We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Castlemorton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after 14 nights at the Inn on the Bay. We have been to other Caribbean Islands but this was our first trip to St Lucia. We had a very pleasant drive from the airport to the Inn on the Bay and were warmly greeted on our arrival by Normand and Louise. Our room was large and airy and it had a huge bathroom, it was kept clean on a daily basis by Rose, the very sweet maid. The breakfast was continental style with plenty of fruit and freshly baked cakes and bread and there was tea and coffee making facilities available all day. Five rooms in total allowed us to get to know other guests during our stay, much nicer than the unfriendliness of large hotels.

Normand ensured we knew where all the amenities were around the Bay Area and was always happy to help and advise on where to go and what to see. Normand was always on hand to drive guests down to the Bay and to collect them again afterwards. We walked down and back each lunchtime and down for most of our evening meals, it only took about 10 minutes each way.

St Lucia is certainly a really lovely green and hilly island and the people are very friendly and welcoming. At no time did we feel unsafe. We hired a car and spent a few days sightseeing, to the Botanical Gardens and volcano and several visits to Pigeon Point, where the beach was very peaceful.

I was very reluctant to review the Inn on the Bay as it was so lovely, I didn't want to share my experience with others!!

Thank you Normand and Louise, you are definitely 5 star and more.

Denise and Jim

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 936Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
526
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My Husband I decided to split our honeymoon in two parts while staying in St. Lucia, we spent our first 4 days at Inn on the Bay. The views were spectacular and the location made us feel like we got to experience some true Caribbean culture. Normand & Louise were lovely hosts with an excellent sense of humor!! We felt welcome and safe our entire trip, I will recommend this hotspot to everyone, we had the time of our lives!

Room Tip: Theres no fitness center but a good hike down to the water, and Louise makes a tasty breakfast in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Inn on the Bay St Lucia
My wife and I just returned home after one week in February at the Inn on the Bay St Lucia. When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by a driver sent by the Inn to pick us up and handle our bags. The drive to the Inn takes about an hour as the drive tours up the Atlantic Coast and then through the mountains and rain forests to the Caribbean side. We had no idea the island was so mountainous and lush! Upon arriving at the Inn we were greeted by Louise and Normand and welcomed as if we were family. A tour of the Inn was accompanied by complementary drinks (try the Piton beer). Amenities were explained and standing at the edge of the deck, Normand pointed out all of the many fine restaurants available in Marigot Bay as well as other features. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The pictures do not do the Inn justice as our expectations were far exceeded and the views are truly breathtaking! Normand and Louie are superb hosts. Nothing is too much to ask from either and Normand is available to drive into town to drop off or pick up at any time. We chose to walk down to Marigot Bay for lunch and most days to walk back, it takes about ten minutes and is a pleasant and beautiful walk. On one of the days, we sailed to Soufriere Bay and toured a volcano, enjoyed a natural mud bath and then botanical garden walk. Another day was spent exploring Castries, Rodney Bay and Pigeon Point, all arranged by Normand including a driver. He also arranged a fun night at a Friday night fish fry in a local village and a massage at the local resort. We would highly recommend staying at the Inn on the Bay to anyone looking for quiet and relaxation away from the stresses that likely sent you to St Lucia in the first place.
We enjoyed ourselves so much we booked the same week next year! G&L

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Yes. Believe all the excellent reviews here. Let me answer some of the things that I was thinking as I read these reviews:

1) Yes, the photos do not do the Inn justice. Marigot Bay is just magnificent.
2) Yes, Normand and Louise are indeed the amazing hosts described here. Not only do they go out of their way for you, as someone said, you feel like friends when you leave.
3) No, you don't miss the air conditioning. In fact, air conditioning the Inn would be a crime against nature. I am one of those folks who don't sleep comfortably if it's warm and humid and I was a little concerned. But the cool breezes described by Normand on his website are all you need, either in your room or on the pool deck, no matter how hot it might feel down on the beach or in the rain forest.
4) Yes, it's about a 65 or 70 minute ride from the airport, but Normand has picked out the best drivers on the island. Unlike other Caribbean Islands (St Thomas, most notably), at no time did we feel unsafe on the road with his drivers. That included our land tour of Castries, Pigeon Point, and Rodney Bay.
5) Yes, Marigot Bay is pretty centrally located if you want to explore. And, you have the option of water taxies, which, if you're going to Soufriere or the Pitons, is a much better option.
6) No, the walk down or up the hill, if you want to do it yourself is no big deal. There is no feeling of isolation. And even if you don't want to walk, Normand is always happy to drive you there.
7) Yes, the food is that good. Normand and Louise put out a great continental breakfast, complete with local tropical fruits, including St Lucia's bananas, which are the best I've eaten. And the restaurants in town that we visited ranged from very good to excellent. And, as one reviewers said, dropping Normand's name gets everyone's attention in a hurry. And the water taxi access to the restaurants across the bay is frequent and free if you're going for dinner.
8) Yes, the interaction with the other guests at breakfast and other times turns this into a very unique experience. Especially if you get a rainy morning when everyone congregates in Normand and Louise's dining room for breakfast. It was great starting to get to know other folks from around the world.

If you're looking for a nice quite place from which you can explore the island, or just have days of quiet relation, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVaEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We experienced out first stay at The Inn on the Bay for 9 nights in January and had the best time. Normand and Louise were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Trips were arranged for us although we found the local taxis expensive but on occasions we shared with other couples which reduced the cost and also gave us opportunity to share experiences. We also travelled on the local buses which although cheap could be hair raising at times!
During the day we walked up and down to the bay but Normand would take us down and pick us up in the evening. We tried nearly all the restaurants and our favourite was Doolittles. The Hideaway was excellent but more expensive.
Once you tuned into Normand's sense of humour it was a laugh a minute. We felt like good friends by the time we left. If ever we go back to St Lucia we would stay at Marigot Bay at The Inn on the Bay

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was very light and airy. We had good internet access too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strone, Argyll
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A great place, fantastic views. Normand and Louise look after you like you are in your own home. Very well deserving of their top spot on Trip adviser. We'll be back if we are lucky enough to visit St Lucia again!

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor which was great but I would think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We first stayed at the Inn on the Bay thirteen years ago and had a fantastic two weeks there. The same was true of our stay last weekend (we needed two nights accommodation in St Lucia en route to the UK). The Inn is in a fantastic location at the top of a hill and the rooms, breakfast and facilities are of the highest standard. But the hospitality of Normand and Louise is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble and it was an absolute pleasure to spend time with them. It was wonderful to return to the Inn which has such happy memories and to find that the place had only changed for the better (if that was possible!). We would not hesitate to recommend the Inn and don't worry about the walk to and from the Bay itself - Normand will drive you up and down the hill!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing