We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2006

A great experience. Normand and Louise welcomed us to their Bed and Breakfast Inn and made sure we were comfortable and content for our entire stay.
Our room was large and just steps from the pool and deck with its terrific view of Marigot Bay. There was always a breeze which kept our room cool and made the deck inviting.
The complementary breakfast varied daily but always included fresh fruit and pastries. We enjoyed sharing ours with the finches on the deck each morning.
We took Normand up on his offer of free transportation from the Inn to the restaurants in Marigot Bay each evening. All of the establishments in the Bay area know Normand and Louise so once we were finished with our meals they would call the Inn and Normand would drive back down the hill to fetch us.
We hope to stay at the Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CS-and-TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 713 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on the Bay for four nights in July 2006. Normand & Louise were excellent hosts, and the Inn was absolutely beautiful. There is very little more we could have asked for.

Summer is off-season in Saint Lucia, so we had the whole property to ourselves for most of our stay, and the bay was generally very quiet. That worked out great for us, since we like to avoid crowds, but preferences might vary on that. Probably not the ideal choice for very young travelers or those inclined to go for the night scene.

In terms of things to see, the beach at Jalousie is spectacular, as are the Botanic Gardens. The northern part of the island is more touristy, but it was fun riding the water taxi all the way up the coast.

The Inn has great views and the Bay itself is laid back and very pleasant. You'll be somewhat reliant on Normand for transportation, but he is very flexible. In terms of restaurants, we would recommend Chateau MyGo, which has excellent food with a local flavor.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travellingscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We couldn't ask for a lovlier view, a cleaner place, and sweeter people! We wanted a peaceful spot, away from the hullaballoo but close enough to get to that same hullaballoo! This was the spot. No matter what the request, Louise and Normand will do whatever in their power to make it happen-regardless of the hour!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goshenmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bartlett, Illinois
15
Reviewed May 25, 2006

My daughter picked St. Lucia for her wedding spot and we were forced to follow her there. Darn! She spent a great deal of time researching different places on the island and the Inn at the Bay attracted her attention, mostly because of the rave reviews. She worked with Normand over the phone and via email to firm up plans so that our family could stay at the Inn for a week. Normand was very accomodating as different members of the family had different schedules for their stay, and he was able to arrange for all of us to stay at his place. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast together each morning. with a wonderful assortment of fruit and Louise's awesome baked item of the day (we said it was the best meal of the day). The Inn was extremely clean and Normand made himself available at any time of the day to drive us down to the bay, which was only a short distance, but a bit too challenging to walk. The pool was always refreshing no matter what time of day. From the deck of the Inn, there is a great view of the Marigot Bay and a short hike up the hill you could watch the sunset over the sea, which was beautiful. Normand also had excellent suggestions on things to do during our stay. This was most helpful, as we did not pre-plan anything. The chartered sailboat cruise was my favorite activity and I would also recommend taking a water taxi to the Taika? beach to snorkel.

Both Normand and Louise went out of their way to see that everything went perfect for the wedding and it did. Being the mother of the bride, the wedding day was one of the happiest days in my life, and as simple as it was, it was truly special. Thanks Normand and Louise for helping coordinate the ceremony.

Now I can see why this place got rave reviews. And we agree! What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy paradise. Would definitely recommend.


  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wis. Rapids, Wisconsin
12
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We had a great time at the Inn on the Bay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, new and spotless with a nice breeze. The view was great. We did walk down their steps to snorkel twice during our stay and it was very nice. The breakfast was great. It was fun to get up and walk just a few feet to the breakfast and see what fresh bakery we were served each day. Would highly recommend Inn on the Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We stayed at the Inn on the Bay 14th to 26th March and had an excellent time!!!

What can we say that hasn't already been said a hundred times before... the views are some of the best we have ever seen in the caribbean.

Normand and Louise were the perfect hosts, and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

Cheers Normand for the Pitons!!

This is the only accommodation we have stayed in, in the caribbean that actually has "HOT" water, not luke warm like even the best accomodations have.

For anyone worrying about the Discovery project down in the bay... Yes there is mess down there with the development, but where the Inn is you cannot hear or see it, and the restaurants don't suffer at night for dinner because of the work going on. Parking during the daytime down in the bay when we were there was a bit of a nightmare, but they were just finishing a car park for the contractors as we were leaving.

The people in the restaurants seemed really nice especially Chateau Mygo... you've got to try the "Red Diesel" spice rum... it'll knock your socks off :-)

The snorkelling in the smaller bay next to Marigot was absolutely superb - parrot fish, butterfly fish, squid, pufferfish, spotted moray eels to name but a few. You have to wear rock shoes to go out past the low water level, but it's worth it when you're out there. You can get them in sport shops, wall mart etc. You do not need rock shoes to go snorkelling from Doolittles restaurant, we didn't go snorkelling but saw some huge pufferfish at night from the restaurant.

The boat trip from Marigot bay down to Soufrier with Michael at the helm (arranged by Normand) was really good - real sailing and not the "cattlemarans" that sweep in and out of Marigot Bay by day. I must say that the volcano is a bit of a dissapointment - quite small. The Botanical gardens were quite good, although Mamiku gardens on the east coast were better.

Night Time in the Inn is fantastic, with amazing views overlooking the sea and boats moored for the night.

We had a fly-drive for our 12 nights there, and we thought that it was really useful to get out and about when we felt a bit too hot or tired to stay in the sun, and be able to drive to the Coal Pot Restaurant in Castries by night. We also toured the Island with the car, and that was really good, not being tied to deadlines to get on the bus/taxi etc. AND THEY DRIVE ON THE CORRECT SIDE OF THE ROAD!!! (ish).

The Pitons were really beautiful, and we had an amazing view from Ladera for sunday BBQ - that was also good (US$20 per person).

We met some really nice people staying at the Inn, and also next door.

To sum everything up, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and have not been sooo chilled on any holiday we have previously taken, and Normand and Louise rounded off the whole package for us.

Hope this helps make up your mind.

Huw and Helen

Swansea (Wales)

PS we haven't included picutres - they have all been done before and they don't do the Inn justice, you have to see it with your own eyes.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank huwball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for four days in late February-early March; we would have stayed longer but the Inn was booked. Normand and Louise were very prompt in securing our reservation and assisting with our airport arrival with a minimum of advance notice on our part.

We visited a dozen islands on our five-week vacation and the Inn at Marigot Bay on beautiful St. Lucia was our favorite memory. The location is spectacular, the hosts are warm and friendly and very accomodating to all the needs of their guests who are treated like family. The rooms are spacious, airy, comfortable and clean (thank you, Rose). There is a nice clean pool for a cooling plunge though we never used it, preferring to enjoy the beach at Doolittle's on the bay. The breakfasts feature Louise's very tasty homemade treats and tropical fruits, good strong coffee, served on a delightful patio with spectacular views.

Excursions are easily arranged by Normand who has reliable, safe drivers at his beck and call. Albert helped me locate a long-lost St. Lucian friend who I stayed with 39 years ago; we drove from village to town until we made contact (everyone seems to know everyone else on St. Lucia!). Seldon was our skipper on a great sailing trip down the coast to the Pitons. Other guests at the Inn easily became friends on these trips, which is much harder to do in the more impersonal, larger resorts.

Normand was always available when requested to drop us off or pick us up at the beach or a restaurant at Marigot. We never had to wait after calling him and he always had a smile for us even if we called during his evening meal. Louise and Normand brought everyone together for sundowners featuring French wine and fabulous sunsets on the front deck.

We will be among the many repeat visitors at the Inn on the Bay in the future. Thanks to Normand and Louise for making this such a special place, a real island jewel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
972 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: $286 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing