We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2006

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. You cannot fault the location - it is set in very attractive gardens and it is only a short walk to a beautiful beach that is very clean and has a pleasant beach bar. However, I would only recommend it for someone looking for total peace and quiet as there is nothing in the immediate area other than a couple of small shops (about 20 minute walk). Cannigione is a pleasant town although small.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly although the service was a little haphazard at times but their English was very, very limited. The food was beautifully presented but a little bland and, as a vegetarian, the menu was somewhat limited.

The accomodation was disappointing to say the least. We booked a suite and although it could, technically be described as such the bedroom was small, the 'sitting room' just contained a couple of sofa beds and nothing else and the bathroom was basic. The shower (no bath) was not particularly clean and the towels were very rough. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no welcome package at all, no bathrobes and a very small mini bar which was very expensive (3 euros for a 1/2 litre bottle of water).

We did enjoy our stay but were glad it was only a week and, although we would visit Sardinia again, we would not return to the Stelle Marine

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    124
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
182
116
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2005

Area very quiet and Hotel falls down on entertainment in the evening. TV in rooms advertised as having satellitte, but the only english speaking stations were, BBC world news, CNN world news, German Sky sport when some english speaking commentators were on and German MTV when english artists on. Rest were Italian or German.
Rooms could have done with DVD machine + decent sized televisions. Maybe a radio with english speaking stations.
Buffet breakfast uninspiring - poor choices, not fresh fruit tinned, only eggs & toast hot, coffee ok.
Dinner in restaurant very nuvelle quisine = e.g. small portions & poncey. Matre D so softly spoken hard to understand him and lacked athority with the waiters and waitresses - walking round looking down.
Bar service laughable and slow - one girl very poor, but manager aloof at first then ok. Both suffered from short term memory loss a bit of a disadvantage.
Should move guy form beach bar up to main hotel and make him food and beverage manager.
Rooms great, beach, cleaning & house keeping staff exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2005

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and we had no problems with their understanding of English. The first room we were shown was a ground floor room - standard double - it was of an average size with a nice terrace, but smelt a little musty. After we spoke to the reception they gave us the keys to two further upper floor rooms to look at and we chose the one we liked.

On the first morning we went to the beach and found the expensive sunloungers and umbrellas. On enquiring about this we were told that they were included in the price of the deluxe rooms. The upgrade price was only slightly more than the price of the umbrellas! The staff were again very accomodating, taking out a plan of the hotel and showing us where the deluxe rooms were and offering us the keys to three rooms to choose from. We had a fantastic room with a great sea view, large bathroom, sofa etc in the room. The TV had more channels, including satellite channels than the standard rooms.

The fact that there were clean beach towels everyday in addition to the many in the rooms was a nice surprise. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed sheets were changed every other day. The walk to the beach was no big deal and was very pleasant through grasshopper and lizard filled fields with some interesting plants and flowers. There is a very reasonably priced beach cafe where you can get a range of snacks and drinks. The beach was cleaned daily by the hotel staff and smokers were given ashtrays - which is great because I hate seeing ciggarette butts all over a beach - as in Greece and other parts of Italy.

The only downside of the hotel was that it was a bit of a distance from Cannagione - too far to walk back from a meal out. The hotel bar was very nice though so it was possible to continue drinking there instead of risking drinkdriving. We inquired about taxis - but were told that because there was no taxirank in Cannagione the taxis come from Baia Sardinia or Porto Cervo - so the prices reflect this!! There is a funny land train thing that runs a shuttle between the hotel and Cannagione at set times. It costs 5 Euros per person for the duration of your trip and would be great for families if you don't have transport. It was less useful for couples dining out as the last train leaves Cannagione at 8.30 in the evening. Still we wouldn't have chosen to stay in Cannagione instead - the beach at Stelle Marine was so great.

All in all a fantastic stress-free holiday.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank firsttimevisitingUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed at Stelle Marine 31.08.-04.09.05, and we had a lovely time. We didn't expect the hotel to be so quiet and nice, and with this beautiful setting. We did only eat breakfast there, not other meals, and I do not agree with previous reviewer;There were several bread types, over six cereals, a lot of yoghurt types, fresh and canned fruit, ham, two types of cheese and italian salami. I have had continental breakfast several places in Italy, and this was a good one!

The nearest beach is clean and nice, and we got clean bath towels from the hotel every day. We do not care for sun chairs and umbrellas, so the beach was fine by us. We visited Liscia di Riuja on Costa Smeralda and a beach near Santa Teresa, both lovely. And sitting on our terrace looking at the stars in the evening was wery romantic!

The only problem with the hotel is the distance to the restaurants in Cannigione. The hotel offers bicycles to rent for 3 EUR per hour, but we didn't try that.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IngunnFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

Set in the low hills above a sandy beach, the hotel Stelle Marine is a mile or so away from Cannigione, the nearest village. The cleaning staff are examplary, the hotel is always spotless throughout. (U.K. hospitals could learn a thing or two) Staff are friendly and efficient although apart from the reception staff, not many have a grasp of english. The dining room offers nouvelle cuisine style catering and the chef provides beautifully presented, perfectly cooked food.
However, this Italian hotel understandably caters almost exclusively for it's Italian guests and the food, whilst wonderfully prepared offers few dishes recognisable to the English and almost none suitable for children.
The layout of the hotel means that the rooms are ranged up the hill in two story buildings. Our room was gained by climbing up 59 steps and was not the highest. The beach is approx. 300 yards distant and if you miss the Golf-cart 'shuttle' it can be a warm walk. Needless to say, one needs to be reasonable fit to stay here!
The hotel's beach is delightful, - translucent blue water with occasional rocky outcrops and bordered by coarse but comfortable sand. For a four star hotel, the charge of 14 Euros per day for beds and sunshade seems disappointing.
Despite (or because of) the above, after just one week at the Stelle Marine we were bronzed, fitter and slimmer - what more could you ask?

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavyCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

We have stayed in the hotel for a week and i should say that this is not a 4 start hotel, its a good 3 star hotel. The personnel is not very useful, they do not speak good English if at all. There is no night service, i mean if you want to order a drink of food it is not possible since the bar closes at 12.
upon your arrival you are allocated a table in a restaurant which you can not change, and if end up in the corner-bad luck. Breakfast is the same everyday-boooooring. There is no internet connection in the hotel, you need to have your laptop with you to be connected via the telephone line.
The food in the restaurant is good in the evening but the portions are very very very very very small. The beach is 10 minutes walk across the main street and you have to pay to use a beach umbrella and sun lounge (EURO 90 per week!!!!!). Rooms are very small.. And there is no satellite TV, just 5 channels.
Have a good holidays

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadushenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2005

Hotel Stelle Marine is a well above average hotel which is set in the hills
near Cannigione. The rooms and facilities are excellent, the service is
consistently excellent but is let down somewhat by a couple minor things.

The facilities were well thought-out and very very clean, the pool was
comfortable and bikes were available for rent which was convenient for the
short ride into Cannigione. The entire hotel is beautifully set into the
hills in materials and construction which is sympathetic to the natural
surroundings.

We love good food and like most people we like to sit outside and overlook
the sea, well one out of three is not bad...

The food WAS excellent, changed every day and was a five course meal
consisting of an dizzy array of ingredients such as octopus carpacio.
Portions were not huge but the quality of each individual dish was
consistently very very high.

The shine left by the food was somewhat taken off by two things, the
restaurant is completely enclosed with the few windows never open and the
seating policy is ridiculous. Hotel Stelle Marine had this policy whereby
you are allocated one table to you for the whole stay, if the table was
adjacent to a toilette or wall (which was our case) you were stuck with it
for as long as you stay. So at the end of a fun filled day on the beach,
sailing or biking it was a bit of a let-down to sit backs against the wall
facing the interior of the restaurant knowing that right behind you the
beautiful sunset was being missed.


A final thing that let the hotel down was down to one little man
called "Capo di Spiaggia" or head of the beach. He was rude and
condescending as he yelled at us from across the beach when we sat at a
chair which was "reserved", then he refused to back down and apologise when we explained there was no indication.

Anyway, the service was excellent and the staff was lovely and the help
behind the reception desk was probably the nicest and friendliest I had
seen for a long time. With a change to the restaurant policy I would definitely go back.....

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ermoalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
3.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.0 mi away
Resort Cala di Falco
Resort Cala di Falco
#1 of 12 in Cannigione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#3 of 12 in Cannigione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#7 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
#6 of 12 in Cannigione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort

Property: Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort
Address: Localita Mannena SNC, 07021 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cannigione
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stelle Marine Hotel Cannigione
Stelle Marine Hotel And Resort
Stelle Marine Hotel & Resort Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing