We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Orchidea - Worth it for the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Resort Cala di Falco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Villa Orchidea - Worth it for the view”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent three days half board in Cala di Falco hotel from 7th to 10th August followed by a week in self-catering in Villa Orchidea. We really enjoyed the hotel and found the staff to be friendly, helpful and most with good English. The food was of a good standard and the buffet was sufficiently varied that my vegetarian wife and my kids (11 and 14) all managed to find food to their tastes. The pool was excellent with sufficient sunbeds and a mixture of sun and shade to accommodate us every time we visited over the 10 days.

We preferred the self-catering Villa Orchidea to the hotel. The villa (and hotel) is right on the edge of Cannigione with easy access to a wide choice of restaurants nearby. When looking at the price of food in the hotel compared with local restaurants we felt there was better value elsewhere and the kitchenette gave us the opportunity to rustle up some pasta dishes that we could eat on the balcony.

And it's the balcony that made this villa worth the money. The view from Orchidea's balcony ranges from the Maddelana Islands on the left, with views of the hills and mountains down the gulf, with Cannigione and the masts of the boats in the harbour and the backdrop of more mountains. In the morning we could watch the sun rise over the hills on the other side of the gulf, followed by the procession of pleasure boats leaving Cannigione to explore Sardinia for the day while enjoying a few coffees and Sardinian pastries. After returning in the late afternoon / early evening we could watch the sky change colour and the creeping of shadows over the hills, admire the boats returning to Cannigione at different speeds for the evening while enjoying a Peroni and a salty snack or two. The dramatic and constantly changing view enjoyed in the warmth of the shaded balcony with family and unhealthy food made my holiday.

It's not cheap to stay in this area as it has not adopted the route of high rise hotels but kept its buildings sympathetic to Sardinian architecture. Although Cannigione had pretty much everything you would want in terms of restaurants, supermarkets, an evening market of local crafts, a bank, post office and car rental, ice cream parlours etc it remains a primarily unspoilt location. Inevitably this restriction of the number of visitors puts the price up. I went there wondering whether we would get value for money and for the combination of views, access to a nice Sardinian town, a swimming pool and self-catering, I felt my money was well spent.

The negatives were the slightly expensive hotel meals and drinks, and the huge buffet could have accommodated vegetarians better although as mentioned there was food that vegetarians could eat. I can't see why any hotel needs to charge for wi-fi and 5 euros per hour felt like blatant profiteering, especially as a couple of bars/cafes in Cannigionne gave you free access. Decent TVs with Sky and an option to watch in English for some American Kids TV channels was appreciated by the kids though a complimentary DVD player could easily have been included when you are paying over £400 per night just for the accommodation. But these were minor issues in the great scheme of things.

In summary, some things in life are worth paying a little extra for and if you want a great view, a pool, in walking distance for amenities, a stay in a place with a mainly unspoilt landscape and access to a range of great beaches, Villa Orchidea is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miles_Hendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    182
    48
    27
    7
See reviews for
276
171
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week recently. We found the staff all very friendly and helpful especially the staff at the Reception. We upgraded to a junior suite which we found very comfortable and quite quiet - (there were only 2 of us) The buffet food was excellent as was the a la carte restaurant.The location of the hotel was super as we could easily walk into the little town. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit this area - especially if you have children!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.down
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 12 days in July on half board basis with our two children 5 + 7. Hotel typically rustic Sardinian which is a good thing in my opinion, We stayed in family suite with sea view which had spacious living room with sofa beds suitable for kids and good Sky TV and a separate bedroom and bathroom. Huge outdoor balcony accessible from both rooms with table and chairs-lovely for drinking in the wonderful view. Air conditioning very good, room cleaned daily, towels provided for pool/beach. Staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent-buffet style breakfast and dinner with great choice and always a simple tomato pasta for the kids if all else failed. Restaurant overlooked the pool and beautiful scenery beyond so very pleasant dining experience. Small play park fo kids and lovely pool, cold for initial few seconds only. Main pool very deep which put my kids off going in but didn't seem to deter many others. Mini club organised for kids however not sure of level of supervision as kids seemed to wander into and out off the club whenever they liked. Disco for them at night and some pleasant singing/music to entertain the adults until about 11pm. Very family friendly hotel-lots of families with young kids.
Cannigione itself is a lovely town only 5 min walk from hotel with all the shops you would ever need on holiday, some nice places to eat, a nightly street market with a great buzz, a lovely marina and a kids funfair which was a big hit! The beach across the road from the hotel is small but fine for a short visit and has dedicated beds and parasols for hotel guests. We love the beach and choose to travel to a different beach every day accesssible in 10-20 minutes by car from hotel. I can not recommend doing this highly enough because there are some amazing beaches (and amazing boats!). We especially liked Liscia Ruia, Capriccioli, Baia and Manna (a free shuttle bus from hotel to this one). However the beach bars can be expensive for drinks/snacks so may be worth asking hotel to make pack lunch or do up your own.
We also had a great day at Aquadream water park which 15 minutes from hotel and took a 20 minute ferry from Palau to the Maddalena Islands which have more beautiful beaches. Palau only 20 minutes drive from hotel. We also took a ferry to Corsica from a port 40 minutes from the hotel and spent a pleasant day there-this is certainly a cheaper way of exploring these islands than organised excursions-just be sure to remember your passport for travel to Corsica.
Altogether we had a fabulous holiday and think this hotel is ideally situated to make the most of the beautiful Costa Smeralda.

Room Tip: Hotel does cover large area so request room closer to amenities-pool and dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a belated review having returned from a weeks stay on the 6th of July. We had a suite with sea view which was very comfortable and spacious. The reception we received on arrival was welcoming, friendly and efficient. This hotel has old fashioned values and client wellbeing and satisfaction seems to their priority. The food and choice is excellent along with the location which is a short and pleasant walk into Canigione. This is our 5th visit to Sardinia and our second stay in Canigione and we love it. In fact we are thinking of going back end of August. Would highly recommend, its brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumnutsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've just got back from a 2 week holiday first 2 weeks of July.

The main pool was very cold and our 3 year old son wouldn't go in it. I would echo what another post says in that the the baby pool is very separate from the main pool with no real seating around it which can make for a disruptive day.

The main pool is also very very deep which results in boisterous 5/6 year olds in the baby pool which is not ideal.

We were half board and got bored of the food fairly quickly. We swapped dinner for lunch some days and went into the town to add some variety. Strangely there is no ice cream option for pudding in the hotel restaurant so you need to buy them.

We were in a junior suite and the door had no lock on the inside the result of which was within minutes our son had escaped! Reception were straight onto this issue and fitted a manual bolt on the top of the inside of the door within the hour. Problem
solved. Bear this in mind if you have young children.

Overall we had a lovely time we did a boat trip to Maddelana and the islands and would recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one week in June with two young children. We chose it based on price and the possibility of a self-catering hotel option as recommended by Just Sardinia. Staff on reception were friendly and the restaurant waiting staff were efficient (sometimes too efficient!). The food was ok but a bit bland and could do with serving kids' icecreams every night! We used the shuttle bus to head to the beach each morning. I can imagine in high season you would definitely need a car to get around however.

Everyone raves here about the children's pool but we actually found the layout of the pool area quite frustrating as there were lots of sun loungers blocking access ramps and steps between the main pool and baby pool. You can't really see one from the other that easily as the baby pool is fenced off and very much 'apart' from the main pool which is something I'm not keen on.
The hotel seems to be trying to appeal to couples and families at the same time. It meant lots of moving around with two small children to keep happy. I am conscious though that we were comparing this holiday to others which had better pool areas however.

The apartments are really nice with hob and fridge - no bath. Just be aware there is no lift. This means that if your children fall asleep in their pram, you have to take them out of the pram and carry them up a flight of stairs if you're on the second floor, by which time they will be wide awake! We chose not to go for a ground floor option due to safety as there is another pool in the middle of this complex. We loved the grounds and spotting lizards and snakes (!) was great fun.

Overall, this is a fine hotel with friendly staff but personally, I would not go back as the resort lacked atmosphere. It's a fantastic country to visit and very beautiful, but with small children I've realised these are not the main things!

Room Tip: No lift if travelling with double buggy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

a delightful hotel with great and friendly staff.
a very good restaurant serving food of a high standard.
the location is perfect for the north east of sardinia
within 30 minutes of everywhere you would want to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
1.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
484 reviews
4.0 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
0.3 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#5 of 12 in Cannigione
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
623 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
1.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Cala di Falco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Cala di Falco

Property: Resort Cala di Falco
Address: Via Monti di Corru, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Family Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Cala di Falco 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Cala di Falco is a 4 star resort at Cannigione, near the Costa Smeralda in the North of Sardinia. A strategic location, just a few steps from the beach at Cannigione and an excellent starting point for visiting the most famous destinations of the North of Sardinia and the Costa Smeralda, or for reaching the La Maddalena Archipelago with its uninhabited islands surrounded by brilliant crystal-clear water. The Resort Cala di Falco faces a stretch of coastline that is full of little bays and beaches of fine white sand such as the one at Mannena, which can be reached using the shuttle bus service directly from the resort. Part of the Delphina Hotels & Resorts group, the Resort Cala di Falco also offers the option of choosing between 3 different styles of beachfront holiday in the North of Sardinia: the hotel formula (Il Borgo), the Residence La Rotonda, or the prestigious Villas dedicated to those who love luxury and privacy. These solutions have been created for holidays in Sardinia aimed at families with children, groups of friends and couples. Waiting for you at the Resort Cala di Falco for a relaxing holiday, surrounded by well-tended Mediterranean gardens, elegant little squares and hand-sculpted stonework, all just a stone’s throw from the lively atmosphere of the charming little town of Cannigione where you can enjoy a walk along the seafront between delightful crafts shops that are open all year round. The Resort Cala di Falco can easily be reached in about 30 minutes from the ferry terminal at Olbia and the international Olbia-Costa Smeralda airport. Resort Cala di Falco – Three solutions for your summer holiday in the North of Sardinia. The 4 star superior hotel Il Borgo is close to the main services and facilities of the Resort Cala di Falco and is set around a large swimming pool provided with umbrellas, sun loungers and with lifeguard service. Two restaurants offer delicious Mediterranean and traditional Sardinian dishes reinterpreted by award-winning chefs while there are lots of free time activities for young and old alike. The Residence La Rotonda, set around its own pool, is the ideal solution for those wanting to spend a holiday in comfort but with a little extra privacy. The town of Cannigione is a well-placed destination from which to reach Porto Cervo and the Costa Smeralda in just a few minutes or to go in search of the most beautiful beaches in the North of Sardinia. At the Resort Cala di Falco there is the option of spending a holiday in one of the 13 luxury Villas that are nearby but still part of the resort, and some of which have a sea view. This is a really comfortable and exclusive solution that guarantees you the maximum in freedom plus the convenience of using all the hotel’s services plus the Baby and Mini Clubs (some services may be charged for). Breakfast, Mediterranean Brunch and dinner in the resort’s restaurants can all be booked directly in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Resort Cala di Falco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Cala Di Falco Hotel Cannigione
Cala Di Falco Hotel
Hotel Cala Di Falco
Resort Cala Di Falco Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing