We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“delightful vacation”
The living room in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room in the evening
External view of the house and swimming pool The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The living room in the evening
External view of the house and swimming pool
The Master Bedroom
The swimming pool at night
The house
The living room at night
The Second Bedroom
The Kitchen and Dining Area
The terrace in the evening
View from the living room balcony of the Caribbean Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
gvp2015
Bloomfield, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful vacation”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 3 week stay at White Turtle was terrific. The sun shone, we watched white yachts sailing on the blue ocean, the infinity pool invited swims, the gardens bloomed and the birds were abundant. The house is situated up the hillside, overlooking a green valley. Beautifully designed, light-filled and open planned, with every detail well chosen from the fat towels, bright red kitchen utensils to the stainless steel bathroom accessories! We were attentively well looked after, every wish was granted, and infinite information on the Island was provided to us, where to eat, what to see, how to get there and where to explore. We ate delicious Caribbean meals cooked and served by Davie. Certainly a delightful and peaceful vacation, away from the crowds but easy walking distance to Marigot Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkerfam...
Oxon uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant house!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely location for the whole of St Lucia including visiting the volcano, pitons, Ti ki bay for snorkelling. Located just above Marigot bay (like English harbour in Antigua) is fabulous yacht haven with lovely cafe and shops. The house has great views of the sea, friendly visiting birds, and the best bit was the pool which the children loved!!!!!! We loved the decks and views and swimming at night with the pool lit up was fantastic. The house had all mod cons and the lady who looks after the house locally was very helpful and kind. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and the decks
Liked least: no issues
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pusscatio
Surrey England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“lovely spot and fantatic sunsets”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at White Turtle in January - the house and view are lovely. sitting on the deck watching the sunsets with a sundowner was just a perfect end to the day. The pool was lovely - few bits from trees in the pool every morning but hey that's what you would expect and need to accept to have such a beautiful garden surrounding the pool. but its no hardship to stand in the sun and skim the pool with the net provided - quite relaxing!. The quality of the bedrooms and furnishings is very good. Quite a hike up the hill from Marigot Bay but you can get a taxi if you want at night.

A welcome pack of a few essentials would have been welcomed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: watching the sunsets from the deck
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapperchr...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great home - Fantastic bay - Do little”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Both my girlfriend and I stayed here recently for 2 weeks and apart from the mosquitoes (it is rainy season) found this to be the perfect base to see the island from. We were met at the house by Maggi and she explained the alarm system, safe, washing machine , dishwasher etc and also gave us pointers as to the restaurants located in the bay (thanks Maggi) The house is built over two stories and is designed to give maximum living space and wonderful views from the balconies. It has everything that you need for a comfortable stay - iron, board, high power hair dryer, safe, fantastic kitchen, DVD's (not that we needed them), small collection of books, snorkel gear etc. We had coffee each morning on the balcony and we were surrounded by bird life, we even had a resident bird visit us for his daily bread. I had never seen humming birds before but they are fascinating to watch from the balcony, albeit a little tricky to photograph.
The pool is just the right size for a good swim and for horseplay after a day sight seeing. We took the recommendation from Dan (the owner) and hired a car through his contact on island (it was Auto Rentals - Anthony). It was cheap and reliable but not after a lot of hassle getting a driving permit. If you book through this chap then ensure that he gets you a driving permit before you take control of the car. We landed on the Saturday and were picked up by the car rental owner in the car and driven to the house. when we asked about a permit he told us that we would have to get it ourselves from a police station in Castries, we didn't want to do this as we were not willing to drive without a permit. It was Monday before he came back to the house with a permit!! that said , he is a really genuine personable chap who we both really liked. The internet wifi was appreciated (it allowed me to answer work emails at the poolside surreptitiously without my girlfriend knowing - come on we all do it!!)
A couple of small niggles that we had were the pool could have been cleaned more often , it appeared that the pool was only cleaned once whilst we were there, by the end of the second week we had a few dead bugs and leaves at the bottom of the pool - don't let that put you off though as it was still swimmable. Another small niggle is that the ipod dock in the lounge didn't appear to work with our ipod / iphone - we had to plug the speaker jack plug lead directly into the ipod / iphone, again not a huge problem but one that should be addressed. Remember to take mosquito repellent if you visit in their rainy season and we also took a mosquito net to put over the bed - it made for a better nights sleep knowing that we were going to be bite free.

One huge let down for this house though is the lack of air conditioning. It should have air con units in at least the bedrooms - the fans at night are no match for the high temperatures experienced during the night - maybe this is something that Dan can easily retro- fit.

Overall though this is a home that you can relax in and feel special in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Heat at night without air con
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally T
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A honeymooner's paradise!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stunning views, beautiful pool, stylish design and immaculate presentation - The White Turtle has it all.

We spent two wonderful weeks on honeymoon staying at The White Turtle. The house has been beautifully designed and finished with real thought and attention to detail.

The large bifold doors in the living room open onto a huge balcony area where you can relax outside on a sofa to watch the sunset or admire the stunning views over the forest towards the bay.

The pool is large enough for a good swim if you're feeling energetic and perfect for cooling off and splashing about after some strenuous sunbathing. The area around the pool has been skilfully planted and attracts hummingbirds and other amazing exotica. The speakers around the pool are a perfect addition for a relaxing day soaking up the rays. The iPod / iPhone dock allows you to play your own music and we also managed to stream UK radio stations using this and the WiFi. Dan has cleverly added external WiFi so that you can even access the Internet whilst you are lying by the pool!

Indoors the house is furnished to a very high standard. The super king size bed was the comfiest we've ever slept on and fan above the bed is a very welcome addition to cool down the room at night. The outdoor shower is a real luxury and a very liberating experience after a hard day in the sun!! The kitchen has everything that you would need for a holiday and is very well equipped with appliances and utensils.

Marigot Bay is a beautiful spot and as we'll as having lots of lovely restaurants and bars it is a great place to access the local water taxis. The taxi's will take you on a trip along the coast to the Pitons which is well worth doing and gives you an opportunity for some wonderful snorkelling (and has the added benefit of being much quicker than driving!).

Both Dan and Maggi were amazingly helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and they went the extra mile to make sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The information about local car hire proved very useful and we would highly recommend Dan's suggestion of getting a 4x4.

All in all an absolutely stunning house in a beautiful tropical location. Thank you Dan and The White Turtle for an unforgettable honeymoon.

Sally and Julian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the humming birds feed from the flowers while lounging by the pool.
Liked least: The last day, when we realised we couldn't stay any longer...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treetop paradise with sea views”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at The White Turtle and were completely impressed with both the house and the island. The photos don't exaggerate the beauty of the house but what can't be seen in the photos is the serenity. Perched high on the hill overlooking the sea, The White Turtle is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The location may be viewed as remote by some, but both my husband and I enjoyed the distance from the village and even found the uphill walk to be a nice way to work off some of all the great food we consumed at many of the restaurants in Marigot Bay. :)

Booking the house was easy. Dan was very helpful in answering any of the questions we put forth and the 'welcome package' provided once the booking was complete was thorough.

The surrounding neighbours were all very friendly and even stopped to give us a ride a few times when they came upon us walking down into Marigot Bay.

It was extremely warm during our stay and Maggi was quick to bring us a fan when we found the evening time to be a bit too hot for a restful sleep. The pool was the perfect way to cool off in the evening and the outdoor shower was a real treat.

A mosquito net would have been welcomed as the mosquitos took quite a liking to my husband.

I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, completely private and luxurious getaway to stay at The White Turtle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the privacy and the view
Liked least: the mosquitos and perhaps the lack of AC
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2013
Many thanks for the glowing review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay (sorry about the mosquitoes).

Hope to hear from you again one day.

All the best

Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetrave...
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern comfort in a stunning tropical paradise !!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 3 weeks in this brand new house. We were it's first occupants, what an honour.
It was just paradise.
From sitting on the balcony in the morning with a coffee to watching the fabulous sunsets with a cocktail in the evening the place is just bliss.
The location is wonderful, although remote, you are on the side of the rainforest, you feel totally secure , cocooned in this fantastic modern home.
It is equipped with all modern features, iPod dock and great sound system by the pool and in the house was particularly welcome. Fantastic kitchen with everything you could wish for. Particularly adaptable lounge and outside furniture made entertaining our friends extra special.
Bedrooms very luxurious, master bed mattress ..........best ever comfort away from home.
Views from all parts of the house are to die for !
Excellent booking process and service from the owner could not be more helpful.
Wonderful assistance from Maggie and her team locally, nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
If you want to experience total paradise book this house now !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic view.
Liked least: Coming home !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing