We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of rare quality”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed April 12, 2005

We had a wonderful time with Normand and Louise. The Inn experience works for lots of different reasons but the main one is that the hosts really want you to enjoy your stay. The key to this in my view is the relaxed welcome and friendly chats that continue throughout the stay to allow Normand to gauge your interests and suggest things that might be of interest. He is also very open to new ideas (we had some from a guide book) and will then make them happen for you in a way that larger hotels can only dream of. This is not a resort it's an experience!!

Mark & Carrol

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 713 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia Beach, VA
13
Reviewed April 10, 2005

From the moment we stepped onto the property, we had a great experience. Having not been to St. Lucia before, we were a bit apprehensive on the ride from the airport. But as we came into view of Marigot Bay, we knew we had made the right choice. Normand and Louise were the best hosts we could possibly ask for. So may things about the Inn on the Bay were great; price, location, view, rooms, cleanliness (all of Marigot Bays amenities). But the best thing about the Inn has to be Normand and Lousie. They were not just owners but true hosts. They know every great thing about the Island and the best people to help you do it. We did not have to worry about any details, everything we did was set up with perfection. There is no way our trip would have been half as great at a large resort where we would be lost among the masses. Undoubtedly the best place to stay. Normands concierge work was worth the price alone. Thanks so much for making our trip amazing.

Scott & Shannon

Stayed: April 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
239
Reviewed April 2, 2005

The Inn on the Bay is a good bed-and-breakfast, but we were not as impressed with it as some. Perhaps our expectations were too high. Louise and (especially) Normand are extremely nice and the views of Marigot Bay are spectacular, but The Inn’s hilltop location has some definite inconveniences. Among the most serious of these is the need for Normand to transport you to and from town or anywhere else you wish to go. Apart from the inevitable waits, there is a 10:00 p.m. curfew which severely restricts your nightly activities. Of course, there is not much to do in Marigot Bay anyhow most evenings (just five small restaurants--of uneven quality), so this may not be a problem for some. Other inconveniences include the lack of a beach, the 8:00-9:00 continental breakfast (which was not as wonderful as some have described it), the hard beds, and the very small pool. For the price, we found The Inn on the Bay to be long on friendliness but short on amenities. Recommended only if you have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 4, 2005

Let us address, if we may, some issues mentionned in this comment:

1) We do offer transportation up and down the hill for our guests who want to go for lunch, dinner or to the beach. Usually, our guests will have to wait between 3 and 4 minutes before we pick them up. This free transportation service is available for the asking. It's part of the service we provide the guest in our own little hotel. This free service is available until 10 pm. After 10, it's easy for us to arrange for a taxi to pick up our guests and bring them back home if needed. Only less than 10% of our guests will rent a car during their stay.

2) Our pool size is 13' X 26'. Surely not the size of a big resort pool but surely a lot more romantic!

3) Marigot Bay is not for someone who wants to party all night (Rodney Bay should then be your first choice). We have 5 nice restaurants in the bay and some of them will offer entertainment (live bands) a few evenings during the week.

4) Here is our breakfast menu: Muffins or Croissants, White, wheat and raisin Bread, Cheese, Jam, Peanut butter, Honey, Oatmeal, Cereals, Fresh Tropical fruits (grapefruits, cantaloup, honeydew melon, banana & grapes), Juice, Milk, Tea and Coffee. We find it healthy and tasty but some will prefer an hotel where they can get eggs and bacon...

5) Marigot Bay Beach is a public beach located on a small peninsula in the middle of the bay as shown in some of the photos on our website. The beach is only a 10-minute walk (or 3 minutes using our shuttle) from The Inn. The beach, althought not very big (400 feet), is rather picturesque with all the sailboats coming in and out the Bay. The water is clear and warm (great for snorkeling!) and the only access is by a little ferry that runs 24 hours a day. Marigot Bay Beach has a lot of cachet but it is surely not a long beach where you can walk for hours....

6) All our beds have firm mattresses which is the hotel industry standard.

The settings and amenities of a B&B, a big resort or an all inclusive hotel are quite different from each others. Some are on a beach, some others have restaurants and entertainment on site. The Inn On The Bay is a small and romantic B&B offering a very personalized service. All our rooms are overlooking one of the most beautiful bay of the Caribbean. If it is (really) what you're looking for, we feel that we'll be able to fulfill your expectations... It has been our goal for the last 10 years!

Sincerely,

Louise Boucher and Normand Viau
Owners
The Inn On The Bay



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed March 17, 2005

The highlight of our trip was our experience at this inn. Normand and Louise are in the right business. Louise is the friendly, behind-the scenes person and Normand is the host extraordinaire/social director. He clearly loves what he does. The inn is beautiful - the views are magnificent and the rooms are comfortable and clean. But what makes this B&B stand out among all others we've ever stayed at is Normand's ability to immediately make you feel at home, to assist you in making your daily touring/dining plans, and to facilitate opportunities for you to dine or tour with other guests if you wish to. Because this inn is small (5 rooms), a family-like atmosphere quickly develops among the guests, and the people we met and spent time with from all over the world helped make our experience in St. Lucia more memorable. If you're looking for an alternative to the big hotels/resorts, this is the ideal choice.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2005

This is an immaculate place with a simply amazing view in all directions. The hosts, French Canadians with excellent senses of humor and intelligence, will do anything for their guests. When we were there, we asked if we could have dinner instead of the breakfast that comes included. Not only did they agree, and in fact were happy to accomodate my wife's eccentric dietary needs (she only eats pork) but they made several trips to nearby islands to prepare all-pork dinners served on pig-shaped plates, and they served it while dressed in porcine costumes.
Okay, I exaggerate. In truth, my only caveat is that one room out of the five available is much smaller than the others, and not nearly as bright. However, this is the guest room most isolated from the others, with the most privacy. So ask for it specifically if maximum privacy is an all-important criterion. In truth, all the rooms are wonderful, tiled, modern, and spotless, and nearly all offer great tropical views through windows that look out in multiple directions. But it truly was the awesome hosts Normand and Louise that made this such a super vacation. I recommend it without reservation.
Bob and Marcy Woodstock, NY

3  Thank skymanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England
15
Reviewed March 2, 2005

Don't go to the Inn on the Bay if you want all the trappings of a 5 star hotel. There is no obsequious, artificial service, no elaborate fitness centre, no expensive gourmet restaurant, BUT there is a fabulous location, 5 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, a good sized swimming pool and the wonderful attentions of the owners, Normande and Louise. Whatever you want to do, Normande will arrange it, sometimes with little warning. If you want 5 star care and comfort, go to the Inn on the Bay.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2005

We just returned from a week's stay at the Inn on the Bay. Normand and Louise were the perfect hosts and made you feel very welcome from the moment you arrived. They go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay and make all the arrangements for your day trips whether by water taxi, taxi or car rental. Breakfast each morning was superb and was enjoyed on the deck with the beautiful view of Marigot Bay. The rooms are tastefully decorated with plenty of room and storage. We met some lovely people from both the U.S. and England and enjoyed their company some evenings at dinner or during the day at the beach. Normand and Louise joined the group for dinner on a few occasions and this was always a fun night. We would highly recommend the Inn on the Bay if you are looking for a beautiful setting with complete relaxation, although there are many activities that can be packed into your vacation. We look forward to a return visit.

Thank RADDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,288 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: $286 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing