We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's GOOD but with all the hype, I was expecting exceptional. Restaurant is PRICEY.”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Came here for our last night's dinner in St. Lucia. Will all the reviews, I was expecting an exceptional dinner. The restaurant is located in Marigot Bay, they have their own water taxi to chauffeur you. If you're driving, you can find gravel parking at the end of the road (keep driving down the hill until you can't go no more, parking is on YOUR LEFT - the area is SUPER SAFE - walk through the gates and head to the MARINA. Let the attendants know you're here for the Rainforest Hideaway, they will call the water taxi for you. The ride is less than 5 minutes. Once there, a hostess will greet and seat you. I highly suggest you make dinner reservations as there are a total of 12 tables. We had the 3 course meal, 1st. Lump Crab Cake, 2nd Mahi Mahi 'Gratin', 3rd White Chocolate Creme Brulee. Each meal was GOOD but the dessert was PERFECT. The service was OK, we didn't feel pampered or anything special. The value paid was a tad high, all 4 of us including three drinks cost $385 USD. All in all, it was a good splurge. Unless you are having dinner around 5-6PM, there's not much to see once the sun sets. Just picture darkness with twinky lights. Enjoy your stay in St. Lucia!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjbcmjbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear mjbcmjbc

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. With every award and accolade we receive, the bar gets higher - and it is inevitable that we will fall a little bit short of expectations on occasions - but a close inspection of your review indicates that you found the food "good" to "perfect"...which is not really that bad..!

I was surprised at your comments about the light and views. It is the onset of darkness and the effect of the lighting and views over the water - surrounded by the twinkling lights of the boats and the villas on the surrounding hillsides - which creates the romantic atmosphere for which Rainforest is so well known.

We do strongly recommend reservations since we have been full most nights since last December - but we have more capacity than you suggest. Depending on the mix of diners on any one night we set out at least 14 tables and can comfortably seat and serve 40 - 45 diners at any one time.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 593 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This restaurant is an experience, not just a dinner night out.
The water taxi to get there was fun. The food was great as well as the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dfisherak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear dfisherak

Many thanks for taking the trouble to send in a review of your experience at Rainforest - for that's what we try to deliver - a memorable experience rather than just a dinner..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have travelled all over the world and dined at hundreds of gourmet restaurants. We have extremely high standards when it comes to food, wine, service and setting. Rainforest Hideaway is "off-scale" in all of these categories. We dined two different nights at this wonderful restaurant during our week stay on St. Lucia. We marvelled at how the owner and staff (John Verity, Wilson, Sophie, Lana and Tessie, etc.) were all able to create such a magical experience for our birthday celebration! We also really enjoyed the live jazz on Wednesday and Saturday nights with Emerson and Illa. The excellent food, service and ambiance and the view of Marigot Bay made this a truly memorable experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CosmicImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear CosmicImp

Many thanks for your enthusiastic review of Rainforest. All the staff look at the TripAdvisor reviews and will be proud to know they have all contributed to such an enjoyable experience - which apparently matches anything you have experienced in your gastronomic globetrotting..!

By contrast with the last reviewer, you clearly made the right choice of restaurant....for you.

We hope you will visit us again in the future

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The setting is amazing, and there was a live jazz band when we were there but the food wasn't very good.

Thank J_R_Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear J_R_Pierre

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food at Rainforest. Since it was difficult to respond to such a generalisation, I contacted you privately to get a better understanding of what you disliked. You responded that you enjoyed the food better at two other restaurants in Marigot Bay - which are good but essentially local restaurants serving large portions of "home-style" cooking. The obvious conclusion is that Rainforest - a totally different style of restaurant - was not the right choice of restaurant for you.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We visited Rainforest Hideaway last night, our last night in Marigot Bay before heading further south on the island.

Let's start with some positives - the short ferry ride over to the restaurant is romantic and the setting is stunning - it looks like it should be part of a James Bond film set. As we alighted from the boat we were given a friendly greeting and we were anticipating another great night in St Lucia.

We sat down and were given the drinks menu, food menu and the wine list. We ordered a gin&tonic and a passion fruit Bellini - it was 35 minutes before we received these drinks! We've travelled to the Caribbean many, many times and had already been on St Lucia for two weeks by this point so we're familiar with 'island time' but to wait so long for such simple drinks is ridiculous! In the meantime we were asked if we wanted to order our food and wine which we did, our wine was brought to the table before we received our first round of drinks! We chased our drinks order twice and each time were told 'they're coming' - no apology was offered when they eventually arrived!

We enjoyed our starters - Thai spiced coconut and pumpkin soup and pork tenderloin with potato and chutney. Both dishes were really, really tasty although I was surprised the pork dish was served cold.

For our mains we chose the beef which was delicious and perfectly cooked. The duck however was blue rather than rare as requested. Given the earlier delays I didn't want to send it back so I just ate part of it. When the waiter arrived to take our plates he asked me if I had enjoyed the meal and agreed that the duck was far too rare - he said that I could choose a dessert on the house which was a nice gesture.

The white chocolate creme brûlée I chose was divine - the highlight of the meal for me!

No sooner had I put my spoon down then a waitress whisked away the plate and produced our bill - from being ignored earlier on in the evening we now felt like we were being pushed to leave.

Having read all the positive reviews I can't help that feel we came on a bad night - we heard several tables around us complaining too! All but two of the staff were so surly we didn't feel comfortable expressing our disappointment whilst we were at the restaurant.

Overall I do think that the Rainforest Hideaway is worth a visit but I think the service needs considerable work.

1  Thank VLA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear VLA84

Thanks for your review of Rainforest - and please accept my sincere apologies for the service failures. We take such feedback very seriously and I have reviewed your comments with the General Manager today and he will review them with the staff this week. Fortunately these failures are very rare - as you will see from most reviews and the feedback we get in the restaurant

We are aware of the problems last Sunday night. Sunday is normally our quietest night of the week when we rest some staff. That night we were unexpectedly full - much of it with late bookings and "walk-ins" from visiting yachts - nearly 60 covers and our most senior waitress called in sick - leaving us seriously understaffed in both the bar and restaurant. Your waitress was running eight tables - well in excess of the level required to deliver the quality of service we are known for - and we recognise we had some problems. All we can do is apologise and tell you that we are working on both increased staff levels and technology solutions to relieve wait staff of time-consuming manual bill processing.

After five very difficult years due to the recession we are now experiencing a major increase in business and we find it hard to turn people away - when many are on yachts passing through Marigot and have only one opportunity to dine with us. We are working hard to match our resources to the upturn in business - but adding staff without diluting service standards takes time and care.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing