We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
397
124
14
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
124
14
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club villa st great house guest services water taxi st lucia rainforest hideaway plunge pool two story air conditioning house keeper our honeymoon taxi driver hurricane hole steep hill relaxing vacation botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 544 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This place is heaven on earth! We went as a group of four, the accommodation would easily take 6/8. All of us were spellbound for first hour of arrival and equally spellbound witnessing our first sunset at Villa Des Piton; accompanied with some mellow tunes from the amazing Bose system. The trick is to buy as much food from the main supermarkets near the airport. Ask your taxi drive to take you to the biggest supermarket and tip him to wait, the tip is easily going to save you money in the long run! Go, long, and then even buy more as once at the villa the local supermarket is 30 mins from the Villa and quite simple in it offerings.

Make sure you are super nice to Mary as she is amazing and will even sort some fresh fish from the morning catch (Whole Yellow Fin Tuna $25).

Was one of the most amazing accommodations we have stayed at. Very peaceful and very special. A rare find! We said we would never go somewhere twice but this place breaks that rule we will come back to witness the amazing offering this place furnishes you with!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was a great place to stay in marigot bay for a fraction of the going rate. The rooms are set within the mountain, and a ski lift type trolley takes you to your level, for those tired from a long day. Restaurant at the main level, not owned by oasis, but convenient place for breakfast, dinner or night cap. No room service, no TV, no A/C and wifi is sketchy, but is all over the island... And like I told my fiancé, that's not why we are here. We stayed in an ocean front cottage, had a little kitchen and a pool on our deck. Lovely views, pool is great, and fans at night were enough for a comfortable sleep. The beach is not great, rocky, but doable to just get some sun... We rented a car and went to ti Kaye village and Renuit beaches. (those which are gorgeous).

Room tip: I recommend Ocean view
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deetsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We wanted to go to a beautiful island and do some sailing. This turned out to be everything we expected. Our accomidations were excellent and eveyone very friendly and helpful. We have been married for 27 years and this was a perfect second honeymoon. If you like the island experience and want to get some sailing in, you can't go wrong here. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We arrived late at nightat nearby SLU airport. Had contacted the hotel in advance and a taxi was waiting for us. No problems. Took us right to the water taxi, and called and made sure we were set before he left..across the bay the water taxi driver walked us to security that knew we were coming and took us up the little trolley to the room. At the top someone was sitting there waiting with keys and showed us our room.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful! The taxi driver didn't even want the $ said we could pay hotel in the morning!
Waking up to the BEAUTIFUL view was awesome!
The grounds guy got us fresh coconuts and mangos. Super welcome to the island!
Would recommend highly, as long as you don't mind the climb up the stairs or trolly ride to room.
But well worth the views!!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverlyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at LeSport for the first 4 nights in St. Lucia. It was a big adjustment to go from such a luxurious all-inclusive resort to a self-catering cottage without air conditioning. We stayed in Ocean Cottage #4 which has a lovely view. There was a big of confusion upon arrival as the public run ferry was down for repairs. We were transported by Doolittle's ferry which is meant for their own customers.

Trevor, the caretaker, helped us with our luggage and was very kind to provide some mangos and coconut milk on our first morning. I was hot from the transfer and wanted to cool off in the plunge pool. It did not appear to be very clean so I took the net and cleaned out the bugs and debris. I saw Trevor cleaning the pool one morning so I guess it's a matter of the filtration system not keeping up with the debris and bugs.

We were told by someone who owns a cottage in the area that not having air conditioning would not be a problem in April. It was quite hot and humid and the ceiling fan and standup fan did little but push hot air around. We had to sleep with the door wide open under mosquito netting. Any critter can enter the room at night...I stepped on a little frog the first morning (sorry frog...who is now in froggy heaven). There were nice breezes on the deck but for some reason we could not feel them inside the bedroom.

Unit #4 is a little odd. There is a key for the gate to enter the unit. A key for the kitchen (which is separate from the bedroom and entered off the deck) and two for the bedroom. The living area is the deck with a table/chairs and two wicker chairs. With four keys, we were constantly trying to remember which key belonged to which lock.

Overall, the unit was clean and well kept but fairly dated. The bedspread seemed dated and a little tatty. The bathroom was fine and the towels and linens were plentiful. The fridge was warm upon arrival. I had to put our meat and yogurt in the freezer in order to keep it cold. We would put beverages in the freezer for a time before consuming them. The deck furniture is a little uncomfortable for sitting any length of time. The bed was fairly comfortable. There is plenty of closet space and hangers.

Marigot Bay is nice but I feel it would be an expensive and inconvenient place to base yourself unless you're really not a beach person. I would not want to spend any time at the beach area there (can't really call it a beach). The cost to go to a local beach by watertaxi is approximately $80. I personally would not like to drive the roads in St. Lucia. You can use the facilities at the Discovery Cove Hotel if you buy a lunch there...they have a beautiful pool.

We ate lunch at Huricane Hole and dinner at JD Mangrove. Both meals were very good and the service was very attentive.

I was impressed that Oasis management called us on departure day to check on us. They offered for us to stay an extra hour since our transfer wasn't picking us up until noon.

I can see how some people would love it here. It is enchanting riding the ferry over and taking the funicular to the top. Not so convenient when you forget something at your cottage and you have to take the funicular back up. The view was very pretty and it was interesting watching the sailboat come and go. I will say that it just wasn't the right fit for us as it was a little more rustic that we would like. I would recommend taking a unit next door that is air conditioned if you want a good nights sleep.

Room tip: I feel air conditioning is a necessity.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crazyfourtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews