We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and Service”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went to the Rainforest Hideaway Restaurant Saturday March 29, 2014. We had reservations for 7pm. It would appear that reservations are recommended because the restaurant was full with people waiting. We were seated and ordered our drinks and were served bruschetta and spring rolls complements of the chef. Both were tasty but small. You have a choice of a 2 or 3 course meal. I had the Caesar salad, the Mahi Mahi, and pineapple coconut cheese cake. The food was probably the best that we've had on the island and the presentation and service was great. We were entertained by a live jazz duo that added to the ambiance of the restaurant. If I had to point out a negative to the meal and the evening, it was the price. My wife had the 2 course meal and coffee and our total was $180 CDN.

Thank Willymakeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Willymakeit

Thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest. I'm afraid that the quality of service, food and ambiance that you have appreciated comes at a price - but it is only modestly higher than restaurants in the Bay offering essentially home cooking with largely untrained service.

We have a Fixed Price Menu. Your 3-course dinner was EC$160 (CDN$65) and your wife's 2-course dinner was EC$130 (CDN$53). With 10% service and 8% tax that adds up to EC$342 (CDN$139). Drinks must have brought it up to CDN$180.These prices are no greater than you would pay for comparable quality in Canada - and our costs are considerably higher - as almost everything to support our "fine dining" offering is imported with high freight and duty costs.

In addition all diners receive a bruschetta and an amuse bouche - compliments of the chef. These are admittedly small - but are intended to wet the appetite and bridge the food prep time - not to satisfy hunger..!

Reservations are definitely recommended. Most of our guests book in advance. We can then manage the seating programme so that guests are seated on or close to their reservation time and the kitchen is in sync to minimise waiting time.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 586 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Arrive by boat; have a cocktail looking at the fish then eat over the lagoon. Well cooked tasty food; bit more unusual that the other restaurants in the bay. Good wine list and excellent service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Jeremy C

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of Rainforest - and for your positive comments. We try to be a little bit different - creating an experience rather than just a dinner out....

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We came here after it was recommend to us by two friends.
It was excellent, so excellent we visited twice in the eight days we were in St. Lucia.

The setting was perfect, built on top of the water, you can sip your pre-dinner rum punch looking at the natural aquarium.
Over hanging rainforest branches, hung with lanterns, rustic tree trunk tables all add to the atmosphere.

Both times we visited there was live music, calypso steel drums, and then live jazz with a great singer.

The food was delicious e.g. scallops ceviche in a mango and chilli sauce, followed by coconut shrimps and risotto verde, and to finish, a light chocolate tart.

We had a view of the full moon, and the gentle hubbub of light jazz and lapping water made for a perfect Caribbean evening. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nikkismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Nikki_Shannon

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of Rainforest. The staff will be delighted to know that they have helped you enjoy "a perfect Caribbean evening".

The only small correction I would make is that the ceviche was lionfish - not scallop. To the best of my knowledge we are the only restaurant in St Lucia serving lionfish - the fish which is destroying all the Caribbean reefs and has no known predator here - except man. It is a wonderful light eating fish - once you know how to remove the poisonous spines. We pay our local fishermen a premium to bring us all the lionfish they can catch. Check out on line the damage this fish is doing to our marine environment and then feel good that you have contributed in a small part to the war against it....!

We have now added a third jazz night - Mondays with Alison Marquis and Friends (steel pan jazz) and Wednesdays and Saturdays with Emerson and the Empress Ila (keyboards and the most wonderful soulful jazz singer). Hope you will come again..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We walked on the Mangrove boardwalk from our hotel to RFH. Dinner is served on a covered dock - the food was mostly very good but fairly expensive, either as a two or three course option. You have to pay for bottled water, whereas the other local restaurants provide free tap water. The lemongrass grilled shrimp with vegetable risotto was very good - did not get dessert but others in our party devoured theirs, including bananas flambé. Service is very slow but friendly. The chairs are almost impossibly uncomfortable; tall stiff backs and flimsy cushions. Minor flaws could be rectified easily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chudsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Chudsy9

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. I am pleased you raise the water issue. Marigot - at the end of the longest and oldest pipeline in St Lucia - has a very erratic supply of piped water. Most hotels and restaurants augment their water supply with rainwater. This may be filtered but is nowhere UV treated to potable standards. No restaurant can guarantee the quality of water coming from its taps at any particular time - so we serve bottled water in both Rainforest and Mango Beach Inn - our guest house. We firmly recommend against drinking tap water in Marigot - as we are aware of many people who have suffered stomach upsets from tap water - and ice made from tap water.

Thank you for your comments about the chairs. Whilst this is the first complaint I am aware of, we will look into replacing the cushions - which are a few year's old. The upright backs are very good for posture - which aids digestion. I have eaten in the restaurant 3 or 4 times each week for the last ten years and have never felt uncomfortable in the chairs - but we will make an effort to find out what other diners think and make changes, if necessary.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

lovely evening in January - great meal and lovely setting - second time here and just as good.

It was my birthday and even got a candle in my pud and the waiters sang to me...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pusscatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Pusscatio

Thanks for your review of Rainforest - and for coming back again. Many of our repeat guests from recent years are telling us we are getting better - which is perhaps reflected in our 2013 listing by TripAdvisor as "One of the Top Ten Fine Dining Restaurants in the Caribbean" - the first year for us since 2008. We are thrilled to be back in the list...!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing