We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
399
125
15
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
125
15
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club great house guest services water taxi st lucia emerald hill villa plunge pool air conditioning house keeper our honeymoon taxi driver hurricane hole steep hill relaxing vacation the cliff botanical gardens ferry pass
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 548 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2016

We stayed at Emerald Hill Villa through Oasis Marigot. This is exactly what we were looking for. A house with amenities, not a hotel. It was privately, secluded and beautiful. Any questions or services we needed Oasis Marigot provided. We will be telling all of our friends this is the place to go to. We will come here again and it will be at Emerald Hill Villa!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kwelhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

The location of this resort was perfect for my husband and I. We were given a week RCI timeshare credit for our wedding last year, and we decided to come here a month before we arrived.

THE LOCATION
The location of this resort is not a hop skip and a jump from the main, international airport - it's easy, but time consuming and more costly than anticipated. There is a 60-90 min drive from the airport to the Marina of Marigot Bay, then you have to take a shuttle boat from one side of the bay to the resort side. Round trip was $150US for the taxi (which we learned are very expensive on the island). Once on the resort side, the only way of getting back to the Marina side is a boat taxi. We bought the pass at the front desk for $15US/person. It ended up being worth the cost because we would go over to the market, go out to eat or catch a land taxi almost everyday for a week. Otherwise it's $2 round trip per person each time you go.

The Oasis is located on the northern hillside above Marigot Bay. To access it after crossing the bay by ferry (2 min) you pass by the small (artificial) La Bas beach on your left and a vendor arcade on the right. Branch left at the fork in the pathway, and continue through an iron gate and turn left to pass the Marigot Beach Club's pool. Wave at the hostess as you pass through Doolittle's restaurant, and follow the red tile stairs past the dive shop through the vegetation tunnel. After the pathway wraps around, load your bags on the ultra-slow tram (4 people/800lbs max) and hit the middle button. At the first landing follow the upper pathway along the hillside and signs toward the office. Here you'll enjoy blissful AC while getting checked in.

Marigot Bay, as well as the island in general, is quite pricy for getting around and food. Most all the restaurants in Marigot Bay are upscale or fine dining, so dinner was about $70US average for 2 people. We had dinner at Masala Bay, Chateau Mygo and Rainforest Hideaway ($150US for two).
Land taxis were quite expensive and boat taxis were even more. We took a taxi with 2 other couples (6 people total) to Castries and it costs $40US for each couple. My husband and I went to Soufrierre for a day and spent $160US for the round trip.

The beach at Marigot Bay isn't worth it, unfortunately. But we spent most of the days in the poo, which is not very big but comfortable and private from the cruise ship tourists. When the cruise ships do come in, you notice all the extra people wandering around, so we planned our days around that - stayed in town and in our room the days the big ships were in and got out and explored the days they were not in the port.

THE ROOM
This is not your Hilton or all inclusive resort. It's a quiet, beautiful resort on the side of the bay. It's tri-level with the dining/living/kitchenette on the top, restroom/entry on the ground and bedroom on the lower. The kitchenette is stocked with all you need. We brought some food items with us, knowing the cost of food would be high on an island, and bought dairy and fruits when we arrived. We were in room 12 and had amazing views of the bay, for sunrise and sunset.

We did pay an additional fee to have AC in our room ($120US). It was centralized in the bedroom, so we have kept all the doors and windows closed downstairs to keep the cool in, while we opened up the upstairs during the day. I think it was worth the extra fee because I don't like being uncomfortably hot at night. The hot water most everywhere on the island is controlled via solar hot water heater, which is great from an environmental aspect and we appreciate that - but taking a shower would vary in temperature going from normal to really hot to really cold. They do provide a bug net around the bed but we didn't need to use it since we kept the bedroom shut most of the time.

The ladies up at the front desk were very helpful and kind with all our requests and questions! They hold a Sunday meeting every weekend to tell you about ways to get around the island, things to do and can answer any and all questions you have. They helped us set up some day outings - exploring Castries and grabbing some lunch, Snorkeling and lunch at Anse Chastanet - beautiful and well worth the trip (Cutty was our water taxi driver), and a day down in Soufrierre with Godfrey as our land taxi driver. You can ask for specific people and the ladies at the front desk can arrange it for you. You won't necessarily save money from one to another but the personalities help! Some will act as your own personal tour guide while others will act as your average taxi driver (we highly recommend Cutty and Godfrey!)

All in all, we had a great time in Saint Lucia. It's a beautiful island with so much to see and the weather that is not to be missed!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MandiRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

Was at the Villa recently (7 nights) and it lived up to my expectations. For most of the trip we had 4 people and it worked out well. We had some problems on the first day as our taxi driver was not at the airport to take us to Oasis Marigot (but they found us another one after several phone calls). The other problem was that we pre-ordered some food supplies to be waiting when we arrived but nothing was there (food provider had lost our order but did eventually bring us some supplies). After that the trip was great and what a beautiful area! We had a great view from our upper deck of the bay and could see the Caribbean. The ships that come into the bay are amazing and I could of spent all of my time there watching them and drinking rum (but I didn't). There always seemed to be nice breeze and I didn't see any mosquitoes (they had a net on our bed downstairs but we didn't need it). The weather was great (low 80s) and if it rained it only lasted about 5 minutes and then cleared up (you could sit on the deck and not get wet) . We usually ate breakfast at our Villa since we had a kitchen and ate out occasionally depending on what we were doing that day. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we really liked Doolittle's which was right down at the bottom of the hill (they have a tram if you don't want to walk up or down the hill which was very appreciated by my wife who is the bionic woman). Pirates Cove was good too (we didn't get to the famous Rainforest Hideaway) but did take a taxi to Juliettas up on the hill and it was very good. The office can arrange a taxi (pick up across the bay) and help plan activities and make reservations for you. We didn't rent a car and we were glad we didn't as the roads are narrow and windy (and on the opposite side of the road for us) and the taxi drivers make excellent tour guides. Across the bay they have some more eating areas, grocery store and a bank with an ATM, etc. The beach next to Doolittle's is small but scenic. They have beach stuff there and we rented kayaks and took item out of the bay into the Caribbean which was very scenic. The beach boys will try to sell you stuff but they are friendly. Some of our adventures included snorkeling at Anse Chastanet , day sail trip to Pigeon Island National Landmark and visiting the volcano and Diamond Falls (plus viewing the Pitons). There are also some great places to hike (even right above our Villa has a good trail with some great views at the top). In closing everyone was very friendly, the staff very helpful and I think this makes an excellent vacation retreat in a very tropical location.

Room tip: We stayed at a Villa near the top of the hill toward the tram and had very good view of the bay and sunset.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

We are just finishing up a week at The Caribbean Blue with Oasis Marigot. I can't say enough how perfect it has been. The home is small and ideal for two people. The bedroom is air conditioned and the bed is very comfortable. There isn't any overly luxurious about the home, but with the view you get, barely nothing else matters. The cost is appropriate and we would definitely come back.

Couple suggestions....bring along an inflatable for the pool, if you like. So glad we did that. Would recommend the managers also look into some full lounge chairs like the anti-gravity type. And guests should know it is an open air living room and kitchen, so with that, you get nature's friends visiting....which we loved....the little birds are fun and amusing.

We highly recommend this place for a quiet, peaceful, and breathtakingly beautiful getaway.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kendra3610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016

I spent a week at Oasis Marigot Villas, and it was perfect in every sense of the word. The location is remote, but that is exactly what we were looking for. Completely isolated from the 'mainland' by a bay (and the ferry you have to take to get to the property).
The villas are all located in an excellent place with beautiful views of the bay and the yachts coming an going. The villas themselves are extremely clean and modern - well equipped for everything you need.
There are no windows, only screens with metal shutters so the breeze off the ocean/bay keeps the villas nice and cool during the night. You are also serenaded to sleep by the St Lucian nightlife of frogs and crickets.
The staff at the resort are very friendly, and helpful. There are free beach towel rentals from the office - you can return them for fresh ones too.
The villas are located very high up on the hill, but if you don't feel up to climbing the 133 steps, you can always take the funicular.
The beach, although small, is adequate for relaxing and taking a dip to cool off. There is Dolittle's on the resort side of the bay for all meals, as well as a few local 'joints' right on the beach'.
Across the bay there are a few restaurants at Capella's resort, as well as a very nice bakery, and a grocery store (Although a little overpriced).
Food is fairly expensive in St. Lucia, we bought our food at the local IGA (Super J) and also Mega J (which is in Castries). There are some deals at the Castries market for fresh fruit and veg.
The roads in St. Lucia are really bad, I would suggest you rent a SUV instead of a smaller car.
Overall we had an amazing time in St. Lucia, and even after visiting almost all of the other resorts on the island (for their beaches) I have to admit, none of their settings come close to Oasis..breathtakingly beautiful. Stay here, you won't regret it!

Room tip: All villas have great views. Bring mosquito repellent though if you want to sit outside at night.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Werner P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews