We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee Stop in Hedley”
Review of Hitching Post

Hitching Post
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Hedley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Coffee Stop in Hedley”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

stopped off here while on way from Penticton to White Rock with cousins who knew the place as a good & interesting place to stop. Good coffee and we were offered refills, the building has character and charm and is worth a stop if you are passing

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padureni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Recommended”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came by The Hitching Post through recommendation & we forward that recommendation
Tucked out of the way, a place to find full flavour good food & serious portions
- all set in a delightful old building with an energetic & engaging host.

If you have the opportunity then YOU simply MUST stop by for a meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Had good coffees”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped here for coffees. This nice old building has a heritage ceiling worth a look.
Very good service from the lady we assumed is the owner - and good coffee !
Liked the Hitching Post.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoverBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“hitching post june 2013”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

we stayed in hedley at the colonial inn, and a bit of searching on the internet suggested the hitching post would be an appealing spot for dinner. our hostess at the colonial recommended that we make reservations, given that we were visiting on a weekend.
when we arrived it was very busy, but our table was waiting. part of why it was so busy was the fact that there was a dinner party going on, with about a dozen people celebrating someones birthday. this kept the staff rather busy, and there ended up being a slight delay in getting our food order, but we were enjoying each others company as well as the ambience of the place, so we werent bothered.
there was a good selection on the menu, and our orders ranged from steaks to salad. the portions were large, everything was quite tasty, and we all left quite content. we would definitely visit the hitching post again, whether staying in hedley or just passing through. it was a treat to come across the place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton BC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Food !!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

the food & the service are excellent. I had a chicken burger ( real chicken breast ) salad and ice tea, and my husband had a loaded burger and a pint of beer and it was the best ever and only $25.90 . They are closed on Tuesdays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitching Post also viewed

Hedley, British Columbia
Princeton, British Columbia
 
Princeton, British Columbia
Hedley, British Columbia
 

Been to Hitching Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing