We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Total relaxation in paradise !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Save
You added The Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Total relaxation in paradise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our second stay in this wonderful intimate hotel. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you want a home from home with charming welcoming hosts this is the place for you.
We have already booked our third stay !!
Thankyou Normand & Louise for making it so special again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
487
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent 8 days here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners, Normand and Louise, were very friendly and helpful as was the maid. Normand and Louise were excellent hosts, always available if needed, giving good advice and appeared to be well known and respected around the island. They paid good attention to detail like providing beach mats, umbrellas, iceblocks and other such useful things that you wouldn't necessarily bring from home.
The breakfast was very good: fresh fruit & fruit juice, cereal, cheeses, freshly cooked muffins, tea and toast (often shared with the cheeky antillean bullfinches!).
The hotel was well situated with lovely views across the bay on both sides. It was not too far from the village to walk down for a meal in the evening and approx 15 mins back up the hill, the road being surprisingly well lit all the way back.
We would certainly recommend the Inn on the Bay to anyone enjohying independent travel although we would suggest renting a 4x4 vehicle to get around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhaullady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at The Inn On The Bay for 3 nights in early June 2010. The view of the bay was hands down the best! It was comfortable, safe and romantic. If you like a peaceful, restful place to vacation at, the Inn On The Bay is perfect. Louise and Normand were extremely welcoming and made you feel quite at home. Get the honeymoon suite if possible (room upstairs) as it has the best view, most private, recently remodeled and decorated tastefully. Although the others were also nice.
The pool was small but heavenly and always clean. The grounds were very exotic and kept up beautifully!

The only con to this place would be that it is about 1 mile or so from small town/beach/harbor so you may not always want to walk (as its a steep hill on the climb back) so you have to coordinate rides with Normand. He does this cheerfully and for free up to 10pm but it requires scheduling which limits spontaneous leisure. And other then breakfast, which was great, you need to plan all other meals out. 3 nights was the perfect amount of time, as activities are limited for those who need more action.

All in all, it was our favorite place to stay on the island for true relaxation and romance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaniM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We decided to stay at the Inn On The Bay after reading excellent reviews and we have to agree - it was a good choice. You can find out everything you want to know in other reviews, so really not sure what else to add...
From the very beginning, when we contacted Norman to request some info regarding accommodation and booking, he was quick to answer all the questions and very helpful.
We were also impressed by our big and spacious room at the top floor which gave us extra privacy (the only disadvantage were singing birds who woke us up early in the morning :) ) We enjoyed breathtaking views, beautiful bay, and trips around the island. Wonderfull place to spend holidays for couples.
There are "secret" steps leading down to the sea. If you want to snorkel it is well worth the effort. Forget snorkelling at the big resorts on the island- this is better (no wonder so many boats anchor there to enjoy the sea life).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I really like The Inn on The Bay! I would go back anytime! Was the best idea to stay there while visiting St. Lucia. The owners are so so so nice and helpful! VERY NICE STAY! Great breakfast!! :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We originally chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and they were more than accurate! Normand and Louise truly make this a wonderful hotel and turn visiting St. Lucia into something more akin to visiting friends who let you stay at their house. From the communication prior to arrival to make sure everything is set up through our stay, they were incredibly helpful, friendly and just all around great!

The rooms themselves are spacious and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable, the shower and bathroom large and there was a couch and lots of closet space. The room was clean and quiet, with only the sounds of crickets and frogs to lull us to sleep at night.

Every morning Normand and Louise put out a spread of fresh fruit, breads, cereal, coffee, tea, juice and fresh baked muffins (banana on the first day, then chocolate chip and then blueberry). Everything was delicious and they were always there to greet us and help arrange any activities we needed.

The hotel has a small pool that we didn't use, but i'm sure is fine. It is situated at the top of the hill on Marigot Bay which has positives and negatives. There is no immediate beach access, but if you are in decent shape you can walk down the steep steps to the bay below and swim. Or Normand will drive you down to the Marina where you can take a $2 round trip (US) ferry across to the beach. I guess you could just swim across, but then you need a dry bag :).

Marigot Bay itself is a small little town with a Marina, several restaurants, and lots of activities at your door step. Normand and Louise will help arrange anything and everything for you and can provide helpful tips. It does not have a touristy feel, and the hotel itself really does make it feel like your a bit of a local and just enjoying the town.

I would highly recommend this to anyone that doesn't want the tourist experience, but instead wants a quiet location with a beautiful Bay view and incredibly friendly staff. This was one of the least expensive lodging choices and the value is worth much more than they charge. Stay here if you can, I know I will again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NautArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Amazing...we really can't say enough about The Inn on the Bay and how much we enjoyed our stay. The scenery was fantastic. We didn't want to have a typical, resort type of honeymoon...we wanted a romantic get-away and the Inn was just that for us. The service was better than excellent - it was superb. We were so impressed and each day felt like one spent in paradise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRSmith8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 16 in Castries
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
7.7 mi away
East Winds Inn
East Winds Inn
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.4 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing