We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on the Bay is Worth a Stay”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
16
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The Inn is a lovely place to stay. The view from the pool/deck areas is beautiful on both sides. The rooms are comfortable and quaint. Plus, the owners of the Inn (Normand & Louise) are friendly and rather helpful. They assisted my wife and I in planning our daily excursions and offered free transportation to the closest town which was a few minutes a way by car and 10-15 minutes away on foot. In addition, the Inn has one feature that many of the other hotels and resorts in the area do not have: screens on the windows. My wife and I stayed at another place on the island and had frequent visits by lizards and frogs. This may not seem like a big deal, but for Americans from a cold weather climate who are not used to such guests, it was unpleasent. We know from reviews we read about other hotels and reorts in St. Lucia that our experience in the second place we stayed was not unique to that resort; many hotels and resorts on the island do not have screens. If I am ever able to visit St. Lucia again, I will definitely try to book a room at the Inn on the Bay. We had a great stay there and it was very affordable compared to the other inns/resorts on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 718 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
14
Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed with Normand and Louise for a couple of days and after several weeks touring the US and staying in hotels it was a refreshing change to feel we were being welcomed into someones home.

Breakfasts and Normands transfer service were great and the position can´t be beat. This has to be one of the best spots to stay, particularly with the construction currently taking place further down the Bay.

Rooms were large, clean, simple and comfortable. Back deck had beautiful views of the sea at sunset and is protected on windy days.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chile
11
Reviewed December 3, 2005

We had a great time on our honeymoon. It is nice and quiet, large comfortable rooms and superb views and breakfasts. The hosts are really friendly and have lots of information on stuff to do locally - we saw a lot more than the folk on package tours. It's 280(ish) steps down the cliff to the water where you can snorkel, or 1km to the beach. At the beach there are lots of good restaurants but the road is pretty terrible. However, Normand the owner will drive you down or pick you up. We'd recommend hiring a 4x4 to really explore the island - it's incredibly beautiful and worth getting off the beaten track. (If you're feeling a bit adventurous you can save on the cab fare to the inn by taking a taxi to Vieux Fort, then a local bus to Castries, then a taxi from there. It's far cheaper and good fun, and doesn't take much longer.)

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2005

We were only there one night because it was close to where we flew in, but we wanted to get down to the Pitons. We got there around 8:30 pm so didn't have much time there. Normand & Louise were very nice and let us check out well past their usual check out time which was very helpful for us so we could go swimming and have lunch in Marigot Bay and then come back, change and pack up. Also helpful with directions to our next place. The only thing to be aware of is that the road to the Inn is pretty long and is very bumpy. I would not want to have to travel it very many times even though Normand will drive you down to the bay.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jey544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
13
Reviewed November 29, 2005

The Inn on the Bay was the second location we stayed at during our trip to St Lucia. We had a really warm welcome from Normand and Louise, and they could not have been more helpful in telling us about the area and suggesting restaurants. Any time we wanted to make a trip, Normand supplied details and directions, right down to the best place to stop for lunch! The rooms are spacious and spotless and the pool area is great. Breakfast with an incredible view on the terrace with great company of other guests. A relaxing, peaceful location and highlight of the holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2005

If you want a large impersonal hotel with 5 star trappings then this is definitely not the place to stay. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing and romantic holiday with the friendliest of hosts then the Inn on the Bay is perfect! Normand and Louise are warm and welcoming people, the views overlooking Marigot Bay are breathtaking, and the room we stayed in, light, airy and quiet. We certainly miss it when we look over our holiday photos.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, England
11
Reviewed September 1, 2005

Inn on the Bay is a wonderful, unique hotel in which to spend your holiday. We were there on honeymoon and Norman and Louise made our stay in St Lucia very special. We felt as though we were friends staying at their house rather than guests at a hotel. Louise makes the most delicious muffins for breakfast and to eat in the sunshine on the balcony outside your room overlooking Marigot Bay is a fantastic start to the day. Norman will drive you to the bay whenever you need to go and took us down each evening to eat in one of a selection of restaurants. For longer trips, he arranged transport with reliable, trustworthy taxi drivers - both of car and boat!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic hotel which offers a more intimate experience than the normal all inclusive resorts.

Thank you Norman and Louise for a truly unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 11 in Castries
677 reviews
10 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
895 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: $286 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn On The Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing