We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Sheila's Grill & Bar - CLOSED

Mama Sheila's Grill & Bar
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived quite late (8.30pm) on a week night, towards the end of the season, but Ferdi (the owner) stayed open for us. Fantastic food and good groves. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Food and Friendly People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

As with most local restaurants on St. Lucia, Mama Sheila's doesn't have that familiar chain-restaurant sheen. That is, don't expect to see fancy signs or manicured entrances or stunningly massive building structures. Mama Sheila's is just a simple place that serves fantastic local food at very reasonable prices.

It was the best, most authentic meal we had during our stay in St. Lucia. Of course, our idea of a 'best meal' is sitting and talking with a local, ordering new foods, and not being at all bothered by having to pick a bone or two out of our fish because the fish itself was so fresh and tasty.

We saddled up to the small bar and started chatting with Ferdi, a quiet, but incredibly friendly bartender/server who offered to seat us at a table. We asked if we could stay at the bar to eat to talk some more, and he gladly sad 'yes'. He told us the menu for the day, and we ordered. Ferdi cheerily entertained our all-too-predictable questions about St. Lucia, and told us a bit about himself.

The food arrived fairly quickly, and all of it looked amazing. The fish plate that both of us had ordered came with rice, fried plantains, boiled plantains, salad, ground provisions (various boiled root vegetables), potatoes au gratin, and fish (of course) with salsa.

Two delicious, stomach-filling meals, great conversation and a beer only came to $55 EC, which is about $20. What a great place.

P.S.
Quick conversion tip:
$40 EC = $15 US

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mark_aurelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food & Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We were the only people to eat there the night we went. Nice local atmosphere, clean and well maintained.

Mama Sheila's son was our host. He was great. Very nice, he spent a lot if time talking to us and explaining menu items.

Food was very good. Get Mama Sheila's cheesecake for dessert. You are still paying tourist prices for the meal but it goes to a local business owner.

Good food, good people. Worth the experience to go there

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fireball561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“personal dinner guest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

mama Sheila's stands out just set back from the winding main road of the island on your way to Marigot Bay. this was our destination for our accommodation we noticed it straight away vivid apricot. it was a talking point for the 1st 3-4 days of our holiday. having paid a fortune at the local restaurant Doolittles and then getting caught with a very rough chicken sandwich lunch in Castries. We decided to try it. Hoping 3rd time lucky. It was like being a dinner guest at some ones home. Collection from the ferry pier driven to the restaurant with pleasant conversation from the driver who turned out to be Mama Sheila's son and our waiter. The food was great Pumkin soup that had a texture of silk and piping hot both the chicken and fish creole dishes with rice and steamed veg were very good and the banana flambe just perfect plus several drinks and Bob Marley completed a most enjoyable last night on the island and to top it all when we asked if they could call a taxing Mama Sheila junior said we don't abandon our guests and promptly took us back to the ferry pier.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panton, VT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I were staying Marigot Bay and wanted to try something more local than the upscale restaurants right at the water's edge. Mama Sheila's fit the bill nicely. One of us had the fish of the day and the other the chicken dish. Both were delicious and I particularly enjoyed the day's vegetables which were tastily prepared and a generous portion too.
It's just a short way's toward Castries from where the road from Marigot joins the main road. If you were ambitious I think you could walk there in less than an hour.
Go! You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Panton_VTJ_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Sheila's Grill & Bar also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing