We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW...what an amazing place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW...what an amazing place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Inn on the Bay in St Lucia is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The scenery, the climate, the people, the restaurants make St Lucia a great place to visit. But this inn that hosts, Normand and Louise, have lovingly created is really the most special part of the trip. Both of them work tirelessly and unselfishly to ensure the vacation is one of the most memorable which it truly was. You will find it hard to find two nicer people. We will especially miss Louise's baking (best muffins and cakes ever!!) and Normand's joking around.

Highlights of our trip included the sailing trip to visit the Pitons & Soufriere, taking a water taxi north up to Rodney Bay and Pigeon Point, visiting the various restaurants in Marigot Bay (especially Julietta's -- great chicken curry), and taking in the view of Marigot Bay from the inn.

If you want a relaxing paradise getaway this is the place for you. The reviews on here are all true and the Trip Advisor awards are well deserved.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
526
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was truly the perfect place for me. It was very relaxing with an amazing view. And with Normand and Louise as the hosts this was simply the perfect get away. It was like visiting friends – very warm, friendly and cozy. I traveled alone, but felt very protected and watched over by Normand without him ever being intrusive.

I tend to take much longer vacations that are much busier and more intense, so staying just over a week here was a wonderful way to unwind and thaw out (it’s a bit cold here in Chicago and we’re expecting a blizzard this week :-) and see the island and meet some very wonderful people. It was fun to spend time in the bay swimming, walking around, shopping or meeting new people – boaters, locals, other travelers. I miss the other guests who were at the Inn as well as the wonderful people from St. Lucia.

The breakfasts were perfect. I loved the excellent muffins and fruit, and especially loved the chocolate croissants we had one day. Very, very good. There was also tea and rum available in the breakfast room all day long along with cards and board games. It was always nice to sit outside and eat breakfast, have a drink or chat with other guests while enjoying the phenomenal view.

The swimming pool is very nice and great for cooling off. To get to the local beach across the bay, Normand is very gracious and happy to take you to the bay, and then you pay $2 US to take a round trip ferry to the beach. The beach is very small, but was very nice and never crowded. I noticed that people were often hesitant to get in the water, but it was really very nice, and also pretty shallow. There’s a simple bar and food bar at the back of the beach, and the lunch there is around $10 US and was very substantial, very good, local food and one of the best values in the area. The restaurant, Dolittle’s, at the end of the beach also comes around to offer drinks and food, but the food from the food bar was definitely the better choice and value.

Normand is great at encouraging their guests to mix and hosted a cocktail party on the sea side deck to watch the sunset and even set up a day of sailing to the South for five of us. When we arrived in Soufriere, he had a taxi waiting for us and all the details were arranged to go to the botanic gardens and the drive in volcano. On the way back to Marigot Bay, we stopped at a protected area for some amazing snorkeling. I really enjoyed getting to know Bobby and Andrea who ran the sailboat. It was truly a great day with wonderful people.

Another day he arranged for a group of us to take a water taxi to Soufriere. One couple stopped at a beach for most of the day, and the rest of us went to Soufriere. Everyone else went to the gardens and volcano that I saw earlier in the week, and I went to a chocolate plantation. That was very nice, but unfortunately, they had no chocolate to purchase, only the aroma of cocoa wafting through the air. Then most of us went to have lunch at Dasheene Restaurant that has an incredible view right between the pitons. Just stunning!! Then we took the water taxi back to the beach for about an hour for some swimming and snorkeling and then back to Marigot Bay. Again, a great day with wonderful people and there were no worries as it was all orchestrated by Normand.

I would definitely recommend asking Normand for advice on what to see and do. He was always very helpful, and was right on target with his recommendations. My last night, everyone staying at the Inn, including Normand, Louise and Normand's mother who was visiting from Montreal went to the Coal Pot restaurant in Castries. It was very nice. In the bay, I would also recommend the Hurricane Hole for a more casual lunch or dinner, or the Rainforest Hideaway just across the bay for a wonderful, elegant meal. I was fortunate to have dinner there twice, and it was wonderful. Kudos to the great staff and chef there.

I would definitely recommend the Inn on the Bay to others, and indeed already have. Mostly though, I would love to return some day with a friend for some special R&R and to visit Normand and Louise. Thank you Normand and Louise for such a wonderful time free from any worries. I wish you both all the best!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is the stay that you want it to be. If you want to day trip to other parts of the island to snorkel, to see the volcano, go to the national park at Pigeon Point, check out the capital, ride the waves at Rodney Bay, the owner/operator will organize it all.

If you would prefer to stop looking at the breathtaking view, wading by the pool, and go into the small town of Marigot Bay, or lounge on the beach there, the owner/operator will drive you down and pick you up.

If you would like to eat at about the seven restaurants in Marigot Bay, the owner will drive you there too to enjoy some excellent cuisine in the area. Every meal that we ate was excellent and I am not easy to please on that front. The cuisine at Julietta's of curried chicken and coconut shrimp ( we went twice) was a wonderful taste of St. Lucia and not North America and it was welcome. Many of the meals in the area from the Hurricane Hole to the Baguet Shop, from the jerk chicken, to the tender kingfish had that taste of the island.

If a jackhammer from a construction site about a half mile away is working at 8:30 am as it was one morning, then the owner will walk the distance to pay the guy to be quiet just to ensure that you are not disturbed.

If you want a continental breakfast of cereals, coffee, fruit, and a different baked good from carrot loaf to banana loaf to pineapple muffins, a different surprise each morning, then the owner will take care of that too.

Basically, what I am getting at here is any 'If...then' sentence I can concoct ends with the owner getting it done for you.

Honest, open, kind, caring, funny, interesting, there really isn't an end to the warmth that you receive from Normand and Louise with this experience.

When I arrived and saw a perfectly beautiful hideaway up on a hill with a stunning view, I was a little worried that cabin fever might strike because we were a littlle secluded. One week later, I was sad to leave. I never felt that cabin fever strike for even a second.

And from all that I saw of the rest of the island (thanks to the trips I kept getting Normand to arrange for my wife and me) I can't imagine a better spot to be if you choose St. Lucia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We recently took a vacation to St. Lucia and spent our first four nights at the Inn on the Bay. The location is at the top of a hill providing splendid ocean views out of every window. The Marigot Bay area is truly spectacular and if traveling to St. Lucia it should be a must to spend some time here.

There are not enough words to describe how great the service Normand and Louise provide to their guests at the Inn on the Bay. They go out of their way each and every day to ensure all of their guests get the most out of their vacation.

We stayed four nights here and then went further north on the island and had a totally different experience and stayed at a Sandals resort. We have nothing bad at all to say about our Sandals experience, and we expected nothing but the best service from Sandals. Truth be told the service that Normand and Louise provide puts Sandals to shame. The best way to compare the two may be to say... Staying at The Inn on the bay would be the equivalent to getting a room with full butler service at Sandals resort.

As great as the Inn on the Bay is, I would not recommend staying here the entire time if you are looking at doing at least a week vacation on the island. There is a lot to see and do on the north part of the island (Rodney Bay / Castries area), and cabs are very expensive on the island. We also talked to a few other people who tried renting cars only to be disappointed because they got lost and had troubles finding their destinations due to the crazy roads and drivers on the island. If you think you are a seasoned traveler and will have no problem renting a car, good luck. You likely will not be the first one to return the rental car and pay the extra money for a cab / tour.

Normand has made a set of stairs down to the oceanfront which provides for excellent snorkeling if you have your own equipment. You can pay to take snorkeling tours down the island, however the snorkeling in front of The Inn on the Bay is excellent and you could spend the day in the water right there!

Would I recommend Inn on the Bay to a Friend? In a heartbeat. It is a must stay at location at lest for 3 or 4 nights if taking a vacation to St. Lucia.

Ryan
Alberta Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at the Inn on the Bay recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Marigot Bay is one of the most scenic spots in St Lucia and the view of it from the B&B is stunning. You never get tired of sitting on the deck and admiring it. Rooms are very pleasant, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts each day were healthy and delicious. Besides the deck that overlooks the Bay, there is another deck overlooking the sea where you can relax and watch the sunset. One evening Normande and Louise hosted a sunset and wine gathering there for all the guests. What makes this B&B so special is the hosts. They are friendly and fun and they spare no effort in making sure their guests enjoy their stay.

It is a 10 minute walk down to the Bay and not difficult to do, but Normande will also drive you to and from the Bay up until 10 pm. There are several restaurants down there and they all know Normande, so they will phone him to pick you up when you are finished your dinner! Amazing service! (Do treat yourself and eat one night at the Rainforest Hideaway. The setting is so romantic and the food is wonderful.)

Normande also arranged a 2 day car rental for us on a moments notice. We explored the Island between Pigeon Island and Soufriere and enjoyed it but found it a bit difficult. You drive on the left, the roads are narrow, winding and not very well signed. Many roads suffered damage in the November hurricane as well. The best part of each day's drive was coming back "home" to the Inn on the Bay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globeseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Norman and Louise were perfect Hosts! We stayed 12/26 - 1/01/11 and had a picture perfect trip. They had great recommendations and helped set up all our daily trips. The other guests were great to partner on taxi's and everyone was very pleasant. This is a very beautiful island......Marigot Bay is picture perfect. This is the perfect spot to stay. Charming area and a handful of restaurants nearby. Norman is very helpful with everything you want to do and he has a great sense of humor! Expect to spend more money than usual for a vacation, but St Lucia is picture perfect and worth the money! Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Marigot Bay is a paradise on earth and our host Normand and hostess Louise did everything they could to let us enjoy it to the fullest. We highly recommend Inn on the Bay to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiemstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing