We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service!”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Simply: great food, great service! Peaceful, romantic and enjoyable!

A little pricey - but you're on vacation!!! Prioritize eating hear over anything else :)

Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Kevin B

Thanks for your brief but comprehensive review of Rainforest. Your experience was exactly what we try to create and your enthusiasm is very rewarding to us and all the staff. Hope you can come again some day.

John Verity, Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 532 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

Although some way from the North of the island, the food and service in this romantic and secluded setting are excellent. We have visited frequently since its opening some years ago and have never been disappointed. Soufflés and seafood are special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Piers A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Piers A

Many thanks for your review of Rainforest and your regular visits over the years. Rainforest celebrates its tenth anniversary this year - and many of our clients are repeat visitors who own villas or time shares in the northern resorts.

We appreciate the journey can take up to 45 minutes from the north of the island - so our objective is to ensure that it is "well worth the trip". Try it by boat one time - a little expensive but magical and often the highlight of the vacation - if you get a calm, moonlit night. We will also provide transport for six adult diners - but this must be arranged through the restaurant.

John Verity, Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Place has an excellent view in Marigot Bay. The service was excellent and the food was very good. We went on a Wednesday so we got to experience some excellent jazz. Defintely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Steve B

Many thanks for your review and recommendation for Rainforest. Glad you enjoyed the evening and the Wednesday jazz with Emerson & the Empress Ila.

John Verity, Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

There's a reason this is the top-rated restaurant in the area. It's cozy and romantic, with a lovely seating area over the water. Mosquitoes were not a problem, much to my surprise. You have to take the water taxi to get there, and reservations are required. The service was top-notch. Very professional and the server even showed us how to get better pictures of the food with our camera! The food was delicious, and artfully presented. Portion sizes were not as huge as other places on the island, but I disagree with other reviewers that they are tiny. All the flavors pair nicely and we were full when we left. Yes, the menu is small but I think it allows them to do each dish really well. It is expensive, but we felt it was worth it. Hope to return again someday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trav-Bug222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Trav-Bug222

Many thanks for your review - which highlights all the USP's of Rainforest. Nothing to add, except we hope you get the opportunity to come back again...!

John Verity, Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

If you go to Rainforest on Wed or Fri they have live jazz music. Also if you have a group of 6 or more they offer Free transportation. The munis was lovely and the food was delicious. The service was the best I've received on the island.

Thank firstladyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear firstladyrobinson

Thanks for your review of your experience at Rainforest and your particular comments about the service. The hardest thing to get right in the Caribbean is the balance between efficiency and friendliness..!

Just a small correction and a clarification. We have live jazz three nights each week throughout the year. In Summer, when we are only open the four nights Wednesday through Saturday, we have live jazz on Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday (not Friday, as you mention). Even though our dinner jazz provides a soft background, some diners want a night without live music.

The free collection programme is for six adult diners from the north of the island and must be arranged through the restaurant, as we have special arrangements with a pool of licenced local taxis to provide this service.

John Verity, Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing