We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
12
Reviewed August 16, 2004

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in St. Lucia. We spent the week at the Inn On the Bay. It is a best kept secret. From the first time you walk into your room, the atmosphere is one of pure relaxation. There is no TV, phone or even an clock (you want to be sure to bring an alarm of your own or you will miss out on the homemade muffins ready at 8am each day). Normand coordinated our excursions for the week (water and land taxis, snorkeling and SCUBA, and making dinner reservations for us at great restaurants) and with all of his contacts on the island we always felt we were in good hands. On the days when we wanted to just relax, there was a refreshing pool outside our room, breathtaking views and a quirky supply of books and board games. Normand shuttled us down the hill each day when we wanted to explore or eat (there are no restaurants within walking distance of the Inn- I found this to be a plus as very few people travel up the hill at all) and he would pick us up after a day on the water. There is a new restaurant called Rainforest Hideaway, we went there twice, it was amazing. Take two times the amount of sunscreen you think you will need, even in the rainy season. Bug repellent is also a good idea. There is also a local beer called Piton, it is excellent. The Inn is not for everyone, it is quiet and private, so if you want a non-stop party, you should look elsewhere. If we return to the island, The Inn On the Bay is definitely where we plan to stay.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 713 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2004

If you want a really special place to stay in St Lucia forget the resort hotels and all-inclusive deals. The Inn on the Bay does offer fabulous views over Marigot, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, a nice pool. But more important, the owners Louise and Normand offer incredible hospitality. With their help you can get to know the island: the best beaches, snorkelling, sights, and especially eating places. Normand even runs a private taxi service to and from the bay if you can't manage the 10 minute walk. Help yourself to tea and coffee any time of day, and borrow books and games. We (Veronica, Martin, Susi and Zoe) had a great holiday.

Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Royal Oak, MI
14
Reviewed July 9, 2004

Sometimes you wonder whether the reviews on these sites are fake or real, but after staying with Normand and Louise for 3 days of our honeymoon, we can definitely say that the reviews of the Inn on the Bay are absolutely true if not understated! We had stayed at Sandals for the first week of our trip and upon arriving at The Inn, we wished we could have gotten to Marigot Bay sooner! The views from the balcony were amazing if not the best in the Caribbean. The calming and relaxing atmosphere was a welcome change from Sandals. Need a ride to the Bay or a restaurant reservation? Normand's there for you. Want a delicious breakfast? Louise makes it for you. Want to tour the island? Albert the taxi driver will make it happen. All in all, the Inn on the Bay is the jewel of Marigot Bay and the best bargain of all of St. Luica. If you're traveling to the island and don't visit Normand and Louise, we think you've missed out. Can't wait to go back!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boone, NC
11
Reviewed July 1, 2004

Every once in a while, you stumble upon an experience that goes so far beyond your expectations that you are just blown away by it. For Christy and me, our stay at The Inn On The Bay was just that kind of experience!! I can't say enough about the quality of this place, the incredible service of Normand (Louise was away the week we were there, but we hope to meet her on our next trip), the amazing view of Marigot Bay from the deck of the Inn... Not only do I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting St. Lucia, but we are already trying to figure out when we can get back. If you're going to St. Lucia, you must, must, MUST stay at this Inn!! It is peaceful, the service is very gracious, and you'll even get a whole bunch of hilarious jokes from Normand during your stay!! :) Normand, thank you again for your wonderful hosting. Can't wait to see you again!!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wrotham England
13
Reviewed May 20, 2004

We have just returned from our second stay with Normand and Louise. The Inn on The Bay must have one of the finest views in the world. We love it so much we bought an apartment on Discovery at Marigot Bay, which is currently being built.

The Inn is a gem, small and very personal, we highly recommend it (but selfishly, not to too many people!)

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, D.C. USA
16
Reviewed May 17, 2004

I recently returned from a trip to St. Lucia and a stay at The Inn on the Bay from May 7 through May 13. The previous reviewers acurately and adequately extoll the virtues of this great little gem. I am in total agreement with their high praise. I will add just two comments about concerns I had before making this trip. First, would it be too hot given the time of the year. Answer, no because of the constant breezes, particularly on the high hill that the Inn is situated. The fact is the weather was more comfortable at the Inn than here in Washington when I returned. Also, an advantage of traveling at this time of year is that the island and facilities are not crowded. The second concern was that I was not your typical guest, being 65, a widower traveling alone, and having mobility problems. No way could I climb those 300 steps much less do any extended walking. Normand did a great job accomodating my needs by doing transport trips himself or arranging for others (including water taxis) to do the job. It was also fun interacting with other guests. This is a great place to stay, a great location, but the best part is the outstanding individual attention given by your gracious hosts.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2004

My wife and I have lived in Europe, Asia and Australasia for a number of years, consequently we have had the great good fortune to be able to take our holidays in a wide variety of interesting and exotic destinations. Usually we refer to avoid the larger tourist resorts so that we can enjoy the local sights, food and people at our own pace.
We have just had our first visit to St Lucia, an experience we enjoyed immensely and will certainly remember for a very long time. It was an outstanding holiday, which was spent at "Inn on the Bay" in Marigot Bay. The views from the Inn were spectacular, the facilities excellent but even these were surpassed by the genuine friendliness, good humour, hospitality and assistance shown by our hosts, Norman and Louise. They were marvellous. We shall return.

2  Thank Silverage67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,289 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: $286 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing