We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality restaurant”
Review of Rainforest Hideaway - CLOSED

Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the waterfront in a bay described by American travel writer, James Michenor, as the "most beautiful bay in the Caribbean" - Rainforest blends into the mangroves and has been described in the Wall Steet Journal as one of the most romantic restaurant locations in the world. Serving Sophisticated Caribbean food in a rustic and casual atmosphere - with service and food standards to match any international restaurant - the theme of Rainforest is "Magical Dining in Marigot Bay". Let it be the highlight experience of your St Lucia vacation. Now open every night of the week in High Season and five nights in Summer. Live Jazz on 5 nights - Monday, Wednesday Thursday, Friday and Saturday all year round. Special Taxi arrangements from Rodney Bay - call 286 0511 or 451 4485 for Taxi details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Attractive entrance from the water, great ambience, great service and great food. More expensive than the rest but worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshyL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear AshyL23

Many thanks for your very positive review of Rainforest. We are probably the most expensive dining option in Marigot Bay - but we have been continuously listed as TripAdvisor's No 1 restaurant in Marigot since we opened in 2004. Most diners conclude - as you have - that the experience is worth the cost.

However, we are by no means the most expensive in St Lucia - as you will know if you have tried some of the fine dining restaurants in the north or in the better hotels. St Lucia is not a cheap place to operate as almost all our consumables, fixtures and fittings are imported with high freight, duty and tax charges.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    217
    93
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Blase' Rainforest Hideaway Meal”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were not that impressed with the food at Rainforest Hideway. It was just average food with a very expensive bill. 2 dinners and 2 drinks and the bill was $177.00 US

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thewisefem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear "thewisefem"

I am sorry that you were not impressed when dining at Rainforest recently.

It is difficult to respond to the generalisation "average food" - since 84% of our reviews rate the food as excellent. Recent TripAdvisor reviews have used the adjectives "gourmet", “delicious”, “fantastic”, “memorable” and “great” to describe the food. Whilst we do make mistakes from time to time with individual dishes, it is rare that we get a negative “across the board” assessment.

Many things affect a dining experience including the mood of the diners and other factors beyond our control. Some diners chose the wrong restaurant – expecting a different food experience or underestimating the cost. I would suggest that US$177 after the total 18% tax and service costs (US$150 net) is not an unreasonable cost for a three course dinner for two – including the complimentary bruschetta, an amuse bouche and some drinks. You would pay much more in some of the better hotel restaurants and in some of our fine-dining competitor restaurants in the north of the island.

John Verity
Owner – Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food is excellent here. The surroundings are lovely as well...you are eating on the dock. We were served bruschetta and a special treat as an complimentary appetizer both times we ate here during our vacation. Our server, Steven, was very good and attentive. It was a positive experience and so nice to have as an option to which we could walk to from our room at Marigot Beach Club, or of course ferry to on Rainforests Hideaway's ferry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twiggystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Twiggystick

Many thanks for your positive review of Rainforest. Our staff see all the reviews and will find yours very motivational.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We dined here for my girlfriend's birthday. The food and service was excellent. Reservations are highly recommended, I called early in the morning the day that we went and the only available table they had was at 08:30 PM. We arrived about an hour early and got a few drinks by the bar. We were finally seated at 09:00 PM.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GedasP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear GedasP84

Many thanks for your positive review of Rainforest. You make the point that reservations are recommended. This is particularly so on Wednesdays and Saturdays when we have our popular live jazz with Emerson Nurse and the Empress - but any night in the present High Season - if you want to get your first choice of seating time.

A tip.....make your reservation directly with the restaurant, if you can. On a number of occasions recently we have had hotels assuring their guests that they have reservations but actually failing to confirm them with the restaurant.....which can be very embarrasing....!

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality, slightly over priced”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wonderful location and atmosphere and a must do place. The food is very good but prices are high but worth it for the experience. Watching the fish attracted by the lights as you sip your rum is a perfect end to the day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVerity, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Darren H

Thank you for your review of dinner at Rainforest and your appreciation of the atmosphere and the therapeutic effects of the "fish ballet" in the under-water lighted lagoon - very relaxing....

I have responded previously to point out that our prices reflect the real cost of doing business here - where almost everything (except some fish, fruits and vegetables) have to be imported - incurring high costs of freight, duty and taxes. Our margins are consequently lower than those achieved by restaurants in Europe and North America.

Our prices have not increased in the last five years and until two years ago we never had a comment about high prices. However, our average spend/head has fallen nearly 15% - reflecting the recessionary world we live in today and people's sensitivity to costs. We cannot reduce our prices - but we can strive to give best "value for money" - a point appreciated by most of our TripAdvisor reviewers.

John Verity
Owner - Rainforest Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Hideaway also viewed

 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing