We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as Good 5 Years Later”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a return trip to St. Lucia for us and we had such lovely meal at Rainforest 5 years ago we decided to try it out again! It was just as lovely if not better this time around - I had been raving about it to several other couples and was nervous it wouldn't live up to my previous expectations - but it was absolutely perfect!! From the cute little boat ferry across the bay you can see the Rainforest lit up - when you get off the boat you immediately notice how well the restaurant fits in with the natural landscape. There is a great area to watch the tarpin and jacks swimming since they have put lights in the water to illuminate everything. We were welcomed immediately by someone at the bar (owner perhaps?) who was very friendly and welcoming and got us a great seat at the bar for our first round of drinks. Its just nice to relax and take in the gorgeous surrounding. We moved to our table, right on the water and had such a wonderful server, she was attentive but not over-bearing, has the wonderful island laid back charm, and was just perfect all night. She even tried to hunt down some lobster for my boyfriend who was moaning and complaining about how much he wanted to eat it on his last night! There were two lovely amuse buches from the restaurant - first a really fresh bruschetta and next a wonderful seared tuna. Most people went with salads for appetizers and they were incredibly generous portions. I had the fresh shrimp and carribean risotto - so wonderful - the shrimp were perfectly spicy and the risotto was a refreshing compliment! We had another enchanting meal at the Rainforest - thanks so much - we hope well be back again soon!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank athena15AlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Athena15AlbanyNY

We are so very pleased that your return visit to Rainforest - after 5 years - exceeded the high expectations derived from your first visit. I am sure you will appreciate that when a restaurant has enjoyed a high reputation for many years it becomes progressively harder to maintain it - our splendid team have to work harder every day..! Myron, one of our local chefs and Jean Renee, our General Manager, were here five years ago - so great credit to them.

Jim Verity, the restaurant founder and first Executive Chef, returned to the UK in 2009 but will be very pleased to know that his "baby" is in capable hands - whilst he works hard in London to get his first Michelin Star....

We hope you will be just as impressed if you come back in another five years. Consistency is the most important characteristic a restaurant can achieve

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had heard that this restaurant was something very special, so waited until the end of our holiday, and it was well worth waiting for! The water taxi ride and the man in tuxedo who greeted us on the edge of the lagoon (full of large fish) reminded us so much of that James Bond movie with the crocodiles guarding the villains lair. The whole experience was amazing including the food and the live music. As we were leaving the lady who owns it came up and chatted to us and asked how we had enjoyed the meal. She really seemed to care about her guests and wanted to ensure we had had a good evening.
A first class restaurant. Can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CMT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear CMT50

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your experience at Rainforest - since it is an experience we try and provide - from the unique setting over the calm waters of Marigot Bay to the five-star service and gourmet food....

Whilst the James Bond analogy conjures up images of sophistication and elegance - we ask all spies and villains to leave their weapons behind. We don't want any 007 pyrotechnics or shoot-outs in the restaurant, as it can disturb the other diners.....

We hope you will come back and see us again soon....

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good location. Good service. Great fillet steak. As a smoker a little disappointed that despite being a completely outside area it was non smoking. But I respect that and that's the way the world is going. That's life I guess.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PETERHANSENLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear PETERHANSENLondon

I am very confused by your review. Our restaurant is usually judged on its ambiance, service and food - all of which seemed to satisfy you - but you marked us down to 3 stars because we don't allow smoking in the restaurant.....!

We allow smoking in the bar and outdoor areas, but our policy of no smoking in the restaurant is in keeping with accepted health and comfort policies. Our restaurant is not "completely outside" - as you suggest. It has full roof cover - which would cause smoke to accumulate.

I don't consider your review to be fair to Rainforest - but TripAdvisor has refused my request to remove it. However, I think most other prospective diners can make their own intelligent judgements on the issue.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful settings ever. It is hard to believe that they can consistently provide this level of food and service in the Caribbean. We enjoyed it so much that we went two nights in a row.

1  Thank Lpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Ipierre

Thanks for your positive review of Rainforest and for coming twice during your short stay. We appreciate that you have a choice of restaurants - but every night counts on a vacation and you don't want negative surprises. Consistent quality is what we strive for - and the staff will derive great motivation from your comments

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent presentation of food, amazing atmosphere and the manager of the restaurant was extremely friendly!! Better than any place I've eaten in the states!

1  Thank Bina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Bina H

Thanks for coming to Rainforest two nights in a row - and for your very positive and motivational comments. Come back and see us again - from your proud photo it looks like there will be more mouths to feed then - but our staff are great with kids....!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing