We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is hard to express what a wonderful evening we spent in this restaurant. I have had great food in other restaurants. This food was great and if that was all they had to offer I might say take it or leave it. However, the ambiance is exceptional. We missed the ferry but there was a path you could take to walk to the restaurant. It was a beautiful lead into the most amazing restaurant I have ever seen. The seating area itself is small and cozy but you are surrounded by the water in the bay. It is majestic to say the least. The staff were impeccable. We waited until Wednesday evening so we could here the live jazz music. The singer's voice was like velvet. We were two couples, so we had a good sampling of the menu and everything was exceptional. It is quite pricey--$130-$160 per person, but I think it is worth every penny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Ronald I

Many thanks for your enthusiastic review of Rainforest. As you point out, a great dining experience involves all of the food, the service and the ambiance. We are lucky that our location is so special that it generates an immediate "wow" factor upon which we can build the experience.

Just to clarify, the prices you mention are in East Caribbean dollars - EC$130 (US$48) for a two course dinner - which includes a complimentary bruschetta and an amuse bouche - and EC$160 (US$59) for a three course dinner. Whilst it is not cheap, I don't really think it is excessive for what we are so often told is the best dining experience guests have had in St Lucia....

Despite our recent listing by TripAdvisor as one of the Top Ten Fine Dining Restaurants in the Caribbean, we have no intention of raising prices in the foreseeable future...!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 653 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location is stunning with a view across Marigot Bay but you can see all that on the website. Still worth going to see for real though! The trip across the bay exciting. The service from the moment you arrive at the jetty for the ferry is exemplary. The food is good. I had crab cake which was exceptionally good followed by chilli shrimp (6 on a skewer) with a wet rice which was OK.
The memsahib had beautifully presented duck to start which was full of flavours. She then had the lamb which was good and cooked exactly as ordered with a vegetable rice dish which was good. Her pudding of banana and rum and raisin ice cream was delicious, so much so that the extra spoon brought for me to try some did not get a look in. The pianist and singer (it being a Wednesday) were extremely good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Alan T

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. We have many times been called the most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean - now our horizon is expanding to the world. A lot of our guests supply a good dose of their own romance - but the setting certainly helps...!

Hope you will visit us again.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Taking a water taxis to the restaurant was just the first of amazing scenery St Lucia has to offer. The food and service was excellent as was the female jazz singer and sunset view at dinner!

Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Kris C

Thank you for the review of your "amazing" experience at Rainforest.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant offers a unique ambience and is the best on the island in our opinion. Arriving by ferry added to the unique experience. The food was excellent and service was efficient and friendly. We were lucky to dine on a Wednesday when the jazz singer and pianist were playing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paveman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear paveman1

Many thanks for your review of Rainforest. So pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

We have live jazz with Emerson and the Empress every Wednesday and Saturday - and from November 16th we will be into our Winter Schedule - open all seven nights of the week

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this restaurant as our last night on the island and we definitely left the best till last. We arrived in Marigot Bay for sundowners before taking the short ferry ride across to the restaurant. It's a magical setting, secreted in the trees and with view back across this beautiful bay. We were treated to the best table in the house right on the water's edge. The food was exceptionally good, comprising a two or three course fixed menu, with lots of choice. In fact, it was a challenge to decide what to have. I started with the best crab cake I have ever had, my partner had the duo of ceviche of tuna and lion fish. Then onto swordfish and scrimp, both perfection. We don't normally make it to dessert but given how good the food was, we had to take the blunge. The white chocolate creme brûlée was absolutely amazing.

While the food alone is a reason to give this restaurant an outstanding review, the setting and staff all made for this being an amazing experience - without doubt one of the most romantic dinner locations on earth. So unpretentious and yet totally brilliant form the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave.

I am very fortunate to have eaten all over the world and in some truly amazing places. Rainforest Hideaway makes it into my top five without hesitation. if you only eat in one special place in St Lucia, make this the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redbeach748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear redbeach748

There is nothing I can say in response to your revue - except a sincere "thank you". In a week when we were listed by TripAdvisor as one of the Top Ten Fine Dining Restaurants in the Caribbean - your review is the "icing on the cake". I can feel the staff glowing with pride....!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing