We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Resort Cala di Falco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for a week in one of the self catering apartments in August. Having arrived very late at night/early morning the porter showed us to our apartment and then between him/bar staff arranged a simple, but very welcome meal for us at no charge. Likewise at the end of our stay our flight was late in the day but we were allowed to stay on site, use the pool and then staff arranged an hour use of a hotel room to freshen up before leaving, again at no extra charge. Staff were always pleasant and helpful.
The apartment was small, clean, simply furnished but comfortable, looking out on to shrubs and grass - although some of the apartments open directly to the pool, which in high season can be noisy and not so relaxing if you are traveling with small children. Also we only needed one single sofa bed, the apartment would be very 'busy' if you needed two!
Self catering worked well for us with a small supermarket and other food shops all easy walking distance and a great takeout pizza!
The local beach isn't fantastic but with two pools and the opportunity to book on the hotel speed boat to visit other beaches we didn't mind.
Really enjoyed a relaxing week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESLIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    174
    47
    24
    7
See reviews for
264
152
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Cala di Falco for 10 days in August in a ground floor suite on a half board basis.
Having read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little concerned about whether or not we'd picked the right place and my initial impression of the room - rather dark and grounds a bit overgrown wasn't great. However, the place really grew on me. The staff were very polite and helpful; the restaurant was very good with plenty of choice and the pool area was lovely, especially in the evening when many of the tables for dinner were outside. Our children loved it, especially the younger one who made full use of the kids club which was very well staffed. I don't think it's really a place for couples, there were lots of families and the pool area could get quite noisy but for us it was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AltonHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in Cala di Falco end of july for 10 days. Liked everything about this hotel. Very friendly staff, great location and nice food. We asked to be transferred to this hotel from Le Dune Resort. We arrived for an hour earlier than check in time so waited in the bar and were offered complimentary drink while waiting. It is very good that you can order your lunch for take away. We paid full board in advance but ended up traveling to different small cities and beaches, so as we were with kids it was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laiscute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything we expected and needed from a family holiday. The villas are well kept (if a bit basic in terms of equipment), the only complaint being the mattresses/beds and the grounds and communal areas very impressive and well kept. The hotel / resort is mid-sized which suited us just fine.
All is on the doorstep - lovely pool area (which never seemed to be too busy - we could always find a sunbed around the pool, at any time of day), good restaurant & bar, great kids club (which our 3 kids aged 9,7 & 5 really enjoyed - the staff spoke English) and kids mini-disco in the evening, expansive green grounds, centre of village/town only 5 mins walk - enough restaurants their to keep the interest going + marina, nightly market, supermarkets, etc.
A beautiful spot & worth having a car to see other parts of this region - Baia Sardinia well worth a trip - Porto Cervo also for a spot of "millionaire gazing" and dreaming - plus loads of great beaches within a short drive. Would also recommend a boat trip to the Maddalena islands.
The hotel & villas have a good mix of nationalities - mainly Italian, but also a mix of English, French and German families - making this feel like a cosmoplitan place.
Would highly recommend for families with children up to the age of c.12 as an ideal spot for family unwind!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidL186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If I could have stayed another month, I would have done so at the drop of a hat! Perhaps it was just the fact that we were such a large group and had found somewhere to house us all in tailored accommodation, I don't know what it was, but this was a truly relaxing and magical holiday.

I have brothers and sisters scattered around the world and so getting together for a family holiday with all of our children is always a wonderful experience, but a mission nevertheless. So instead of the usual massive villa, we decided to try resort accommodation which allows us all the freedom to stay in accommodation that suits our personal budgets and holiday allowance. We stayed for 2 weeks, and some of the others just came for one. We opted for a 3 bedroomed villa; my brother and his family did the same; my sisters both opted for 2 bedroomed apartments; my father for a hotel room and my brother-in-law for a one bedroomed apartment. All of them are within walking distance of each other but we still had the joy of our own space. The villa was lovely - just like the pictures. It was very well equipped and enabled us to have dinners for all 24 of us on ocassion. They were clean, bright and very well positioned. So we didn't have a sea view from the villa itself because it was on ground level, but so what? The local beach also isn't the best, but who cares when there are so many others to discover? We spent so much time at the sea and the pool it really didn't bother us at all. We did however have a great view from our roof top terrace although we didn't spend too much time up there as it was too hot.

The main resort has all the facilities you could wish for. A great pool (if I were to be nitpicky, the only thing that was slightly annoying is that you couldn't dive into the pool even though it's 2m deep); a lovely restaurant (although we only ate there once on the top terrace) and extremely polite helpful staff. There is kids club too and a show for the kids most nights which was great for my siblings who have younger children. You can also take your pool towels down to reception every morning and get new ones, they really didn't mind how many you took.

The Sardinian weather is just perfect. Hot but with a breeze every day so we never felt boiling. I strongly recommend you hire a car, we hired one from Milan and went over on the very efficient ferry. There is so much to see, so many beaches to explore and a car is a must. We also hired a private boat through the hotel that took our group of 22 (minus a couple of babies) for the entire day to all the Magdalena islands - being on our boat was far preferable to a charter with other groups. They also provided a very nice lunch and we took along an eski of drinks as we knew they wouldn't have enough for us..... Again, the captain was extremely accommodating and polite and the day was a real highlight - we got to some beaches that were almost unbelievable in their beauty.

As for dining out - we mainly went to local restaurants and on 3 occassions drove to the most amazing Agriturismo's. You need to get local knowledge from the taxi drivers which are the best ones - and I've forgotten the name of the most incredible one we went to in the hills, but happy to find out if anyone is interested, just contact me. La Randa was a good local restaurant in Cannigione and we went there a few times.

The town of Cannigione is just a short walk away and really very cute. It has everything you need including a laundromat if you don't want to use the hotel laundry service. Unfortunately the villa's don't have washing machines which was probably my only gripe. There are quite a few supermarkets close by if you have self catering accommodation and they are very well equipped and priced. There is also a local market in town on Mondays which is fun.

So, if you have a large group (or even if you don't!) and you are looking for flexible accommodation and good value for money in an amazing place - I highly recommend Cala di Falco. Our villa was Giglio and I can't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Cala di Falco is clearly popular with repeat italian visitors but mainly off the UK tour firm radar unlike its sister hotel the Marinedda at Isola Rossa. Which wasn't a bad thing for us. The staff speak English but the style is italian focussed and the ownership Sardinian so it"s maybe a bit more authentic than some euro hotels in the area. Food is excellent, with real imagination and effort and a choice of the family friendly buffet or the waiter served terrace. Both were good and the buffet had the bonus of enabling seating outside and by the pool. The rooms are standard Sardinian which for brits means fairly bare but which makes a lot of sense in the heat. We found it all scrupulously clean and were impressed by housekeeping and service, especially when we forgot something in the minibar when we changed rooms and someone brought our lost bottle to our new room. Just outside Cannigione, which is a more normal and less pricey village than its more glamorous cousins on the nearby Costa Smeralda, you can walk into the village with some nice shopping hidden away and during August when we were there a lively passegiata of locals and tourists with an evening art market by the harbour. Minuses are that the rooms are a bit more compressed together than at the Marinedda and the pool area can get a bit cramped and packed with splashing children and ballgames. A bit more room would be nice so people can manage a snooze. But a good hotel, well positioned for north east coast sights and we will return.

Room Tip: Tell them up front what you are looking for and they will try to accommodate but garden views are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KingstonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked an apartment believing it to be 4*, however the reality was very different. The apartment was badly furnished and poorly equipped. The welcome pack consisted of 1kg of salt(???), garlic, a lemon and some pasta. The room was not serviced for the week, apart from one change of towels. We asked about having the apartment cleaned and were told this would be done at a further charge. In fact there was a charge for sunbeds (15 euros per day)and the courtesy bus to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank widewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
1.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
0.3 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#3 of 12 in Cannigione
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
226 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Cala di Falco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Cala di Falco

Property: Resort Cala di Falco
Address: 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Family Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Cala di Falco 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Cala di Falco Dynamic beauty. The Resort offers three options: the Hotel formula ("Il Borgo" and "La Rotonda"), the Residence and the Villas At the gateway to the Costa Smeralda, just 300 m from the charming small town of Cannigione, with its pleasant small port and a number of shops open year round. One of the best known destinations in Sardinia about 30 minutes from the port and airport of Olbia, it faces the islands of the La Maddalena Archipelago. This hotel, in which particular care has been lavished on architectural detail, with exposed stone, hand-sculpted capitals and stylish small plazas, offers a welcoming Club formula, devoted to the full privacy of its guests. Its strategic position means that guests can reach the most renowned beaches in just a few minutes, not forgetting the high society attractions of the Costa Smeralda or the islands of the Archipelago, just a few minutes boat ride away on the hotel’s launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort Cala di Falco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Cala Di Falco Hotel Cannigione
Cala Di Falco Hotel
Hotel Cala Di Falco
Resort Cala Di Falco Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing