We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Micalosu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Micalosu
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is situated on a hill with a beautiful view of the sea. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. In fact the staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and help us with group logistics. They even gave our group a ride to the marina so we would not have to hire a cab for our group. The dinner we had on their veranda was excellent and had amazing views. Breakfast was also very good. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We recently had lunch at Ristorante Micalosu which is obviously located in Hotel Micalosu. The restaurant is advertised on a sign down on the main road leading into the village of Cannegione. I had been to Ristorante Micalosu about four years ago for a friend's wedding reception and at the time, the food was quite good.

Upon our arrival for lunch at 1230, the restaurant was empty and we inquired with hotel reception desk if the restaurant was open for lunch. The receptionist disappeared into the restaurant kitchen and returned to report that, yes, they were in fact open. The restaurant dining room is huge and adequate for receptions, banquets and special occasions. Tables were draped with flowing table clothes and covered seats, banquet style. The views from the restaurant are very nice and an outdoor covered terrace is ideal for outdoor dining.

Our waiter was very cordial; however, I had the impression the restaurant was not expecting guests for lunch. There was no menu and the offerings presented vocally by our waiter were scarce. There was only ONE seafood antipasto; Octopus with Potatoes. The waiter suggested a platter of mixed Sardinian cured meats, prosciutto, salami, sausage and pecorino cheese, olives and mixed vegetables in oil.

For the pasta course we had the mixed seafood spaghetti, which was nicely presented, though evidently not very fresh as I discovered upon return to my hotel room with an upset stomach. The only other pasta option was pasta in a tomato sauce.

The only desserts available were a cream caramel or ice cream. We had the cream caramel that was nicely presented and tasted ok.

This is the beginning of the summer holiday season and I don't believe Ristorante Micalosu is quite ready for the season. Downtown Cannegione if full of tourists and restaurants are already full. I won't be returning to Micalosu and suggest TA followers look elsewhere for dining options in this area of Sardinia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Micalosu, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013
Google Translation

Gent.le Cliente,
la ringraziamo per il suo commento, siamo felici che abbia apprezzato la sala ristorante ma allo stesso tempo siamo dispiaciuti e rammaricati che non abbia espresso le sue perplessità sulla nostra cucina durante il suo pranzo, cercando, come da nostra abitutdine di venire incontro alle Sue esigenze

Prendiamo sempre in considerazione i preziosi consigli dei nostri ospiti. Proprio per rispetto dei nostri clienti e per coloro che ci leggono in questa sede, vorremmo comunque, precisare quanto segue:

In fase di apertura abbiamo preferito elencare a voce le specialità del giorno proposte dal nostro chef tra cui:
Antipasto mare e terra, la scelta tra vari primi ( conditi con diverse salse: allo scoglio, salsa di gamberi imperiali rossi, alla bottarga o semplicemente alla salsa di pomodoro), la scelta tra diversi secondi ( grigliata mista di pesce, calamari arrosto, grigliata mista di carne o entrecôte alla griglia) ed infine il nostro dessert del giorno o in alternativa i nostri gustosi gelati sfusi di vari gusti.
Sottolineamo che tutti i nostri prodotti sono assolutamente freschi.
Teniamo a precisare anche che il nostro ristorante è sempre aperto anche per il pranzo, ma visto il periodo ovviamente il flusso della clientela è minore rispetto alla stagione piena, ma nonostante ciò in Hotel soggiornava un gruppo di scolari che hanno tenuto (forse anche un po’ chiassosamente visto che si trattava di bimbi ) compagnia il Vostro pasto.

Ci prendiamo ovviamente la totale responsabilità per quanto è accaduto e la invitiamo a tornare nel nostro ristorante promettendo il massimo servizio.

porgiamo cordiali saluti.

La Direzione e lo Staff dell’hotel Micalosu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we booked hotel Micalosu in expedia -it is 2 miles from Cannigione up a hill in Arzachena--the map in Trip advisor shows in the centre of Cannigione but same photos !
whilst in good location the hotel is tired --needs some tlc and guests --even in mid August not very busy so we were fortunate to upgrade to the best room with large balcolny and sea view - even then the shower and fridge not working Breakfast poor

Room Tip: in main building -1st floor with sea view balcolny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKEHLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed here for 7 nights. The website and Google Earth implied that the hotel was closer to the sea when in fact it's around 2 miles away (up a steep hill which would be dangerous to walk along at night.) Buses are non existent and taxis extortionate so you definitely need a car if you stay here. It's impossible to get from the airport otherwise. Don't rely on the ARST website for bus times!

The photos on the website are accurate and it is a beautiful place. When I saw the location of other hotels I had considered (some more expensive) I was glad I had chosen the Micalosu.

Our room was really small but right next to the pool with good views. It was quiet and relaxing, and the staff were lovely and very helpful. We saw inside some of the other rooms near ours and they seemed bigger. Breakfast was typical - croissants and little choice, but generally this hotel is on a par with similar hotels I've stayed in in Italy.

Cannigione is just a little place which is nice enough but there is no benefit to staying in one of the more expensive hotels in the village as uyou still need a car. There are lots of lovely beaches and places to see only 20min drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank murney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Katharina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank matteomagico78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fredbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
2.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
556 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Li Finistreddi
Hotel Li Finistreddi
#2 of 12 in Cannigione
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Li Graniti
Hotel Li Graniti
#4 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#4 of 12 in Cannigione
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
#5 of 12 in Cannigione
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Micalosu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Micalosu

Address: Via Ischia, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Price Range: $51 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Micalosu 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Micalosu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micalosu Hotel Cannigione
Hotel Micalosu Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing