We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel La John

Hotel La John
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La John
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this in August 2013 and I had a nice sea view apartment for the price of a regular room.
Very spacious clean apartment, good service, the owner is a nice lady, she offered me an excellent deal.
Excellent location (the best in Vama Veche) just in fron of "Stuf" and right on the beach.
The hotel has his own parking in the back, very important because it’s located in a crowded street.
A lot of restaurants very close.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No need of A/C as the except if you stay at the last level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel strong spot is that's situated central. Also this strong point is like Achilles knee because you can't sleep because of the music and noise. Rooms are not so clean and there is no air conditioning. The bath looks ugly and after people come from the beach you have a great chance to run out of warm water.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovidiudif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2010

What can i say i was very satisfied with my leisure at La JOHN probably because i didnt opt for the cheap rooms.Most of the hotel has 3 stars conditions but there is a another part in the attic were the cheap rooms are, but they dont fool you they tell you and show you the room BEFORE you take it, and if you dont like it you can choose another.
Most of all i liked the view it was fantastic no other hotel is so well positioned,i also had a very nice balcony with wooden chairs and table right in front of the sea.
Anyway it worked for me,but if you go try not to take the cheap rooms because the hotel has very good rooms and view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexx_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I've stay to "La John" hotel in Vama Veche village for three days durin August 2008.
Vama Veche and 2 Mai are 2 small villages near Mangalia, in the southern part of the Romania seaside. Usually with 100-150 RON (30-40 EUR) you will have very good conditions in pensions or fammily run small hotels classified as having 3 stars.
A friend of mine did the reservation at "La john" hotel. I've tried to find something about this hotel before going, but i didn't found too much on the internet - only some photos showing the outside of the hotel.
Taking into consideration the price, which was 160 RON per night ( 45 EUR) I've supposed that everything is OK.
When we arrived we found out that our rooms was in the attic, without air condition and having only a small window (something like 40*40 cm). The bathroom window was a little bite larger ( I thing 40*60 cm), but it was not enough for properly ventilate the room.
The walls were painted and looked like they didn't finish the decoration.
The plug was not isolated properly and it hanged out of the wall.
The carpet didn't looked to clean.
In the bathroom, the toilet was cleaned - i suppose, because it had something the a seal, telling that it was disinfected, the shower seem to be clan, but the wash-hand basin was dirty.
In my opinion the conditions were as for a one star hotel, except the fact that the room had its own bathroom. I would say that the condition are OK if you pay 50 RON per night per room(15 EUR)
I do not know if the rooms from the others floors are better, but at least the have large windows and some of them have beautiful see view

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — almos no windows!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balena_esuata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vama Veche hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vama Veche hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#2 of 3 in Vama Veche
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vampire Beach Hostel
Vampire Beach Hostel
#2 of 43 in Vama Veche
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elga's Punk Rock Hotel
Elga's Punk Rock Hotel
#1 of 17 in Vama Veche
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel BazArt
Hostel BazArt
#1 of 43 in Vama Veche
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Sea Star
Hostel Sea Star
#3 of 17 in Vama Veche
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensiunea Sara
Pensiunea Sara
#5 of 43 in Vama Veche
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La John

Property: Hotel La John
Address: Str Falezei 5-7, Vama Veche, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Vama Veche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Vama Veche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La John 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing