We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“INCREDIBLE! Modern yet island easy...”
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Villa Makambu and surroundings
Mezzanine in the upper level unit
The mezzanine
Bedrrom with ensuite bathroom with extra large double shower
Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with double shower
Ensuite bathroom with double shower
Outside living on large verandas
Marigot Bay
Myranda and Carlos our exceptional staff!!!
Pascale and Franz the owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Funseeker...
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE! Modern yet island easy...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
7
people found this review helpful

Villa Makambu is brilliant.

Location - We toured a great deal of the West Coast of St. Lucia and think that Marigot Bay is a great destination! It is about an hour taxi drive from the international airport (Hewanorra). Marigot Bay has a few nice restaurants and bars, a beautiful marina, a great beach, a small food market, and opportunities for sea adventures. We wouldn’t have wanted to stay anywhere else, with the exception of near the Pitons. The villa is about a 20 minute walk from the marina/restaurants/market. The walk is all downhill, quite steep, and of rough terrain. Wear good shoes. Going back up will be a challenge and we never attempted it! There is a large supermarket (IGA) approximately 20 minute drive from the villa.

THE HOUSE – It is incredible. I don’t think the pictures and description do it justice. There are two gorgeous houses on the property in a remote setting, high above the water. The views are breathtaking. There is a gorgeous salt water pool with plenty of seating in sun and shade. We stayed on the top floor and think the views are the best from that floor. The top floor has a lot more living space as well. The design of the homes is beautiful. Modern yet island easy. And everything you could ask for is provided. There was a charcoal grill ready for our use daily, all cooking items needed, 4 beach chairs, beach towels, a safe, and a cell phone to use locally (you can add minutes easily in the marina area). They even provided some basic food items for our arrival (milk, fruit, yogurt, eggs, bread, tons of condiments, etc.). No A/C. The house is very open with slatted windows. We were there in early March and were pretty comfortable at night. One night was a bit brutal, but that was it. There are fans and mosquito nettings over the beds. Oh, FREE WI-FI!

Car Rental – I think it is essential to have a car when staying at Villa Makambu. Taxis are readily available (stationed at the marina) but that option certainly isn’t cheap. We rented a 7 passenger SUV with some hefty tires and suspension and were very happy to have it. The roads to the villa are quite rough and I wouldn’t have wanted a little compact car on some of those roads. Without the car, we would have felt very isolated.

Staff – This really was one of the best aspects of our vacationing at Villa Makambu. The caretaker, Carlos, lives next door in a smaller version of the Villa. He is the go-to man. Seems everyone knows and respects Carlos, which gave us a great sense of security. He also has a great dog that keeps guard from the balcony of Carlos’ place. Upon arrival, Carlos and Josie (house manager when owners are not visiting), were waiting for us in the driveway. It really means a lot to have someone waiting for you, welcoming you, and helping you into your rental after a long journey. Josie will spend some time with you advising you on activities/places to go. Miranda is the housekeeper and she was also there upon our arrival to meet us. She takes good care of the place and is very friendly. Be sure to have Carlos take you out on his boat (fishing type boat, seats about 6-8 comfortably). He took us along the West Coast all the way down to the Pitons with several stops for snorkeling. We ordered lunch take out in Soufrieres and ate on a gorgeous beach. It was the best day of our vacation!!!! He’s very capable and we felt safe the entire time. There was enough snorkeling gear for all 6 of us! I can’t say enough good things about the people that helped us and work there. This was my first time renting a house out of country and I didn’t expect this kind of treatment! Villa Makambu spoiled me for the rest, I’m sure.

Food – There is a fresh veggie market in Castries. Be sure to go there and buy some. There are also some fresh veggies in the IGA but not as bountiful as I would have thought. Food is expensive. So is drink. Plan for it.

Water – We mostly drank bottled water but I also drank the tap water. It is very chlorinated, though I didn’t taste it. No sickness.

Power – Both US and EU power outlets in the house. There are a few adapters in the house if you need them.

Currency – US is accepted everywhere. They will give you change in East Caribbean dollars.

To do – small private cove near house for beach day, volcano, mud baths, waterfalls, botanical gardens, climb the pitons (we didn’t - steep climb), go to rum distillery, shopping in the craft markets in Castries (parking is tough – we found it is best and cheap to park in the carpark building), shopping in Rodney Bay (was ok), check out the many beaches, snorkel, party boats, sunset cruises.

Dining in Marina area Marigot Bay – we really liked the Hurricane Hole and went there twice. Food was good (not cheap though), drinks were excellent, and service was amazing. Doolittles has a great happy hour. There are a few other places to check out too. If you get to Castries – go to Chef Robby’s in town. Great little place and we had a lot of fun there. The staff was a blast.

Driving – is an adventure. They drive on the left and the driver’s seat is on the right side of the car. I had never done this but managed fine. Take your time and keep to the left!!! Keep reminding yourself. The roads outside of the cities are VERY windy and often hairpin turns. Some roads are extremely rough and gravelly. You can do it!!!

Oh and the owner, Pascale was great to work with via email. Quick replies, easy payment, very informative.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOUSE!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design, the view, the balcony
Liked least: Mattress very firm
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diane S
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, sister and brother-in-law rented the bottom villa for 10 days. The owners, Pascale and Franz, made our stay so enjoyable. They were so wonderful to work with and so very friendly. The villa itself is gorgeous. It is very spacious and clean and the views are awesome. If we ever make it back to St. Lucia, we will certainly rent the villa again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The kitchen could use a few more utensils -- including sharp knives
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeDeeVon
Peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the beautiful villa Makambu for two weeks in August and honestly cannot fault it. Everything from location to villa, the garden and pool to fixtures and fittings all perfect. It was a home from home and we didn't want to leave! It was bliss waking each morning and looking out over the bay and out to sea, relaxing with tea and toast on a lounger wbooks book. The villa is beautifully appointed, spacious and very well equipped. Carlos the caretaker lives a stones throw away and was always on hand to help. We had a housekeeper every third day who was fabulous and left the house immaculate. Carlos made us fish cakes, fresh juices, coconut, calabash bowls... He was a gem and an asset to the owners. We hired a car for four days and visited places all over the island but we loved Marigot Bay most of all. A jewel of a resort, small, intimate, well stocked and with great people, locals and ex pats alike. We felt like friends to many by the time we left and that is very special. We would love to return and will. Thank you to to Pascale for all her help and to Josse, the manager, who, like Carlos, was a godsend. My only recommendations would be to bring ear plugs to block out local bar music from nearby at the weekend and a CD player or iPod dock to play music would have been great. Book this villa! You won't be disappointed!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben_Jenki...
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed in this villa as part of a large group. Where to start...!

The hosts are very welcoming, informative and friendly, the accommodation itself is luxurious and clean, and the views are spectacular!

It was great to have a warm shower in the lovely bathroom as soon as I woke up, walk through to the pool to do a few lengths and then bask in the sunshine on a sun lounger while overlooking Marigot Bay. It is what holidays are made for!

We rented a 4x4 to explore the island a bit. There is ample room for parking at Villa Makambu and plenty of space in the fridge for any food you buy along the way - we made full use of the BBQ facilities! It is about a 10-15 walk down to the local shops and a brilliant restaurant called "Chateau Mygo". I highly recommend walking/driving down to Chateau Mygo for "sun downers" - a few "Piton" beers in an ice bucket overlooking the sea. I am starting to get depressed writing this review as I want to be back there!

My group all loved our stay at Villa Makambu. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to a friend/family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailor044
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The owners could not be more hospitable. The mid Island location is great. Views are fantastic. Highly recommended.
drawbacks: The road, a few biting bugs Mozzies, and the music that comes from clubs in the bay.
None are that bad but bring a pair of earplugs and some after bite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: the music from the Bars below
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$195
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing