We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Week in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nature's Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nature's Paradise
Ranked #2 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

We had an amazing stay at Nature's Paradise Nov 10th-16th. The innkeepers, Dave and Wanda, are more than just the owners of the property. The love they have for the island, for the small touches in the gardens on the property and for making everyone's stay a magical one comes through in a way we have never experienced before.

We stayed in the Avocado Cottage. The cottage have the most amazing views of Marigot Bay. The interior of the cottage is so lovely. There is a four poster bed that sits above beautiful terra cotta tile along with ample closet space. There is a kitchen area with a full fridge, oven, and all the tools needed if you chose to cook. The bathroom is very spacious and the water runs on solar power. There was always enough hot water for a leisurely shower.

We were initially concerned about not having A/C, but let us assure you, we were quite comfortable without it. The combination of the fans and the evening breeze was more than enough to provide a good night's sleep.

More importantly, Dave provides customized tours of the island. He takes you on a tour that you will never see with a tour company or on your own. His combination of experience and personal charm gives you an experience that we doubt we will ever find anywhere else. Quite simply, he knows every tree and every flower on the island- not to mention the best places to visit and dine.

Speaking of dining, Wanda provides a wonderful and fresh breakfast. All the fruit is hand picked and we would echo the praises that her breads have gotten on this site.

We recommend renting a vehicle to get around on the island. A 4 wheel drive vehicle is the way to go, as the road up to the resort is a hilly one.

We highly recommend staying at Nature's Paradise. We hope to come back and stay and see Dave and Wanda again. Enjoy!

  • Liked — The hosts, Dave and Wanda
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camuspooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
221
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

Just back from St. Lucia and Nature's Paradise; can't wait to go back again, so that I immediately booked another week for December and bpught the tickets...it's so nice, so perfect balance of nature, good food, great diving, beautiful landscapes araoun any corner...hard to describe properly. It's simply great. Nature's Paradise is the perfect place to be too, so good integrated in the lanscape, with such nice hosts as Dave and Wanda, always encouraging, best mood, super breakfast. We just enjoyed sitting in the terrace, or at the pool. Can only recommend it!! Don't miss this terrenal Paradise!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, location, views
  • Disliked — Access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pablor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

Unfortunately for us Natures Paradise was not quite right.
Understandably we came just after a hurricane, but were prepared for that, living in the Caribbean ourselves we are prepared for most things and wanted to show our support.

Sadly, though we felt that Natures Paradise was not ready for us.

When we arrived and were shown to our cottage we thought wow! Fantastic views, nice size balcony. Then we stepped into the cottage and we felt very differently, the place looked worn!
Curtains were faded, old bed linen was supplied and although they had stocked some requested items in the fridge, for a couple arriving on their honeymoon, some effort with some flowers maybe would have been nice or even clean cottage would have helped.

We have both worked in the hotel industry ourselves (husband owns cottage rentals) so we know standards, from 2 star to 5 star so, when you find encrusted screens that have not been cleaned since installation, filthy hampers to place your towels in the bathroom and generally your area lacking that sparkle, you think to yourself “oh what have I done”

Even the basic chore of unpacking was bad, limited hangers (5 old ropey wire hangers) and a wardrobe that smelt like their cat had left a message, is not helping a bad situation get any better.

We arranged for our car hire the day after arriving and we both wished to have had it there upon arrival instead.

Our first night we made do with sitting on the balcony and discussing our next move. This experience lasted all of 10 mins the mosquitoes were out in a frenzy, and it was not until we inspected the gardens the following morning that we found the reason, a barrel had been left directly under our balcony filled with water breeding the buggers.

The gardens at natures paradise are lovely and well looked after, but generally the location is tired looking, even the swimming pool area, is truly worn out, and requires a facelift.

The following morning over breakfast we relayed to David that we would not be staying for the rest of the holiday (we were booked for a further 6 days) he was very polite, but informed us that we would not be getting back our 50% deposit. At this point we did not wish to argue the point and wanted so much to leave we cut our losses, jumped in our hire car and went looking for a hotel. For me sleeping in my vehicle would have been better.

Maybe our standards are too high since we live and work in the Caribbean but even for basic accommodation you expect somewhere to be clean and free from breeding Mosies!
Needless to say Bay Gardens in Rodney Bay was less money and far, far cleaner!!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — The rooms were tired and worn out requires a good clean and better linen, new curtains and a good clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank SpicyGrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naturedave, Owner/manager at Nature's Paradise, responded to this review, October 8, 2007
After four years of 4 & 5 star (mostly 5, see reviews below) ratings we were truly taken aback upon reading this review. It needs a little context. The couple did arrive a few days after we were hit with Hurricane Dean (category 2) and while we did not suffer any major structural damage, it took us 2 weeks to fully repair & clean up the property. We did contact them after the storm to let them know our situation. The cleanness of the cottages is our first priority & we have always received the highest points for it (see below). Our towels (100% Egyptian cotton) and linens are of the highest quality. We love to put fresh flowers in the cottages, but it was not possible after the storm. Part of the problem is that Nature’s Paradise at Marigot Bay was not what this guest was looking for. They were much happier in Rodney Bay, which is quite different then the Marigot Bay area. We are tropical, lush and private. Rodney Bay is big, has many more hotels and appeals to a different market. We take all criticisms and comments seriously, but we feel that this letter was unfair, and judging from the overwhelmingly great reviews that we have received on Trip Advisor, so do most of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

So you’ve decided on St Lucia. Are you actually interested in St Lucia, or do you just want to stay in some soulless resort for a week? Here’s the thing: you can do the resort, but you could be anywhere. You won’t know anything about the place, the people or even the real atmosphere of the island. You sure won’t be travelling, and you are missing out big time.

It doesn’t have to be that way! It is actually so easy to find alternatives, and they don’t come better than Nature’s Paradise, located in picturesque Marigot Bay. Dave and Wanda have prepared two self contained cottages high on a ridge for you, nestling among tropical gardens, with your own balcony to sit on while you gaze at the boats sailing by far below. You do need a four wheel drive to get up the hill, but it’s definitely worthwhile as soon you’re sipping a cool drink by a pool with incredible ocean views and hummingbirds zipping by.

Dave and Wanda make it easy: they can arrange your car for you as well as any trips or tours you are interested in, serve you a lovely breakfast of fruit, fresh bread and if you’re very lucky, Wanda’s banana bread, and generally give you any information you need to enjoy your stay.

The location is excellent, as it is only a 5 minute rattle down the hill to Marigot Bay, equipped with small supermarket, restaurants, a local dive shop and of course the marina. It’s lovely to take the small boat which acts as a ferry across the bay to eat, and the whole place has a low key vibe which is refreshing when compared to the dense hotel cluster at Rodney Bay.

Do get on the road and explore: the island is beautiful and if the people initially look a little forbidding in expression once you’re out of the tourist zone, all it takes is a wave and a smile to overcome their reservations. We got lost plenty of times, and always enjoyed asking for directions and sharing a joke. It was always nice to come home to our little cottage though and share our experiences with Dave and Wanda over breakfast the next morning.

If you don’t usually do independent travel, this is a great introduction. You will be comfortable, safe and relaxed, but will have left the screaming hordes far behind. If you are used to doing your own thing, you'll relish the friendly welcome, lovely location and privacy that Natures Paradise ensures.

  • Liked — location and pool
  • Disliked — hot in summer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hulamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Portevs, July 21, 2007, Massachusetts

My husband and I returned from St.Lucia last week, after two weeks there. What a wonderful trip!! The island is simply beautiful, its people, views and food - unforgettable.The best experience, however, was Nature's Paradise. The place, a small b&b, is beautifully located above Marigot Bay. The views from the cottages, decks and the pool are amazing. Our hosts, Wanda and David woke us up every day with good breakfast and music. They were able to suggest a place to see or a thing to do every day. Both of them know the island very well and did the activities or trips themselves. Also, they have all the resources and know a lot of local people to make the vacation very exciting.Therefore, at the end of our vacation we had an impression that we know the island not only as tourists, but as its residents as well.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank travelers050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

What a fantastic way to celebrate a 40th birthday! Nature's Paradise is a perfect little gem in hiding. Our host David (sorry we missed Wanda!) was SOOOOOO accomodating and so graciously answered all of our questions. We found the drive up to the cottage part of the adventure of the island!

We wanted to explore the island and see as much as we could see. David totally steered us in the right direction and we were able to do tons! Definitely recommend climbing the Gros Piton but, beware!

The breakfast hit the spot every morning! We have never had such perfect mangos - YUM! And most of the fruit David and Wanda grow themselves, so even more special.

The adventure to Soufriere with David was well worth it and ended at the greatest (and very private!) little warm mineral springs pool - beautiful.

Be prepared for the humidity at night time. We got tired by the end of the week of some locals approaching us to buy items - very gracious at taking no for an answer, but they are not shy about approaching you.

Here are the highlights we hit:
Marigot Beach
Reduit Beach
Pigeon Point (fantastic views from Fort Rodney)
Castries Market
Eudovic Art Studio (very unique St Lucian art)
Soufriere Adventure with David (be sure and ask about the snakes)
Hiking the Gros Piton
Jalousie Beach
Hiking in the Millet Reserve

Restaurants we visited:
DooLittle's (good for lunch)
Cafe Claudes (pumpkin ravioli - YUM)
Dasheene (fantastic view)
Chateau Mygo (best place for cold, cheap Piton Beer)
Jambe de Bois (try the Callalou soup)
Rainforest Hideaway (very romantic)

  • Liked — Private cottage, amazing views and plants
  • Disliked — Humidity at night
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

TRANQUILITY: Free from agitation of mind or spirit. free from disturbance or turmoil.

This is how I would describe our too short vacation stay at Nature's Paradise, a small bed and breakfast inn, with just two guest cottages, Banana and Avocado, nestled in the hillside at the top of a cliff and separated by lush vegetation for privacy. Our hosts, David and Wanda Wallace greet us with enthusiasm and kindness, not to mention a wonderful, traditional kiss on each cheek welcoming us to their lovely island home and our quaint little cottage. Just a short walk past the main house is a built-in pool that makes us smile. The view from each overlooks the gorgeous Caribbean Sea. It's paradise, indeed.
No television, newspapers, Internet or phone enabled us to truly relax and enjoy this most beautiful setting. Inside Avocado, was a lovely four-poster bed with mosquito netting (yes, there are mosquitoes and no-see-ums, so do not forget the bug repellant,) a very comfortable mattress, full kitchenette and a large bathroom with solar-heated water. Very hot water.
An additional floor or ceiling fan would have been welcomed as the cottages are not air conditioned and it was pretty humid after showering. There is a very nice porch/deck to sit or lounge on while listening to the birds, reading a book, or watching the many boats sail into scenic Marigot Bay.
Here is where you will find Discovery, a new resort complex with many guest rooms, restaurants and shops that opened in January 2007. Yachts and boats of every size from every where dock here and it’s nice to simply walk around and talk with the most friendly people you will ever meet – the residents of St. Lucia.
Miss Wanda, pronounced with a "V", is a former modern dancer and martial arts expert. She provides
a lovely but simple breakfast of fresh island fruits (love the soursop and passion fruit juice,) bread and cheese, and really good coffee that are served in the main house. It's a perfect time to discuss the day's activities, as David, formerly of NYC, is quite knowledgeable regarding St. Lucia's hidden treasures.
It's like having your own personal travel agent right on the grounds and at your service. If it's possible, David will arrange anything you may need; a jeep rental or reservations, and if you should find you need your iPOD charged, he'll take care of that, too, but bring an adapter if you need to plug something in.
Also remember to bring extra camera batteries to a place like this as replacements are not easy to find. There will be many, many beautiful photographs to take here and there is no question you must rent a jeep to explore. Specifically, the road up to NP, is, well, shall we say, not in the best condition. Fasten your seatbelts, it's gonna be a bumpy ride.

We took David's Soufriere tour. It's a great way to learn about St. Lucia's history and allows for an easy, informal way to get to know our gracious and most interesting host. A trip to incredibly beautiful botanical gardens, lunch at Ladera and a short nature walk ends with a relaxing dip in a semi-secret volcanic pool.
Hikes in the rainforest, a snorkel trip at the majestic Pitons, scuba diving at The Pinnacles, dinner at any of Marigot Bay's several restaurants and simply doing nothing at all was how we spent our week in St. Lucia. It was truly not enough time.

We loved having Nature's Paradise to ourselves, as we were the only guests that week. The cottage was kept clean and tidy and we were also given beach towels to use during our stay. A swim in the pool was a true bonus after a day of adventuring. A skinny-dip under the almost full moon was, in a word, blissful.

Wanda is also a skilled gardener, but she instead credits her helper with the obvious hard work. However, her knowledge and the abundance of the lovely flowers and plants that surround the property provide the proof of her green thumb. It's just serene and calming here. Even though the island was suffering through a drought, it was still quite green and lush in the many parts we traveled.

This is a quiet place for relaxing and doing things a little bit out of the ordinary. If you want to be waited on while you lounge by a pool bar, Nature's Paradise is not for you. However, if you long for the peacefulness that nature offers and you have a willing spirit to explore and challenge yourself, than a trip to St. Lucia and Nature's Paradise is quite likely to be a memorable experience.

If I lived here, and I do fantasize about doing just that,
I think it might be a great investment to open a brake and tire shop. But if I was to open a bed and breakfast, I have the perfect name: “Tranquility,” by way of Nature's Paradise.
Enjoy. We certainly did.




















  • Liked — location and the hosts
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dleepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.4 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
6.3 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
7.0 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 8 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Paradise

Property: Nature's Paradise
Address: 1 Marigot Heights, Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nature's Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view. Avocado Cottage and Banana Cottage are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think "Tropical Paradise". Our lush Tropical Gardens surround your private one-bedroom Cottage. Palms and Bougainvillea offer shade and color. You awake in the morning stunned by the breathtaking brilliance of the Caribbean - a turquoise like you have never imagined. PARADISE on a BUDGET Your Cottage is designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. The French Provincial Four-Poster Queen-Size bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The roofing is high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The bathroom features a glass block shower and a built-in hairdryer. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views. Our Tropical Breakfast (Mon - Fri) begins at eight and lasts until you have finished dining on our fresh breads & muffins. Fresh fruit is always available. The seasons dictate which fruits are on the table. Dining is in the Villa. NATURE'S PARADISE Eco-Lux, Adventure, Relaxation, Romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nature's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature`s Paradise Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing