We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent serivce”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resort Cala di Falco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a belated review having returned from a weeks stay on the 6th of July. We had a suite with sea view which was very comfortable and spacious. The reception we received on arrival was welcoming, friendly and efficient. This hotel has old fashioned values and client wellbeing and satisfaction seems to their priority. The food and choice is excellent along with the location which is a short and pleasant walk into Canigione. This is our 5th visit to Sardinia and our second stay in Canigione and we love it. In fact we are thinking of going back end of August. Would highly recommend, its brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumnutsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 597 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We've just got back from a 2 week holiday first 2 weeks of July.

The main pool was very cold and our 3 year old son wouldn't go in it. I would echo what another post says in that the the baby pool is very separate from the main pool with no real seating around it which can make for a disruptive day.

The main pool is also very very deep which results in boisterous 5/6 year olds in the baby pool which is not ideal.

We were half board and got bored of the food fairly quickly. We swapped dinner for lunch some days and went into the town to add some variety. Strangely there is no ice cream option for pudding in the hotel restaurant so you need to buy them.

We were in a junior suite and the door had no lock on the inside the result of which was within minutes our son had escaped! Reception were straight onto this issue and fitted a manual bolt on the top of the inside of the door within the hour. Problem
solved. Bear this in mind if you have young children.

Overall we had a lovely time we did a boat trip to Maddelana and the islands and would recommend this.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one week in June with two young children. We chose it based on price and the possibility of a self-catering hotel option as recommended by Just Sardinia. Staff on reception were friendly and the restaurant waiting staff were efficient (sometimes too efficient!). The food was ok but a bit bland and could do with serving kids' icecreams every night! We used the shuttle bus to head to the beach each morning. I can imagine in high season you would definitely need a car to get around however.

Everyone raves here about the children's pool but we actually found the layout of the pool area quite frustrating as there were lots of sun loungers blocking access ramps and steps between the main pool and baby pool. You can't really see one from the other that easily as the baby pool is fenced off and very much 'apart' from the main pool which is something I'm not keen on.
The hotel seems to be trying to appeal to couples and families at the same time. It meant lots of moving around with two small children to keep happy. I am conscious though that we were comparing this holiday to others which had better pool areas however.

The apartments are really nice with hob and fridge - no bath. Just be aware there is no lift. This means that if your children fall asleep in their pram, you have to take them out of the pram and carry them up a flight of stairs if you're on the second floor, by which time they will be wide awake! We chose not to go for a ground floor option due to safety as there is another pool in the middle of this complex. We loved the grounds and spotting lizards and snakes (!) was great fun.

Overall, this is a fine hotel with friendly staff but personally, I would not go back as the resort lacked atmosphere. It's a fantastic country to visit and very beautiful, but with small children I've realised these are not the main things!

Room Tip: No lift if travelling with double buggy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

a delightful hotel with great and friendly staff.
a very good restaurant serving food of a high standard.
the location is perfect for the north east of sardinia
within 30 minutes of everywhere you would want to be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are a family of four (kids 3yrs & 3mths) so I scoured trip advisor before booking a holiday in June (out of school hols / good weather), we wanted Italy as we're foodies, to relax and be spoilt (half board), with beautiful seaside: this hotel / village was brilliant.
Using advice found on here, I contacted the resort in advance and got a cot (with full bedding) in the room (junior suite means 6ft wide bed plus lounge room with single, both rooms with tv and aircon). I also explained need for parking access and preference for view.Room 101 had HUGE child safe balcony, same size as suite with FULL SEAVIEW, total privacy, direct access to parking and 60 sec from pool/restaurant. We had fresh towels for beach & bathroom, plus robes DAILY.
Kids club was virtually 121 care due to season, excellent quality care and toys: small, shaded baby pool and games room adjacent to main pool so you can relax and still see the kids. Vast pool is beautiful with non slippery tiles etc, plenty of beds/shades and in full sun. High point is the privacy of resort, all set in lush gardens with beautiful colours and lots of open green space for games etc.
Ignore poor reviews on here, food is good, but as with whole resort focused on Italian market- which for my money is far better for food etc! Swap half board by having lunch at resort (salads etc), and head to village for great local cuisine, wander around port, play on fairground and shop at market on Friday nights.
TIPS: take extra strong mozzie spray (can get through clothes, badly bitten by pool at night). Take a bottle opener and buy wine/cola/water in local supermarket (drinks bit pricey at resort - ice creams ok though). Don't bother taking water wings/buckets as all provided. Hire car and get to Porto Pollo and Baia Sardinia beaches. As ever, don't eat anywhere touristy with a view, eat where the Italian families are in the trattoria, back street restaurants.

Room Tip: Contact in advance by email for cot etc Room 101 for family with car- or any with sea view are STUN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from staying a week in the resort booked through justsardinia.co.uk. Had a very relaxing week and this is definitely a baby/child friendly resort.
Positives:
Room: We stayed in a il borgo suite and had a good sized bedroom and lounge area, small patio area. Rooms were clean, in good condition, good size bathroom. Large bed which was comfortable. Had tv in lounge with sky sports, fridge which kept food at correct temperature, mini bar, no kettle. No bath but we improvised for our children and bought a cheap plastic blow up mini pool and they loved an al fresco bath. Large travel cot was provided which was clean and our daughter slept really well.
Nursery: At no additional cost you can use the nursery facilities which have a few high chairs, fridge, kettle, microwave. Fruit is provided and you can help yourselves to packet pasta, biscuits, semolina. In the fridge you can use milk, vegetable and tomato purée for the pasta which tasted really nice. Washing up liquid provided and i tended to bring all my washing up bits to the nursery to do. Kitchen was always clean when I used it.
Pools: There is a small pool for smaller children and babies. Adult pool. Both clean but not heated so the wet suit wrap we brought for our 10 month old came in handy. Pool nicely situated in front of the sea view.
Food: Breakfast was of a good standard with all the usual foods you would expect. There was no baby suitable cereal eg weetabix so worth bringing if you have a baby.
Dinner was delicious with a buffet selection of salads, pastas, meat, fish, fruit, puddings, cheese. As we had children on our trip who didn't settle well to go to sleep in the restaurant it was no problem to take food back to the room and sit round the table on our patio. The Terrace restaurant was very enjoyable, a relaxing six course meal and we paid an additional 7 euros each on top of our half board. Very good value.
Location: situated a few mins walk from cannigione which is relaxing and not touristy. Has a supermarket, great gelateria, restaurants, tourist information. We took a boat day trip from cannigione to la maddelena with our 10 month olds and this worked really well.
Negatives: No real negatives as we really enjoyed our trip. Unfortunately our car was broken into in the hotel parking area on the second to last day and our baby car seat was stolen. Our tour operators justsardinia were amazing and assisted with liaising with the police and loaned a car seat to get back to the airport. The hotel staff didn't seem too bothered and werent very supportive which was disappointing even thought another 2 cars were also broken into. We were informed this was highly unusual and so we were really unlucky but its worth remembering not to leave anything in the car.
No spa or gym.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The suite worked well for us as it meant we could put our daughter down for a sleep in the day or ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

great week in Sardinia. All of the resort staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our holiday special. Children's playground has 2 swings one with no back and a toddler swing and a sea saw. Large grass area for playing ball, tag etc. Toddler pool is shaded with lots of toys. Shallow end in main pool is not shallow enough for toddlers but great pool for children that can swim. Food at resort is excellent. Lots of good restaurants in walking distance. Local beach ok but there are so many fantastic beaches within 10 mins drive that are superior. easy drive from Olbia airport, takes about 35 mins no satnav required. 2 supermarkets with 5 min walk. We will return.

Room Tip: in self catering choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyonholiday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
1.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
563 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & SPA
4.0 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Li Finistreddi
Hotel Li Finistreddi
#2 of 12 in Cannigione
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#4 of 12 in Cannigione
335 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Cala di Falco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Cala di Falco

Address: Via Monti di Corru, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Family Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range: $203 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Cala di Falco 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Cala di Falco is a 4 star resort at Cannigione, near the Costa Smeralda in the North of Sardinia. A strategic location, just a few steps from the beach at Cannigione and an excellent starting point for visiting the most famous destinations of the North of Sardinia and the Costa Smeralda, or for reaching the La Maddalena Archipelago with its uninhabited islands surrounded by brilliant crystal-clear water. The Resort Cala di Falco faces a stretch of coastline that is full of little bays and beaches of fine white sand such as the one at Mannena, which can be reached using the shuttle bus service directly from the resort. Part of the Delphina Hotels & Resorts group, the Resort Cala di Falco also offers the option of choosing between 3 different styles of beachfront holiday in the North of Sardinia: the hotel formula (Il Borgo), the Residence La Rotonda, or the prestigious Villas dedicated to those who love luxury and privacy. These solutions have been created for holidays in Sardinia aimed at families with children, groups of friends and couples. Waiting for you at the Resort Cala di Falco for a relaxing holiday, surrounded by well-tended Mediterranean gardens, elegant little squares and hand-sculpted stonework, all just a stone’s throw from the lively atmosphere of the charming little town of Cannigione where you can enjoy a walk along the seafront between delightful crafts shops that are open all year round. The Resort Cala di Falco can easily be reached in about 30 minutes from the ferry terminal at Olbia and the international Olbia-Costa Smeralda airport. Resort Cala di Falco – Three solutions for your summer holiday in the North of Sardinia. The 4 star superior hotel Il Borgo is close to the main services and facilities of the Resort Cala di Falco and is set around a large swimming pool provided with umbrellas, sun loungers and with lifeguard service. Two restaurants offer delicious Mediterranean and traditional Sardinian dishes reinterpreted by award-winning chefs while there are lots of free time activities for young and old alike. The Residence La Rotonda, set around its own pool, is the ideal solution for those wanting to spend a holiday in comfort but with a little extra privacy. The town of Cannigione is a well-placed destination from which to reach Porto Cervo and the Costa Smeralda in just a few minutes or to go in search of the most beautiful beaches in the North of Sardinia. At the Resort Cala di Falco there is the option of spending a holiday in one of the 13 luxury Villas that are nearby but still part of the resort, and some of which have a sea view. This is a really comfortable and exclusive solution that guarantees you the maximum in freedom plus the convenience of using all the hotel’s services plus the Baby and Mini Clubs (some services may be charged for). Breakfast, Mediterranean Brunch and dinner in the resort’s restaurants can all be booked directly in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Cala di Falco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Cala Di Falco Hotel Cannigione
Cala Di Falco Hotel
Hotel Cala Di Falco
Resort Cala Di Falco Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing