We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent!”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly excellent!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you are in St. Lucia and want to stay in a place that REALLY makes you feel welcome, then stay with Normand and Louise at the Inn on the Bay. It made our holiday and blew the other places we stayed out of the water. A beautiful cliff top house, excellent food, unlimited free lifts to and from the bay by Normand himself, stunning rooms... the list goes on.

Get there before these guys retire!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
531
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt one of the family. Normand and Louise could not have done more to make us feel welcome at this fabulous and friendly 5 bedroomed Inn perched high on the cliff above the stunning Marigot Bay.

Our room was large, clean with a great comfy bed and really good shower. Out side we had a table and chairs where we had our breakfast every morning over looking the pool and bay. Breakfast was a delicious combination of fresh fruit, Louise's fantastic baked cakes (the blueberry muffins were our favourite), cereals and toast. It was a great way to start the day. A selection of teas and coffee are available all day.

Normand and Loiuse work tirelessly to make your holiday stress free. They will arrange and book trips around the island, taxies from the airport, day trips etc etc. Our favourite day was a sailing trip to the Pitons. Normand made the phone call, drove us down to the bay, ensured the dinghy collected us on time to take us to the yacht and collected us at the end of the day. We had a wonderful sail down the coast with Gemma and her crew, visiting the drive in volcano, Diamond Falls Botanical Gardens and finished up snorkling at Anse Chasenet. Great stuff. Normand also organised for local taxi driver Moses and his air conditioned mini bus to take us to the north of the island (Pigeon Island and Rodney Bay) . Again, a great day as Moses was very happy to show us around the island he is so proud of esecially the cricket ground!! Normand also ferries his guests down to the Bay's beaches, resturants and shops as part of the service. We did do the walk several times so that we could earn an extra Piton beer but he was always happy to be the taxi driver.

Marigot Bay is a great location as it is so easy to go north or south to visit the different highlights of St Lucia. Dont miss the market at Castries to buy spices and bannana ketchup (we went on a Saturday). There are several resturants around the Bay ranging from the expensive but wonderful cuisine of the Rainforest Hideaway to Doolittes where we had two very good meals. This despite some criticism from several visitors recorded on Trip Advisor! Perhaps it was the new chef. We had several lunches at JD's (take the yellow boat from the jetty). The view is great and the service laid back. Try the pina coladas. We also enjoyed the prawns at Juliettes which is a basic resturant above the Bay. Basic but great food.

The highlight of each day was when the guests at the Inn on the Bay would all arrive on the sunset deck to watch the sun go down. We would swap stories of visits made, resturants visited and take hundreds of photos of the beatuful sunset. We even saw a humming bird. One night Normand and Loiuse hosted a cocktail party here for the "one big happy family". As one American lady said to me "If we were sitting next to each other at a big 5* hotel we wouldnt even look at each other let alone chat". Considering we usually keep our selves to ourselves this was an unexpectedly delightful part of the holiday.

We totally recomend the Inn on the Bay. It is welcoming, charming and a great base for exploring the island. Thank you so much Normand and Louise for making this a very special holiday.

Regards

Karen and Steve

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you want to create a long lasting memory, this is the place to stay. Normand will attend to every detail of your adventure and Louise will tempt you every morning with her delicious home made muffins and breads. The humor and warmth is unmatched. A previous comment stated, " We arrived as guests and left as friends." Says it all!. Can't wait to return. Thank you Normand and Louise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Amazing!! this place is truly amazing! My first holiday ever, and spent 2 weeks in the best place ever. Normand and Louise are friendly and approachable, and believable! their warmth came naturally not like a cheesy smile at one of the overly populated resorts.
the service was superb, nothing was too much trouble
the views were amazing and seemed to change every time i looked out over the bay.
the Inn was clean and tidy, and Rose would come and clean our rooms everyday.
the breakfasts were fabulous! and when i asked for some unsweetened fresh grapefruit i got it! everyday! yummy! :)
Normand and Louise always made sure that everything was what you wanted/needed but without being invasive at all.
Normand gave us great tips of where to eat, where to explore and the best way to do it. He even organised taxis and boat trips too. He would also take us back and forth to the village, which was very useful indeed!
It was small and ideal for our holiday, only 5 double rooms and adults only! (i love my children but it was great to just have some adult contact without being interupted)
We sat everynight watching the beautiful sunsets on the seated patio area, and saw the green flash too!!!
There is a real personal touch at the Inn, and it felt more like visiting family rather than being people i had never met before!
If you are considering a holiday here! Consider it no more......Just go! you will not regret it at all. I will remember the Inn, Normand and Louise forever! And it will always bring a smile to my face and joy to my heart.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulahminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Louise and Normand are great hosts: this little hotel out-charms any of the bigger Caribbean resorts we have visited because of their hard work and friendly approach. If you would like to see St Lucia without being shut inside a big resort, then you couldn't do better. Our lovely upstairs room was very private, spacious and airy. Breakfasts were informal (we sat on the balcony outside our room most days) and the food was ideal, lots of fruit complemented by Louise's wonderful baking. We had a different baked treat for every one of the 9 days we stayed. Normand knows the island very well and is a great source of advice. He will arrange tours and trips and make restaurant bookings. He is also a kind chauffeur in the evenings when the steep road to the village would be tricky to navigate. He will entertain and inform with his jokes, charm and some local gossip. The position up the hill means that the Inn has a fantastic view of Marigot Bay which is a lovely, natural hurricane hole. The bay really is the nicest spot on the island. There isn't much here, but that is a huge part of the charm. There are some good restaurants and a few shops. If you want to take some trips, then a car is useful but we also took a great sailing tour down the coast. Marigot Bay is brilliantly based between Castries/Rodney Bay and Soufriere (where many of the tourist spots are found) making it ideal for exploring.
Give this place a try if you are looking for luxurious, friendly, independent travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Normand and Louise are warm, gracious hosts that add a person touch to a beautiful location. We recently stayed at the Inn for four nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was clean and bright; breakfast was delicious (a wide assortment of fruit and Louise's baked goods) and the scenery was spectacular. Although we were not on the water, Normand was always willing to shuttle us into Marigot Bay where there is a good choice of restaurants, bars and a beach. One activity that we particularly enjoyed was a full day sail from the bay to visit the volcano and botanical gardens before anchoring at a reef for soem great snorkelling. The Inn on the Bay is a great value and a wonderful spot if you value peace and quiet. Becky and Ed

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the privacy of room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our decision to stay at the Inn On The Bay was largely based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, and it didn't take us long to understand why they were all so positive! From the moment we arrived in St Lucia all aspects of our holiday ran very smoothly. Normand had a booked a driver to meet us at the airport, and from that moment onwards everything we needed was taken care of. Our room was beautiful, with views over the Bay at one end and over the Caribbean at the other. Going down to the village for lunch and dinner was very easy. We always walked down at lunchtimes, but took the easy option for the journey back up the hill and simply called Normand, who without fail was there within 5 minutes to pick us up. We stayed for 5 nights, but would have been very happy to remain much longer!! Merci bien, Normand & Louise!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAndSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing