We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Rainforest Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a lovely restaurant. You get a boat to get here from the other side of the bay. Its free and only takes a minute.

This is Caribbean find dinning and it was delicious. I recommend to start the lump crab cake and the tuna tartar. Also, the caramelised bananas, pancake and ice cream for dessert was incredible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tsyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mykon3

Glad you enjoyed the fine dining and thanks for taking the trouble to file the review. I hope you tried one of the main courses - as well as the starters and desserts..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hood river
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rated #1 in the caribbean”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is located on the same side of Marigot Bay where we stayed. We rode the water taxi one morning with the owner & He gave us a ride to Cul-d-sac, so we got to visit with him & learn about the restaurant. We actually never had enough time to make it there, But everyone we met who had been there say it is awesome. Next year we will make it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DannyboyHoodRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear DannyboyHoodRiver

Sorry you didn't make it to Rainforest - despite my best direct marketing efforts - but happy that you picked up good feedback about the restaurant and survived the bus journeys in St Lucia.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a meal - a tropical culinary experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As one of a party of 8 I enjoyed a pre booked dinner on the last night of our yachting holiday. We were moored in the bay and got the water taxi across to the restaurant and enjoyed a variety of delicious cocktails on the verandah as night fell. What a view to remember!

Staff were most attentive, polite and knowledgeable and we took our table when we had perused the menu at length.

Our host selected lovely wines and with the exception of one rather mediocre starter - the salad - (the choices were small but good - but I was unable to eat two because of allergy to ingredients - not the restaurants fault) the food was delicious, plated very nicely and served by a charming young lady who kept our water adn wine topped up too.

As well as our selected three courses we were given both an appetiser and an amuse bouche which were lovely, and complimentary.

A lovely evening and most certainly the best venue I have ever had the pleasure to eat in.

When the water taxi whisked us back across the water and we looked back wistfully from the deck.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Carol S

Thanks for your review of your evening at Rainforest. It would appear that we achieved the objective of creating an experience - rather than just "a dinner out".

So sorry that you were unable to enjoy the full range of dishes because of allergies or food aversions. Rainforest is usually very good at working around these problems, if we have some advance notice.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here on our last night in St. Lucia for dinner and it was delicious! We took the complementary water taxi across the bay to have dinner, which you will need reservations for. We got there about 40 mins early so we could enjoy a drink (Mango Daqueri) before we sat down as they were pretty prompt with our reservation. There are nice little tables by the water where you can see some fish while you enjoy your drinks.

The dinner was very good and we were seated right by the water which was a nice view. I had the crab cake to start, Mahi Mahi for main course and Creme Brulee for dessert. They also have a nice selection of wine on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Kate P

Many thanks for your review of your dining experience at Rainforest. Glad you enjoyed your pre-dinner drinks in the "aquarium bar" - where the fish seem to perform for the guests - highlighted by the underwater lighting. This has become quite a feature of Rainforest....

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very good restaurant stunning location and very good meal too. Water taxi to get to it. Very romantic setting

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Barbara T

Many thanks for your simple and precise review of Rainforest. We have often been called "the most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean" - given the unique setting in the mangroves out over the water - and the water taxi adds to the experience....leaving the "real world" behind for a few hours...

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing