finistreddi
Hotel Li Finistreddi
#2 of 12 in Cannigione
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
30.1 mi away
Hotel Relax Torreruja Thalasso & Spa
4 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Cala di Falco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Cala di Falco

Address: Via Monti di Corru, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Family Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range: $109 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resort Cala di Falco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Cala di Falco is a 4 star resort at Cannigione, near the Costa Smeralda in the North of Sardinia. A strategic location, just a few steps from the beach at Cannigione and an excellent starting point for visiting the most famous destinations of the North of Sardinia and the Costa Smeralda, or for reaching the La Maddalena Archipelago with its uninhabited islands surrounded by brilliant crystal-clear water. The Resort Cala di Falco faces a stretch of coastline that is full of little bays and beaches of fine white sand such as the one at Mannena, which can be reached using the shuttle bus service directly from the resort. Part of the Delphina Hotels & Resorts group, the Resort Cala di Falco also offers the option of choosing between 3 different styles of beachfront holiday in the North of Sardinia: the hotel formula (Il Borgo), the Residence La Rotonda, or the prestigious Villas dedicated to those who love luxury and privacy. These solutions have been created for holidays in Sardinia aimed at families with children, groups of friends and couples. Waiting for you at the Resort Cala di Falco for a relaxing holiday, surrounded by well-tended Mediterranean gardens, elegant little squares and hand-sculpted stonework, all just a stone’s throw from the lively atmosphere of the charming little town of Cannigione where you can enjoy a walk along the seafront between delightful crafts shops that are open all year round. The Resort Cala di Falco can easily be reached in about 30 minutes from the ferry terminal at Olbia and the international Olbia-Costa Smeralda airport. Resort Cala di Falco – Three solutions for your summer holiday in the North of Sardinia. The 4 star superior hotel Il Borgo is close to the main services and facilities of the Resort Cala di Falco and is set around a large swimming pool provided with umbrellas, sun loungers and with lifeguard service. Two restaurants offer delicious Mediterranean and traditional Sardinian dishes reinterpreted by award-winning chefs while there are lots of free time activities for young and old alike. The Residence La Rotonda, set around its own pool, is the ideal solution for those wanting to spend a holiday in comfort but with a little extra privacy. The town of Cannigione is a well-placed destination from which to reach Porto Cervo and the Costa Smeralda in just a few minutes or to go in search of the most beautiful beaches in the North of Sardinia. At the Resort Cala di Falco there is the option of spending a holiday in one of the 13 luxury Villas that are nearby but still part of the resort, and some of which have a sea view. This is a really comfortable and exclusive solution that guarantees you the maximum in freedom plus the convenience of using all the hotel’s services plus the Baby and Mini Clubs (some services may be charged for). Breakfast, Mediterranean Brunch and dinner in the resort’s restaurants can all be booked directly in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Resort Cala di Falco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Cala Di Falco Hotel Cannigione
Cala Di Falco Hotel
Hotel Cala Di Falco
Resort Cala Di Falco Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing