We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most Romantic Restaurants in the World”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the most Romantic Restaurants in the World”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location is stunning with a view across Marigot Bay but you can see all that on the website. Still worth going to see for real though! The trip across the bay exciting. The service from the moment you arrive at the jetty for the ferry is exemplary. The food is good. I had crab cake which was exceptionally good followed by chilli shrimp (6 on a skewer) with a wet rice which was OK.
The memsahib had beautifully presented duck to start which was full of flavours. She then had the lamb which was good and cooked exactly as ordered with a vegetable rice dish which was good. Her pudding of banana and rum and raisin ice cream was delicious, so much so that the extra spoon brought for me to try some did not get a look in. The pianist and singer (it being a Wednesday) were extremely good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Alan T

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. We have many times been called the most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean - now our horizon is expanding to the world. A lot of our guests supply a good dose of their own romance - but the setting certainly helps...!

Hope you will visit us again.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Taking a water taxis to the restaurant was just the first of amazing scenery St Lucia has to offer. The food and service was excellent as was the female jazz singer and sunset view at dinner!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Kris C

Thank you for the review of your "amazing" experience at Rainforest.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in St Lucia”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant offers a unique ambience and is the best on the island in our opinion. Arriving by ferry added to the unique experience. The food was excellent and service was efficient and friendly. We were lucky to dine on a Wednesday when the jazz singer and pianist were playing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paveman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear paveman1

Many thanks for your review of Rainforest. So pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

We have live jazz with Emerson and the Empress every Wednesday and Saturday - and from November 16th we will be into our Winter Schedule - open all seven nights of the week

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible, definitely in my top five worldwide”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this restaurant as our last night on the island and we definitely left the best till last. We arrived in Marigot Bay for sundowners before taking the short ferry ride across to the restaurant. It's a magical setting, secreted in the trees and with view back across this beautiful bay. We were treated to the best table in the house right on the water's edge. The food was exceptionally good, comprising a two or three course fixed menu, with lots of choice. In fact, it was a challenge to decide what to have. I started with the best crab cake I have ever had, my partner had the duo of ceviche of tuna and lion fish. Then onto swordfish and scrimp, both perfection. We don't normally make it to dessert but given how good the food was, we had to take the blunge. The white chocolate creme brûlée was absolutely amazing.

While the food alone is a reason to give this restaurant an outstanding review, the setting and staff all made for this being an amazing experience - without doubt one of the most romantic dinner locations on earth. So unpretentious and yet totally brilliant form the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave.

I am very fortunate to have eaten all over the world and in some truly amazing places. Rainforest Hideaway makes it into my top five without hesitation. if you only eat in one special place in St Lucia, make this the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redbeach748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear redbeach748

There is nothing I can say in response to your revue - except a sincere "thank you". In a week when we were listed by TripAdvisor as one of the Top Ten Fine Dining Restaurants in the Caribbean - your review is the "icing on the cake". I can feel the staff glowing with pride....!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made my girlfriends birthday very special”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I booked this restaurant for my girlfriends birthday and couldn't of hoped for a more special night. As with the other reviews the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant is amazing. A jazz singer was performing and sang happy birthday to my girlfriend during the staff bringing out a lovely decorated birthday cake. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced. For the same experience in the uk would of cost much more. You can't visit St.Lucia without having a meal here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Darryl F

Many thanks for your very positive and motivational review of your experience at Rainforest. Our recent Travellers Choice Award has raised "the bar of expectations" once again - and we will continue to rise to the challenge...!

Many people celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and honeymoons at Rainforest and we always try and turn those occasions into special memories.

I appreciate your comment on our prices. Too often I have to defend our prices. We are not cheap, but St Lucia is actually a very expensive place to operate, given our dependence on imports. Many people assume it should be cheaper - being a lesser developed country - but that is not the case when the objective is to provide a world class experience.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing