We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Caribbean Experience with a Great View”
other travelers have booked this property
Pelican House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG GL3D2971
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pelican House
DSC00479.JPG
GL3D2971
bedroom
small bedroom
Sun room
Tram
kitchen
Dining area
Sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Henley_Lo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Caribbean Experience with a Great View”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just got back from 10 days at Pelican House and would highly recommend it. First off, for a reasonable price you're getting a 5 star view. A much better view in fact than the 5 star resort further inside Marigot Bay! This is the place if you want to experience some authentic Caribbean living and detach from modern life for awhile. There's no A/C, but you don't need it, the trade winds race down into the bay and right over the property. If anything, I was chilly in the evenings. You live open-plan - there a birds and bugs about. Either you embrace being this close to nature...or maybe this isn't the place for you. The house is simply decorated, you have what you need and can move from one comfy relaxing spot to another. You can sunbathe away from the crowds on the balcony. You can stroll down into the bay and get picked up by Dive Saint Lucia to go for a couple of dives. In the evenings, either self cater or take the water taxi over to one of a number of solid restaurants...Masala Bay was my favourite. I loved my time here and would definitely go back. Take a step back into a simpler way of life and go home properly recharged.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh B
Eldersburg, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful House!”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved our visit to St. Lucia and especially the stay at Pelican House! We liked walking the stairs to the house for exercise, but occasionally took the tram to the doorstep! The home and temperatures were very comfortable, which made sleeping very nice. We enjoyed the amenities around the bay and rented a car to check out some of the popular and not so travelled (by trendy hotel visitors) spots. All in all, we would definitely return to Pelican House for some rest and relaxation, but also some fun partying with other couples and friends! Great find in a majestic setting!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Drinking cocktails and watching the sunsets
Liked least: The hairpin turns of the island roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet G
Mint Hill
1 review
“Charming Island Home”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a very relaxing week at Pelican House. If you want to feel like you are in the islands you must stay at Pelican House. The open air house is so extraordinary with unbelievable views of the bay. We loved getting up every morning having our coffee on open air porch watching the sailboats and yacht coming into the bay for the day. If you are lucky you will witness the amazing rainbows. Take the tram down to the beach and spend a relaxing day on the beach. There are many very good restaurants in the bay to eat but if you get a chance take tour of the island and try some of the other dining options.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Thank you for your review, we would love e to have you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veranika0...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Very beautiful place!”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Pelican house in August 2015 for 8 days. The house is very clean and fully equipped, Maid service is included and also your personal laundry. The house has an amazing view and we really enjoyed having breakfasts with such a breathtaking views. The only drawback we had is mosquitoes. Most of the living area is the open air without screens ( the are screens in the bedrooms) it so led to many mosquito bites especially to the kids. There was a mosquito repellent provided by the owner however make sure to bring extra with you. Overall, we had a great time!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2016
We appreciate the kind words. We would like to point out that in addition to all the bedrooms and baths being fully screened, we also provide a sitting are off the deck that is also screened. In out literature we do recommend that guests bring repellant. We do also provide insecticide to keep the screened areas free of the stray mossy which may enter. The reason that the entire house is not fully screened is, it is our experience that screening drastically reduced the cooling effects of the trade winds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefi-Adi
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five well deserved stars for this little piece of paradise.”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

During the last few years, we've been in quite a few islands in the Caribbean and stayed in similar type of accommodation. This one is definitely one of the best! It's hard to describe the joy that we felt when we first saw the beautiful view over Marigot Bay from the porch or, the feeling of total relaxation while sipping rum (or drinking a smoothie from mangoes freshly picked from the tree behind the villa) in the hammock. One special Thank You goes to Jim, for his effort in putting together a very comprehensive "user manual" for his guests which proved extremely useful. We won't reiterate all the things already mentioned in other reviews but we wholeheartedly recommend this place and we'll definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1COW
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect layout for a family vacation”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are a family of four and stayed at the Pelican House for a week in April, 2015. As you will read in the other reviews, the view is nothing short of amazing. We loved having breakfast overlooking the bay every morning, and coming back in the evening to enjoy the sunsets. Marigot Bay can be a bustling place, and watching the boats come and go is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon on the deck. The kids loved taking the tram down to Doolittles to play pool at night.

We have rented a number of vacation homes and the layout of the property is always a consideration for us. The layout of this house is perfect. Everybody had their own space, but we could spend time together on the front porch, which is really a huge open air family room.
We have also done the resort thing and everybody, even our teenaged daughter, enjoyed vacationing here more.

There is a lot to do on the Island, or, you could choose to do nothing at all, either way, St. Lucia and the Pelican House come highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and layout
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“We never wanted to leave!”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We decided on Pelican House for our St. Lucia trip based on all of the five star reviews, but were just a little bit apprehensive. Could this place be as great as everyone says? I can emphatically say: yes! It is just as lovely, comfortable, and unforgettable as you could hope. The setting is beautiful, really one of the loveliest places we've ever been. The people are amazing, just incredilby friendly locals; we hugged at least three or four people when leaving, and that was after staying for only a little over a week! I can't say enough great things about the island, about the people, and about Pelican House.

The pictures don't really do justice to the beautiful view from the house. The open air living arrangment is really fantastic and every morning when we walked out of our bedroom, we couldn't believe how lucky we were to get to stay here. I was worried about no air conditioning in a tropical setting, but the breeze from the bay, the intermittent quick rain showers, and the ceiling fans kept us from getting too hot. I was also worried about mosiquitos, but Jim made sure to have bug spray available for us to spray the bedrooms each night, and at least two bedrooms included mosquito netting, so we didn't really have any problems as long as we were vigilant. Also be aware that the restaurants in Marigo Bay can be pretty expensive. The local shacks on the beach were the best deal, and we ended up cooking at home most nights. The Saturday market in Castries was a great place to get food for the week and the kitchen was well-stocked with whatever equipment we needed.

Jim was very helpful as was everyone else in the process of getting to and staying at the house, especially Smalley, the driver, who was incredibly accomodating when one of our party got sick and we needed to reschedule our tour of the island last minute. We would have stayed longer if we could, and definitely plan on being back. I can't recommend Pelican House enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the people
Liked least: Wifi could be a bit spotty
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing