We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful food and atmosphere”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is very evident that a lot of effort and thought has gone in the this established which makes for a really special evening. This is great example for other restaurants in St Lucia to follow.

Thank Alex8U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Alex8U

Glad you enjoyed a "special evening" at Rainforest - and many thanks for taking the trouble to file a review.

Rainforest is now on its Summer Opening schedule - open Wednesday through Saturday - but closed Sunday through Tuesday. The good news is that we now have live jazz on three of those open nights - Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday.

Full details on our website - but hoping to save wasted journeys. It's a long way to come from Rodney Bay or Soufriere to find us closed - and it has unfortunately happened.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Rainforest Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 560 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

this was a very fitting end to a couples trip my boyfriend and i took to St Lucia. We took a 9pm reservation to celebrate our last night together in St Lucia. He was bowled over by the ambience and the service. Rainforest Hideaway is definitely for couples, we left more in love with each other than when we arrived. Our hostess Rachel was very courteous and guided us through settling on the beautiful dishes on offer that night. It was a fantastic birthday dinner. Even though we took the two course meal I was full 1/4 way through dessert. That Marquez chicken was great and i was able to switch from the quinoa salad to the green fig balls, while my boyfriend dined on the mahi mahi which was succulent (Of Course i ate from his plate)!!
Judith you guys are doing a great job, perfect perfect location for getting close. A special thanks goes out to the Empress for sniging that Happy Birthday ditty to us both our birthdays are in June.
I cant stop talking about how fantastic our time was there!!! Will definitely be back. A great place for a wedding reception (hint hint)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaSana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear LaSana 2014

Rainforest has often been described as the "most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean " - and your experience would seem to confirm that...! Most of our tables for two are set on the water's edge - where its possible to forget about the real world, focus on each other and enjoy the calming environment of the Bay - with a minimum of intrusion.

We attract a lot of celebrations, birthdays, anniversaries, wedding parties and have had several couples get engaged at Rainforest - so we would be pleased to provide our magical, romantic location for your wedding and reception. Hope he takes the hint....!

John & Judith Verity
Owners - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Words can't describe how much we enjoyed RFH. From drinks and appetizers to entrees and desserts, not a single item disappointed. The service was fantastic, the view beautiful, and it was the only restaurant on the island that was packed with people and "lively" every night during the "Low Season" when we visited. We will have many fond memories of it, now thousands of miles away!

Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Lisa H

Many thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest. With each award we receive, people's expectations are raised further - so it is very gratifying when we receive a review where it appears we have scored on every element of the Rainforest Dining experience and created lasting memories.

Come back soon...!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This place we tried as we found the other places to eat OK but..........
this place delivered - and how
From arriving by ferry and met off the boat with a torchand a good evening, led to your table made to feel welcome and special by ALL the staff
small but magical menu, delivered to your table as a work of art and tasted divine
to much so that in 11 days we went there 4 times as
1 we were on holiday and no where match up to it in Marigot Bay
2 you could not fault it
3 The service was friendly and faultless
4 the food Oh the food
5Good things don't come cheap and it is so worth it
6 The jazz was good professional and Empress Illa so very good

Thanks guys it was superb

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sampford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Sampford

Wow....its not often that people come to dine at Rainforest four times during their short vacation. We recognise you have a wide choice - so this is the best feedback we can get..!

It doesn't matter what we say about our restaurant - what matters is what our guests say - and we are delighted to announce that Rainforest has just won its fourth consecutive annual "Certificate of Excellence" from TripAdvisor - which is based entirely on guest reviews. Thank you everyone who contributed.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent food, great service and view; a little pricy. Walked through the mangroves - someone should really remove the garbage - not a nice first impression

Thank meandb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Meandb2014

Many thanks for your review of Rainforest.

I am sorry about the garbage at the beach end of the boardwalk - but we are powerless to stop those who "control" the beach dumping dead palm fronds, old beach chairs and bits of boats near our pathway through the mangroves. We have moved it ourselves, brought in Government agencies and organised community efforts to clear it - but a few weeks later its back...! The "politics" in the Bay are complex, past initiatives for community management of the beach have failed and our appeals to Government to intervene on a consistent basis have been ignored - but we will keep trying

I am glad that this problem did not spoil your enjoyment of the restaurant itself.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing