We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More that I expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden Sea
Ranked #3 of 17 Vama Veche B&B and Inns
Bucharest
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More that I expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

In the few times when I book a 2 stars hotel I don't expect many things. But when I arrived at Golden Sea I discovered our hosts, a young family passioned about their work and thier guests. They were always attentive at our questions, ready to help us with everyting. The room was quite basic, but the atmosphere in the hotel is very pleasent. Free parking and Wifi. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This rickety hotel is basic but excellent value. Totally clean and spotless.
The owner welcomes you with open arms and is there to help.
The terrace is extremely pleasant and a little enclave away from the rip off bars and restaurants.
Beds are small singles so not for the larger person!
If you want real value for money without the luxury an ideal place for a couple of nights.
It's away from the beach so is quiet at nightimes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philipclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I really appreciated the people there. The owners and staff are very nice and helpful.
The rooms are simple and clean. Breakfast is good.
The terrace is very nice, especially on very hot days.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ioana_Purcarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is very good, and the prices are quite cheap. I spent a week over there with my husband and we had a nice experience. The best thing was the fact that if you need to sleep, you can do it without any problem. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean. To be honest, I don't think you can find a better place to stay in Vama Veche. And because for me the staff is very important, I must say the lady taking care of the place was very nice.

In conclusion, I liked the week I spent over there. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ioana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

In normal conditions I would rate Golden Sea with 1-2 stars. But! But this is Vama Veche, and if you visit Vama Veche you don't do it for it's beautiful beaches, the smooth sand or the amazing sightseeings. You know, you'll do it for "that sex, drugs and rock&roll atmosphere", so the place you're going to sleep is your last problem (Vama Veche is more about tent camping than about hotels).

With that in mind, Golden Sea is a 4-star accomodation, with clean and spacious enough rooms, mini-bar, air-conditioning, own bathrooom, tv, etc.. Although the walls are very thin and I could hear every bed crunch from my neighbour, the location is very quiet and I din't have any sleep issues.

5-stars for the more than friendly lady in charge over there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank webzro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

You don't come to Vama to stay at the hotel. So all you really need is clean bath, clean floors, clean sheets, quiet place when you NEED to sleep and air-con. Golden Sea has it all, served to you by friendly staff, at reasonable price. Very close to the main street in Vama, and directly on the National Road. Still haven't found any con.
PS: respect to the fact that it was the first hotel in Vama to close a deal with Booking.com

Room Tip: pay the extra 6 or 7 eur/night to get an A room! Breakfast on the porch is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mircheques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at this place for a few days at the end of summer, during week days. Therefore the price was really small comparing with a weekend night during august, for example. With the amount paid I was satisfied with it, I found it to be a budget type of place to stay. Small bathroom, but decent size room. The bed was also okay. The only thing I really hated was that the hotel had around it a small garden which would have been perfect if not for the different size, from small to huge, locusts. If you hate insects you'll hate it there, pick something closer to the beach. The rest was as expected for the price paid and the lady tacking care of it was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms that are upstairs are quieter and more shielded from the insects from the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiviaDrusilla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vama Veche hotels
0.5 mi away
Elektra Hotel
Elektra Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vama Veche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#2 of 3 in Vama Veche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elga's Punk Rock Hotel
Elga's Punk Rock Hotel
#1 of 17 in Vama Veche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Sea Star
Hostel Sea Star
#5 of 17 in Vama Veche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vampire Beach Hostel
Vampire Beach Hostel
#2 of 41 in Vama Veche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel BazArt
Hostel BazArt
#1 of 41 in Vama Veche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Sea

Property: Hotel Golden Sea
Address: Mihail Kogalniceanu 3, Vama Veche 907163, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Vama Veche
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vama Veche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel GOLDEN SEA – VAMA VECHE, having a 2-star rating, is situated on the E87, on the left-hand side when entering from 2 Mai, just before the main road leading to the beach in Vama Veche. The restaurants, clubs and the beach in Vama Veche are situated just a few walking minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing