We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but could be anywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blu Hotel Morisco Village
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cannigione
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but could be anywhere.”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel does deserve its four stars for the facilities it has on offer and the cleanliness of the entire place, including the immaculate grounds, but in terms of the location and food it's more 3 star than 4.
We arrived at the hotel last Monday afternoon after a two and a half hour transfer (beware deals like ours which incorporate a flight into Alghero instead of Olbia, as it's 180kms drive!) and at first we were disappointed with the hotel's location in a small town but away from any beach or harbour. However, we soon found that these are only a short walk away and easily reached.
The hotel has its sister Blu Baia hotel next door and this offers a much quieter pool area and grounds which give a blessed relief from the noise and bustle of the Morisco's pool whiich being high season had lots of children. The food at the Baia looks to be a level above the Morisco, which tries hard with its huge buffet array to cater for all nationalities, plus all of those kids - as a result the food in the main is ok but not particularly good or very Italian. Note, the restaurant staff start to clear away well in advance of the published closing time, so if you snooze, you loose!
All in all, a good hotel with excellent staff, in a smallish town on a beautiful island with hundreds of safe beaches.

Room Tip: Many rooms on the back of the buildings ovelook the noisy pool area - room 221 is a good bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robireyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    358
    117
    51
    38
See reviews for
516
157
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

AI have been back only few weeks from this 5 days break and must say I liked the hotel.
The only thing that needs improvement is the food, as quantity, quality, variety.
Found that the dishes were quite small and some of the dishes were not enough for all the guests, so some had to look while others were eating.
Also the staff doesn't try to speak another language, I was there while there were guests from other countres and the animators only connected with the italian speaking guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarianoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Just back from a one week stay and it was a lovely, relaxing break. As I'm due to have a baby in a couple of months we wanted something quite low key and chilled out (not the usual packed, sight seeing holidays we have) and this was perfect.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the port where you can buy boat tickets around some nearby islands. This is well worth it, 40 euros each for the whole day out and if you want lunch on the boat it's an extra 5 euros.

There's plenty of restaurants nearby for lunch (we were there half board) and a supermarket and bank close by too.

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and only too happy to help. We had to leave at 6.30am and they opened the restaurant for us just so we could get a drink and some biscuits! They also helped book a car for us to hire for the day (we went to Arzachena and saw some archaeological sites).

The pool is very clean (although too cold to go in when we were there!) but take your own towel as you'll have to hire one from the hotel otherwise. They make you wear a cap too... These are available from reception for a euro.

Breakfast and dinner was pleasant enough. Buffets for both and whilst the breakfast menu was standard (toast, boiled/scrambled eggs, bacon, juice, pastries etc...) dinner was different each day we were there. My husband is vegetarian and there was something for him to choose from everyday.

The rooms were comfortable and the big enough.

I'd go back if I just wanted to relax. And we're going to look into where else there are other Blu hotels!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mezza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Facts: The hotel is sited in the village of Cannigione so no car is required should you just want to chill and relax by the pool or beach. It's spread over 3 floors so isn't a high rise monstrosity. It's an Italian chain hotel so has a very Italian flavour (staff, food, attitudes etc.) - great if that's what you want (we loved it) but not so if you're after mini England (roast dinner, chips, cheap beer, Sky, Rose & Crown). There's a 2 Euro bus train from outside the hotel to a nice beach 20 minutes away - well worth it. Be aware that there is minimal shade there unless you hire the parasol and loungers. While we were there the clientele were mainly Italian, German and Belgians with very few English.

Good points: The grounds are nice and so is the pool. The food is particularly Mediterranean - olives, aubergines, courgettes, fish (you get the idea) with a small German concession (sausages, cooked meats). The staff were all brilliant (reception, cleaning, entertainment, restaurant, bar, pool) - most speaking, apart from Italian, at least one of English, German or French, so no language problems. The staff excelled in entertaining the kids - if you bring any, they won't want to leave. Evening entertainment at the hotel was family based - groups of guests were dancing, singing (in tune, not karoake), playing cards, watching football on TV - almost like a huge family eveing in. Don't take this the wrong way - it was all very low key and fun without it being over earnest like holiday camps. For those after a bit more action, there were bars and restaurants in the village / marina a couple of minutes walk away. Our room was large and perfectly acceptable - be warned that the air conditioning switches off automatically when you open the balcony door (no matter how little).

Bad points: Breakfast a bit repetative but perfectly edible. Air conditioning's coolest setting was 20 celsius - may not be cold enough for some, ok for us. Sardinia isn't cheap but that's not the hotel's fault.

Would I recommend it - definitely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kennyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

very well run hotel, very clean, excellent and friendly staff, great pool, rooms are of a very high standard, meals are buffet,...evening meals very good. breakfast OK but no fresh juice or porridge. in general very satisfactory.Also:Internet connection €4 for 2 hours.fast connection ;Car hire at Antonio down the road reasonable.GYM next door OK but no Concept rower.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derikmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We had a great time, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms, and pool area were immaculate. What a gorgeous resort with a fantastic beach! The hotel provided free transport to the beach hourly which was great and its just a couple of minutes away. The food was fresh and tasty, and believe me I am fussy. We went to Corsica for the day and I have to say it was a great day out. Would I return? I have already booked again for September.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank simbisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was sent on a business trip and chose the Blu Hotel Marisco as I have had good experiences at Blu Hotels before. We were met with great hospitality from the staff and they were very helpful if we ever needed anything. We had breakfast and dinner included in the price of the hotel and were very happy with the service and the quality of the food as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tudorgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannigione
1.2 mi away
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
Blu Hotel Laconia Village
#3 of 12 in Cannigione
376 reviews
14.3 mi away
Marmorata Village
Marmorata Village
#11 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
906 reviews
82.5 mi away
Arbatax Park Resort - Borgo Cala Moresca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baja
Hotel Baja
#7 of 12 in Cannigione
163 reviews
13.1 mi away
Alessandro Hotel
Alessandro Hotel
#40 of 40 in Olbia
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo dei Pescatori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Hotel Morisco Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Hotel Morisco Village

Property: Blu Hotel Morisco Village
Address: Via Amalfi, 07020 Cannigione, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cannigione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cannigione
#3 Family Hotel in Cannigione
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannigione
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cannigione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blu Hotel Morisco Village 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Blu Hotel Morisco Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Hotel Cannigione
Blu Hotel Morisco Village Sardinia/Cannigione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing