We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night treat”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Late night treat”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We took the ferry from Marigot Bay over to Rainforest Hideway for dessert and coffee. The Manager of Oasis recommended this restaurant as is parents own it. Was probably the most expensive and least impressive of all the restaurants we went to in Marigot Bay. We share 2 desserts and one was lemony...nothing to rave about. We did get attached by mosquitos so be sure to use the spray that is provided. if staying at the Oasis you don't need to take the ferry .. its a short walk and well lit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FluffyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Fluffy Toronto

Sometimes you just pick the wrong restaurant.......you tried two of our strongest products. Our coffee is, without a shadow of doubt, the best in the Bay and those who get as far as the desert course are generally very positive about the flavours and presentation. Our Head Chef prepares the deserts personally. Maybe whatever you consumed before the "late night treat" had influenced your taste buds a little.....

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a stunning setting”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A beautiful setting and a mouthwatering menu. Could The Rainforest Hideaway live up to its promise? Well, yes it could. The food was a delight, especially the seabass, and the service was formal but friendly. We liked it so much we went twice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jonesrhodes

Thank you for your review of Rainforest. Because of the reviews we have received most patrons expectations are set very high - and it is a constant challenge to meet or exceed them. The staff will be delighted to know we did so on both occasions that you dined with us.

The Chilean seabass is a superb fish - much higher quality than local fish - but we create a Caribbean dish by partnering it with a Creole croquette and a local apricot sauce - quite different from the apricots we are accustomed to. I spoke last evening with a Chef visiting from Teluride, Colorado - who was very enthusiatic about the dish.

Many thanks for your feedback

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When you're finally tired of fried fish and jerk chicken...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a lovely meal! Really delicious, French style, and impeccable service. A great way to feel properly spoiled.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank planitiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear planitiki

Thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest - which the staff will find very motivational. Thanks also for staying with us for your honeymoon at Mango Beach Inn - the "sister" facility to Rainforest - and for the lovely review of your stay there.........

Best regards

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all we had read.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Seeks to be very special and didnt quite make it. The setting is romantic but having booked a few days earlier and asked for a waterside table we were disappointed to find that they appear not to reserve tables, when we arrived at 7.30 all the best tables were already taken and we were plonked in the middle with no views. The food was good and very well presented but as a word of advice the risotto isn't, it's standard rice. Whilst expecting locally caught fish we were commended the Chilean sea bass as 'really the best option for fish' and the profiteroles were poor- it was explained that making choux pastry is very difficult in these temperatures. To be fair they replaced this with cheese cake but if its difficult why put it on menu? It's clearly very popular but be wary of having too high an expectation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Kevin H

After 24 consecutive 5 star reviews in the last 6 weeks we were bound to let someone down - and I am very sorry that it was you..! I am pleased that you found the food good and very well -presented, but I must address your other comments.

We cannot reserve specific tables as we are a very small restaurant - under 50 covers - and everyone wants a "waterfront" table. Our policy is that we give diners the best available table at the time they are seated. Since we start serving dinner from 6.00pm - and we are very busy in season - by 7.30pm it is likely that all the waterfront tables have gone. 7.30 is the most popular seating time. A suggestion is to eat earlier or later - when the first tables have turned.

Having said that, the restaurant is rectangular and bordered on three sides by water - the bay to the south and west and the dinghy dock to the east with its famous underwater lighting giving an aquarium effect. The restaurant is 17 feet wide. We have tables on the waters edge and a few along the median line - but no table is more than 9 feet from the water....even this must be closer than any other restaurant in St Lucia. As for "no views" - I think you mean "no clear and unobstructed views" since you can actually see the water in at least two directions from almost any table.

With respect to the local fish, we continue to have major problems in sourcing a consistent supply of good quality local fish because of the methods of fishing here. Most locally caught fish sit in the bottom of a pirogue fishing boat for half the day - exposed to the full heat of the sun without ice. It is way past its best by the time it is landed. We do serve it - but the Chilean sea bass is much better - as you were advised. Our policy is to use the best product and create a Caribbean dish by using local ingredients in the sides and sauces. A Chilean who visted recently raved about the sea bass..!

I do not understand your comment about "standard rice" - as we only use arborio rice in the risotto. Perhaps that evening it was not up to normal standard - for which I apologise.

Your point in respect of the choux pastry is well taken. Our kitchen is too small to have a separate, enclosed, air conditioned pastry section and we should not attempt such a difficult dish in such circumstances. All the other deserts on the menu at present are superb - so we will drop the profiteroles.

Thank you for your feedback.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dance to elegant jazz and dine on finest fare”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ferried over the bay at sunset to experience a magical Marigot Bay evening of fine dining, and dancing to live Jazz.
Drinks, wine, dinner were all spectacular.
Dinner for four, 455.00us + tip

Do not miss this Very special evening,!

Joe & Sarah

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coastalbiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Joe & Sarah - "coastalbiztravel"

I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your evening at Rainforest Hideaway. Our Live Jazz nights on Wednesdays and Saturdays are very special - and it sounds like every element of your evening came together perfctly.....magic in Marigot Bay..!

Many thanks for your review. Feedback that will leave the whole team glowing with pride..

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing