We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Hideaway”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Hideaway”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a meal here during our recent holiday and were struck by by how romantic the place looked and its setting. At night the place just becomes magical lit with just the right amount of light. The service was very good and the waitresses all attentive without being too in your face. The meal was good, but to be fair I've eaten better for the price of the food. We only ate here once because of the price, but unlike us if you are not on a budget then its worth a couple of visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sapperchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sapperchris

Thanks for your review of dinner at Rainforest. You certainly appear to have caught the "Marigot Magic" - the experience we try to create.

I am not sure if your comment about the price was relative to other meals in St Lucia - or internationally, but I suspect the latter. Our prices are competitive with the other fine dining restaurant in St Lucia - but are determined by our costs - which are generally higher than mainland US or European locations. Almost everything from soap to steak and forks to fridges has to be imported with high freight and duty charges.

Given this constraint our main challenge is to give value for money - and your five star review would appear to indicate satisfaction was achieved.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Absolutely loved this place, visit over a year ago but still tell friends about it now. We had a table right on the water and it was beautiful. The food was great as was the service. You must go if you are in St Lucia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mel746

Thanks for your review of Rainforest. We have had several repeat customers tell us recently that the standards today are higher than 2-3 years ago - which is very gratifying for the present team -as the "bar was already set quite high".... I hope when you return next year you will find we are doing even better - as we are constantly trying to improve every aspect of the experience.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect evening in every way”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to eat here on our Wedding Anniversary but as this is the off season they were closed on Sun. Thankfully we had another great excuse and went on my Birthday on Thu instead. The whole experience is amazing. We had seen the restaurant during the day when we booked but at night it is transformed by the lighting in the water and hurricane lamps on each table. We had a table right in the corner with a great view of the bay. The service was just the right balance of attentitive without being overbearing and the food from the first canape to dessert was a superb mix of presentation and flavour. All in all a fantastic evening and even a candle with my caramelised bananas!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tea-and-Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tea-and-Sea

Sorry we were not open on your anniversary. So pleased we could help you celebrate anyway - but you don't need an excuse to dine at Rainforest - beyond a desire to experience fine dining in a romantic waterfront setting. Every night is a celebration at Rainforest..........

Glad your evening was "perfect in every way". The staff see all the reviews and will find this very motivational.

John Verity
Owner- Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Eat!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fine Dining with live Jazz background music, fabulous!

We did not have far to walk as we were staying at the Mango Beach Inn just behind the restaurant.

Open Wednesdays through to Saturday and highly regarded, it was a ‘must try’ during our 4 night stay.

The food was outstanding, the staff were attentive without being intrusive, our waitress new the dishes and was able to explain them to us.

We had a great table on the corner overlooking the bay.

Price wise, this is top end dining, so the whole experience needed to live up to expectations which it did.

Marigot Bay has some lovely restaurants but the Rainforest Hideaway quite rightly stands at the top of the pyramid.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Lisa_n_Grant

Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review of Rainforest - and sharing your experience.

Thanks also for highlighting our Summer/Low Season opening programme - open Wednesday through Saturday and closed Sunday through Tuesday until November. We want to avoid people turning up on nights we are closed...not a good experience..!

We still have live jazz with Emerson & the Empress on Wednesdays and Saturdays - when it is best to book - even in the Low Season.

.......and I understand we are seeing you again this week after your island-hopping adventures. Looking forward to hearing all about it.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most romantic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Most likely the most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean. In order you reach the hotel you have to take this nice quaint ferry which is very romantic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Irvine S

You hit on our number one USP - the romantic setting - chosen by so many of our diners for their special occasions, anniversaries, birthdays and weddings. We try hard to back it up with excellent food and service - to give the complete experience we call Marigot Magic...

Thanks for dining at Rainforest..!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing