We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, magnificent views”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Madrid, Spain
12
Reviewed December 13, 2004

I can only refer The Inn On The Bay as one of the most beautiful sites I've ever been. The breathtaking views over the tranquil and classy Marigot Bay and the charming and professional service provided by Normand and Louise made of our visit to St. Lucia a great experience. Though we spent only two days on the island, the convenient location of this nice place alowed us to enjoy both northern beaches on the first day and Piton mountains in the south on the following day, with no great deal of effort.
Normand and Loise efficiently assisted us in renting a car, arranging transportation to and from restaurants down on the bay and choosing our trips inside the island.
All in all, a great value for the visitor! Fully advisable!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 713 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
11
Reviewed December 6, 2004

After spending our honeymoon at Normand and Louise's Inn on the Bay, my wife and I kept talking about the feeling of having been treated as honored guests. We enjoyed Normand and Louise, the beautiful setting, the other guests, and the local culture. The best way I can convey the warmth of the Inn is to introduce you to your two hosts:

Normand is the tireless spokesman/taxi driver/area guide. He familiarizes you with all the local environs and drives you to and from your nearby destinations, telling jokes all the while. During our stay, he daily made a new mix-CD for mood music for the guests as they served themselves the continental breakfast. Louise is a gracious hostess and is the driving force behind the beautifully landscaped grounds and tastefully decorated rooms. She also prepares fantastic baked goods each day as part of the delicious and varied continental breakfast spread. By the end of our stay, Normand and Louise felt like old friends. They clearly enjoy their guests but at the same time gave us ample privacy.

My wife and I loved the Inn and feel confident recommending it highly to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
High Wycombe, Bucks, England.
11
Reviewed November 22, 2004

Well, here comes another fabulous review of Normand and Louise and the "Inn on The Bay" !

I checked Trip Advisor for information and reviews before we booked our hotel, and was VERY impressed with the reviews given for this place.

You always have a nagging doubt that there might be something a little suspicious about somewhere that gets great review after great review (friends of the owner, that kind of thing). No need to be suspicious - this place is GREAT.

As we arrived at the hotel Normand and Louise were at the car door welcoming us and showing us to our room (which was great) personally. How many places do that?!

We were then given a tour of the bay and its restaurants from the hotel balcony. There are 4 really good ones right in the bay (The Shack [our favourite], Chateau MyGo, Doolitle's and The Rainforest Hideaway - all cheap, all excellent)

Louise lays on a great breakfast every morning (fresh fruit, lashings of tea and coffee, toast, muffins (wonderful !), cereal).

Every evening Normand takes all the guests (that want to go) down to the bay in his car and drops you off right outside the restaurant you want to go to. And, because absolutely everyone in the bay knows Normand and Louise (!) you just ask the restaurant to call Normand when you have finished and he comes to get you. Fantastic !
They really go to great lengths to make your stay so special, but they never intrude on your privacy - if you just want to laze around the pool, that's fine.

We met lots of lovely people on our stay (for example, Colin and his lovely wife, from Trinidad - see their review above). We had some lovely dinners with the other guests, and went on a couple of great sailing trips to the North and South of the Island (organised by Normand, of course!).

Good times, indeed. We rarely go back to the same place twice, but with this place were seriously looking to book up again.

Louise and Normand, many thanks for being such gracious and generous hosts. You made us feel very welcome.

kindest regards,

Stuart and Janeen Linsley

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port of Spain, Trinidad
11
Reviewed November 17, 2004

My wife and I are British but for the last 2 and a half years we have lived in Trinidad as I was seconded there for my work. We have used our assignment as an opportinuity to 'collect' some of the Caribbean islands and St Lucia was the latest. It was a trip very much taken on impulse and to be fair I did not do a lot of 'shopping around' on the internet to find somewhere to stay but it would seem someone upstairs was smiling on me when I came across the Inn on The Bay. From the minute I made first e-mail contact I could feel a strong sense of personal attention - we were not just 'another booking' it seemed we were going to be welcome guests in somebodies home - and that is exactly how it turned out. For 10 years I have travelled in my work to all parts of the world staying in all manner of hotels, and never have I felt more 'looked after' than with Normand and Louise. They manage to maintain a 'presence' without being intrusive but seem to be there when you need them as if by magic. The location of the Inn is fantastic and I spent a lot of time looking over the stunning bay and watching the humming birds and bananaquits in the trees close to the balcony. On the other side the building the Sunset deck was the perfect place to sit and watch the sun go down over the sea, and feel the evening approach to the sound of the cicadas and the frogs and lizards making their distinctive calls.
Normand's flexibility in driving us up and down the hill to the excellent restaurants in the bay and back again was unstinting, and once everyone knew we were staying with Normand & Louise it was as if you almost became one of the locals.

On top of that you are guaranteed to meet the other guests in a relaxed way and I am sure will find it difficult not to make friends with them.

If you want to 'chill out' like never before but still be able to mix with a close group of what will become 'new friends' then there can be no better place than this. We only had 7 days but we wish we could have stayed longer and we will definitely be planning another visit as soon as we get the opportunity.

Colin & Pauline - Trinidad

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey, UK
1
Reviewed November 16, 2004

If you are looking for a delightful place in St Lucia to rest and unwind, then the Inn is for you. Wonderful hospitality from Normand and Louise, great views of Marigot Bay and yet not too far from anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2004

We have just returned from a visit to St Lucia to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We obviously wanted someplace special and, after reviewing everything on the Web about hotels on St. Lucia, we chose “The INN’. Our only question was: Could all of these glowing reviews really be accurate?

Well, now it is our turn to write another “unbelievable” review – if anything, the Inn on the Bay is better than the reviews reported. The location is superb, sitting high above the most beautiful bay in St. Lucia. It takes a few minutes to get to but, once there it is very quiet and peaceful. Marigot Bay sits at the bottom of the hill and features a variety of good restaurants and a water taxi ride to a picture perfect sandy beach. The Inn itself is perfect – the design, room size and layouts, the pool on the patio, the simple and soothing décor of the rooms – everything. One of life’s more pleasant experiences is sitting on the patio early in the morning overlooking Marigot Bay and enjoying a breakfast of Louise’s wonderful muffins, Normand’s full strength coffee and the freshest fruit you have ever had. However, all that is insignificant compared to our hosts, Normand and Louise. They create a simply wonderful Island environment. The best part is how they make you feel welcome as a friend and not just as “the people in room 1”. The other guests are from all parts of the world and seem uniformly interesting and friendly people. Normand and Louise are warm, caring and tremendously welcoming; they do whatever is needed to make your vacation the best you’ve ever had – reservations, taxis, boat cruises, restaurants. Normand knows every nook and cranny of St. Lucia, whether it is good or great and how best to get there. He is a walking encyclopedia/Michelin Guide of St. Lucia restaurants. No matter where you seem to go on the island, everyone knows and likes Normand and Louise. They are the perfect hosts. You can’t describe a better vacation experience.

The question is not whether we will go back, it is why did we leave the Inn, Normand and Louise?

PS As I write this, the temperature is 30 degrees Fahrenheit and we have 3 inches of snow!!

Thank wak3er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Marietta, Georgia
1
Reviewed November 9, 2004

We recently spent 8 days at the Inn on the Bay with Normand and Louise. Wow, this place is awesome!! The views from the Inn are spectacular, the hosts are very gracious, and the rooms are very nice, large, airy rooms. Normand and Louise are exceptional hosts who go out of their way to ensure their guests have a great stay. Two thumbs way up for the Inn on the Bay!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
971 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: $286 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing